We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bellevue Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Independent Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Alexander Inn(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,610)
Filter reviews
3,610 results
Traveller rating
1,261
1,404
598
232
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,261
1,404
598
232
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroad streetdouble treegreat locationwarm cookiesthe executive loungecenter cityacademy of musickimmel centercorner roomwithin walking distanceparking garageacross the streetfront desk staffupon checkstreet noisehigh floorfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,391 - 2,396 of 3,610 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is located dead center in Philadelphia. The rooms are good - nice beds, good bathrooms, very nice and attentive staff and great breakfast. Last time we were here we got a room a little too close to the elevator, so the noise level sometimes got a little uncomfortable. (the elevators were silent during nighttime though)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review about our hotel and share with others. Our prime location in downtown and attentive staff truly are what set us apart in this great city. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a business trip from November 7 to 9. I had looked forward to a great experience, but was rather disappointed. The room itself was fine--spacious, well appointed, and sun-filled in the mornings, with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, and the usual amenities (but see below). The staff, especially the concierge, were friendly and helpful,. However, there were some shortcomings, a few of which were not the hotel's fault, and others that could be rectified. What was not the hotel's fault was the room's location, which was right next to the elevators, with the result that we kept being awakened at night by the sound of revellers returning late. But the elevators themselves were unsatisfactory. They went up and down fast enough, but one had to wait ages for them. On one occasion I waited over five minutes, and finally gave up. In fairness, it must be added that the hotel is well aware of this problem and is working to fix it, as signs on elevator doors in the lobby indicate.
The hotel failed and needs improvement in the following areas:
1. Free wifi is available in the lobby areas, but there is a charge for service in the rooms. In this day and age, when every Starbuck in the country and many small pizzerias can supply free wi-fi, surely DoubleTree and the Hilton system can do so too.
2. The shower in our bathroom on the 23rd floor was good and had plenty of hot water. But in the mornings there was no hot water in the bathroom sink, though it was available in the evenings. This meant that I had to wash and shave in cold water every morning.
3. There were no shower caps in the bathroom. I am sure the hotel staff would have supplied us with one had we asked, but when you are in the bathroom, fully undressed and about to get into the shower, it is rather difficult to get dressed again, call the hotel desk with a request, and then wait till someone brings up a shower cap before going back into the bathroom again.
4. We were never able to adjust temperature to a comfortable level. At 72 degrees and above the heat came on. But I find 72 degrees a little hot and prefer to be in a setting of 68 or 69. However, setting the thermostat at or below 70 degrees turned on the air conditioning, which made the room cold. This problem requires the attention of the hotel's maintenance and engineering staff.
Our conference kept us busy and so we had no time to use the fitness room, which seemed well equipped, or the pool, or any of the other amenities, which I am sure must have been excellent. But the lacunae I have pointed out above compel me to give this hotel a rating of no more than three and a half stars.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the elevators, and choose rooms on lower levels that you can walk up to, since elevators take a long time to go up and down.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsingh1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear bsingh1029-
Thank you for taking the time to outline your recent stay with us and provide feedback. We are working to fix our elevators, as you saw and as you pointed out there are definitely steps we can take to improve your stay for the future. Wi-fi is currently a reward offered to Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members, however we will pass along your suggestion for change for the future. Shower caps are available with a quick call to housekeeping or the front desk, but we understand your dilemma and we can make a note in your guest profile to provide them upon arrival for your next reservation. We also will be looking into the heating and water temperature issues you mentioned. Thank you for bringing all of this to our attention, and we hope you will stay with us again to see our improvement. Have a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked a family weekend in advance as a Hilton Honors member and received a great rate. Our room was modern, clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly despite having little need for them. I would return to this hotel or any other Double Tree Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are thrilled that we could share Philadelphia with your family as a Hilton Honors member, and definitely hope you will return again soon, or try out some of the other great Doubletree hotels. Our staff is always on their A game, and willing to help when needed, and we strive to provide the cleanest, most comfortable and safe welcoming environment possible. So thank you for noticing our hard work and how much we love what we do each day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Although generally clean, the bathroom was very poorly updated with the celing paint peeling and some of the fixtures in the bathtub rusting. The lobby was also showing its age. On the positive side, the staff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review of our hotel. We apologize for the peeling paint and any furnishings you felt were too dated for your taste. It is great to have new sets of eyes to show us how we can improve. Our staff is just the best: always friendly, warm, and welcoming, and we hope this will keep bringing you back to our great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great hotel; clean; great service; glad you have room service; bar was great too. Great alternative to the main hotel that was sold out for my summit, and very close proximity....just a block away. Great neighborhood restaurants/bars too close by. I am allergic to feathers/down and they made sure I was put in a Pure room too, VERY happy for those attention to details. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review Amy! We definitely strive to please all of our guests and are very sensitive to any allergies or concerns we can prepare for ahead of time. Thank you for letting us know! We hope you join us again soon, as our PURE Rooms are a great solution for guests with allergies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews