We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms, great service, great location”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The room was very clean and well appointed. The pool area was fabulous with plenty of towels for drying off. The staff was very helpful when we had a problem with late night revelers. The location made everything we wanted to do in Philly easy to get to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank S H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. Our location is superb in downtown Philadelphia, and definitely close to all that Philly has to offer. Stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    1,279
    545
    214
    95
See reviews for
804
815
242
920
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great place - staff was very friendly. Only odd thing was the television kept losing it's satellite signal,so you kept losing scenes in a movie. The room is very clean and the way the hotel is built every room offers a good view of the city

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for the great review. You are absolutely right. All of our rooms are corner rooms so they each have a fantastic view of the city. We apologize for the poor cable connection you experienced, and will absolutely be looking into it to resolve right away. Thank you for the feedback! Stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

While I really enjoyed being at this hotel for a conference, my stay was during a cold snap with temps in the single digits (F). Unfortunately, the common areas outside of the 3rd and 4th floor meeting rooms were cold, due to how the hotel is designed. One ballroom, and the walkway to it, tended to be cold. Otherwise, my room was quite nice and the heat worked well. The amenities and food were good. The hotel is a reasonable walking distance from the Convention Center and the Reading Terminal Market (especially in warm weather).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a successful conference and enjoyed the event at our hotel. We have experienced extremely cold temperatures recently, and apologize for the temperature not being to your liking. We do have a great location in downtown, so be sure to come back again to do more exploring in Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at Doubletree by Hilton Center City on Friday night, 1/17/14. Overall a nice stay. Was put on penthouse floor (26) probably due to my HiltonHonors Gold status. Only negative is that even up that high, I could still hear outdoor street noise such as emergency vehicles. Walls must be very thin.

Used downstairs bistro restaurant with my group for dinner, waiter handled us quickly and efficiently. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet on second floor also.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room away from the Broad Street side to minimize traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Kevin K-
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel, and your loyalty to the Hilton Brand. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant facilities, and recognize our great service. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Amenities are nice, but the entire hotel was cold; my room's heater could not maintain a controlled level of heat. Cost was expensive, and they did not extend any courtesy to respect a conference rate when I was a few days past the deadline. The elevators were slow, and sometimes they would reset themselves when floor numbers were chosen. Location is great, however, and I never felt unsafe in the area. Lots of high quality restaurants around.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Kyle J,
Thank you for your comments and we hope you had a successful conference. The "Arctic Vortex" did impact the hotel's ability to keep every meeting room and public area at a toasty temperature over your conference dates. We value your feedback and appreciate your taking the time to tell us how we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
864 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had an enjoyable stay. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The hotel had room service until 11pm and a lounge area off the lobby for food and drinks. There is also a full service restaurant on the mezzanine level that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing main traffic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Gloria H-
Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and had all of the amenities you were looking for. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Aesthetics of the room pleasing. Internet access is also good. However, not the best place for sleeping. Noise from the streets easily heard in the room. Bed also, not very comfy for sleep. My room in particular was near to an ice machine, which also made it more noisy than usual. The bed was also smaller than what I expected for a queen size.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Mark-Shane S,
Thank you for your comments and alerting us to the comfort of the bed. We will have our Housekeeping/Engineering team take a look at that room and determine if there is something structurally wrong with the bed and if it needs to be replaced. Your feedback is valuable in helping us locate and correct these types of issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,331 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing