We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for 1 night, and really have no complaints. HH floor rooms were very clean, and appeared well maintained. The managers reception was just what we needed after a long day of traveling. We used the valet service for our car and it was always brought up promptly. The only complaint I have is when we were checking out. We had quite a few bags and called for a valet cart which never arrived after 30 minutes. However, even with this small inconvenience I old stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    1,290
    553
    218
    97
See reviews for
814
824
243
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scappoose, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wireless internet was horrible, room was very nice but wouldn't stay here again with how bad the internet was. Also kids could not swim in pool for our one night stay because it was closed down for some emergency. Kind of bummed. Had high expectations from the pictures and when we walked into our rooms but left a little dissapointed. Hotel staff was very nice though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jerry S,
Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are sorry that the internet did not work to your satisfaction and happy to see that the hotel adjusted these charges off your final bill before check-out. Unfortunately on that Sunday night one of our other guests had an incident requiring us to close the pool. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again under more accommodating circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

There are 5 awesome things about this hotel- location is breathtaking, breakfast is superb, rooms are clean and updated, parking is easy , and the price is right!!! I booked on hotels.com and got breakfast included and what a spread (frittatas, sausage, bacon, steel cut oatmeal, delectable muffins, coffee cake, fruit, waffles...etc)
If you are looking to be in the city in a safe location near everything, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for such a great review of your recent stay! We're glad that you enjoyed the "spread" featured with our Breakfast on the Balcony! Please stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stay in Philly on occasion & after doing research, we decided to stay at the Doubletree Center City. We had our car so, that was an important factor for us...on-site, somewhat reasonable parking. Also, location & overall price were equally important (as well as a clean, bug-free room!). Prior to our trip, I had the distinct pleasure of speaking with Tim. Not only was he incredibly helpful but he treated me with respect & he made me feel comfortable, excited & happy that I chose this hotel over the many others I could have chosen. Also, he was very patient with me since I am incredibly detail-oriented & ask a number of questions. We had a great conversation & although I am certain he was busy, he never made me feel rushed or unimportant. On the day of our arrival, I called to see if we could check-in early & had the misfortune of talking to, the operator who pretended that she could fill-in for the front desk...she was less than pleasant. When I asked to speak with the front desk, I had the ultimate displeasure of speaking to Crytal who was incredibly snotty, rude, impolite & unprofessional! She was so horrific that I in no way wanted her to check us in upon our arrival! Apparently, she was upset that I booked with a third party (now, I realize it is better for the hotel if you book direct with them). Luckily, Megan checked us in & she was lovely! We got our warm eelicious cookies, got to our fabulous room & had a great time!! Our room had a wonderful view & a Murphy bed (to our surprise!). We stayed June 24-June 26, 2014. Had a great time! Would definitely stay again!! Tim was great x 10,000, Megan lovely & Ron helpful...they all take great pride in serving their hotel clients. They made the experience terrific!! Kudos to that team! The location was wonderful! The only thing that made this experience less than perfect was Crystal & the phone operator...they absolutely need a course in customer service at the very least! We say stay but deal with the best front desk team that is Tim, Megan & Ron! Enjoy your stay! :-)))

Room Tip: A corner room can be lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
250 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Depending on your time of arrival, you may have to stand in line to check in as this is one big ol’ Philly hotel (481 rooms). Just do what you can to get a corner room, the view is incredible. They’ll even bring in a microwave and small refrigerator if you ask (it was there within minutes, thanks to Ms. Aldean’s friendly professionalism and efficiency). It’s in the theatre arts district so it’s a bit removed from the hustle of the historic attractions downtown – but this is a plus after a day down there. Everything is easily walkable, lots of restaurants right around the corner. The staff is great, right there whenever you needed something. Use the Concierge for what to do, where to go. Or go find Kevin the engineer in the pool area on the 5th floor because he knows Philly inside and out and will set you straight on the city as well as how to do the sauna so it’s hot, baby, hot. Parking is a reasonable $25 if you park it yourself (unload and go right around the block to come in on the parking entrance right next to the hotel). And do just park it, as you really don’t need a car in Philly. The Executive Lounge for Hilton Honors members is nice because it’s right there, fully stocked and staffed with some really nice staff. The furniture, however, is showing its age. But not in spirit. This DoubleTree is where you want to be in Philly.

Room Tip: We had 1803, 2 queen beds. The view of Philly, City Hall, clock tower is well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and will pass along your accolades to our staff! Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at hotel for business meetings at different office locations around the city. Was very convenient not having to rent a car or pay for parking. Was able to get a room upgrade to a corner room with a nice view of the Academy and Broad Street/western suburbs. The only problem I had was not the hotel's fault. Some "honeymoon couple" apparently thought the walls were soundproof. I think management told them otherwise as five of us were standing in the hall at 1:30 ready to knock on their door--thankfully management took care of that.

Room Tip: The walls are thin. Ask for a room that has no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGfromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
DGfromDallas- Thank you for staying with us! We're glad we were able to rectify the situation with your neighbors. Please take advantage of our prime location again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N ew Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We arrived exhausted at 11:00 pm after a very long day of moving a family member in Philly and we were greeted very warmly by a gentleman at the garage and then again by the front desk for check in. William asked us if we would like an upgrade to a suite and he also was able to provide us with late check out at 1:00 when we inquired if it was available. William was awesome! Oh and how can I forget to mention that the first thing they do here is give each of you a delicious warm chocolate chip cookie. Yum!!! Our suite was very clean and very spacious with a living room with a small kitchen area with table and chairs and a bedroom with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was very clean and large and had shampoo , conditioner and lotion from CrabTree and Evelyn. I don't know if they could tell we were in some desperate need for some pampering but they really delivered. We only stayed the one night but I would definitely stay there again. The location is great and we were in easy walking distance to many great restaurants and sites. The concierge always offered his assistance and Ron checked us out close to 1:00 in the afternoon the next day with the friendliest smile. My husband was worried because he had lost his parking ticket and he never loses things but Ron said no worries that we could just show our hotel bill that had the parking charge on it. Phew!
I didn't give sleep quality a perfect score only because we heard some very loud talking the next morning that felt like the people were right in our room but we did sleep later than usual so it probably wasn't that early in the morning. I couldn't figure out where these people were but it was several women talking and it sounded very close.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
TheAcks- What a wonderful review, we are glad you were able to the experience a DoubleTree by Hilton, "Where the Little Things Mean Everything." We'll pass on your kind words to both William and Ron. Please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
952 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,147 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing