We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Booked this hotel based on location, which was spot on. Nice hotel with big windows and very nice view over the city.

There is public parking garage in the same block/building with easy access.

With the expectance of Philadelphia Museum of Art (which means Rocky stairs….) everything you want to see is within walking distance from the hotel. I only had a one night stay so I narrowed my sightseeing to Independence Hall, Liberty Bell center and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for the great review. We hope you will stay with us again to see all the sites that did not fit into one day! There is so much to see and do in Philadelphia all year round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is on a main Philadelphia street and near all the few places to visit and is again in terrible condition for a Hilton property this location is slipping way down in appearance and condition the rooms rugs are dirty and since I've stayed there twice the towels were filthy and spotted the bed linens were spotted and the quilt smelly what a shame for a great location I will mot return till they make some chances and they fix doors from slamming which the maids do to wake you up

Room Tip: look at another hotel nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfoodcritic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear jfoodcritic11,
Thank you for your comments. We see from the other reviews you have posted on TripAdvisor that you are a very discerning consumer. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We know we are not perfect and while we recognize everyone is entitled to their opinion, we respectfully disagree with your characterization of our operation. All of our linen is processed on a daily basis using professional equipment and chemicals by a trained laundry staff. Our rooms, including carpets are thouroughly cleaned by our housekeeping team and regularly inspected. We will continue to strive to provide the best product and service to our many guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My family recently stayed at the DoubleTree - part of the reason for selecting the hotel was the availability of a pool for my daughter. On Saturday, after a short 15-minute stint in the pool, my daughter got out and her bathing suit had been bleached from purple to pink - in short, the pool had been overchlorinated. The staff's response was that they were expecting a heavy influx of guests and had added extra chlorine. My explanations that such a heavy dose of chlorine was not safe until the chlorine levels were returned to normal went unheeded and they refused to close the pool. Several children, including babies, were in the pool at the time, something I considered incredibly unsafe. Although the rest of the experience was fine, such an incredible lack of judgement about their patrons' safety was intolerable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear James W,
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that your family had during your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that the health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we strive to provide our guests with 100% satisfaction. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we will work to make sure the problem is addressed for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here on Jan. 3 and 4 of 2014, to attend a large conference. Asked for a quiet room. After much hemming and hawing, was given a corner room, 903. The room was very spacious, with two very good queen beds, and a great view down Broad Street. But there was a leak in the bathroom from the unit upstairs. Whenever the person upstairs took a shower there was a stream of water into the tub. Given the cracked, peeling ceiling, it was clear that this was not a new problem. Also found the floors in the hallway to the elevator on the 9th floor to be strangely crackly and squeeky--as if walking on thin, warped plywood. These issues aside: a very well situated hotel, and good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank alife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was in Philadelphia for a couple of shows and wanted something close to the venue's and restaurants with reasonable parking ($25 a day self park) where I can park my own car...Never give a Valet your keys. Some are good but not all..The room was well furnished and CLEAN..
The front desk staff is absolutely wonderful and can't do enough for you..The price was very reasonable

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAllentown_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that we could exceed your expectations as we strive to provide excellent service to all of our valued guests. We have a great location to attend the theater, so we hope you will come back for a show soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I made reservations in Sept and asked for a upper room towards river to watch the fireworks on NY Eve, was told to call 2 wks b4, I did, was told to pay extra and got a rm on the 8th floor on Broad street. wasn't happy and think I got taken for the extra money, I shouldn't have had to pay extra money! Plus my brother was told he had till 4 NY Day and was locked out of room at 2. Other than that it was nice!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Joe O,
Thank you for the comments. We're sorry for any miscommunication on our end. We had you booked as a Parade View Room; where you could watch the New Year's Day Mummers Parade from the comfort of your room. That is why you were placed on a low floor on the Broad Street side. We apologize if that is not what you intended to book. Hope you enjoyed the Mummers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The room was nice, beds were very comfortable. Stayed on a high floor near the elevator, yet was very quiet.
There were several minor annoyances- the clock in the room was an hour ahead with no way to change. We asked for it to be fixed, but it never was. The hotel guide in the room was several years' old and looked it. The information was outdated. There is no longer a hot tub. There was no program guide on the TV or in the room
Staff at the Balcony breakfast restaurant were great, although food was fair.
Free wifi was only available in the lobby, and it was cold in the lobby.
Location is great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ectraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Ectraveller12-
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback and suggestions as hearing from our guests is the only we we can improve our service. We do offer free wi-fi in the rooms to Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond Members, as well as to all guests in the public areas. We are in the process of renovating and making updates to the hotel, and we hope you will stay with us again to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £89 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing