We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bellevue Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Independent Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Alexander Inn(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,611)
Filter reviews
3,611 results
Traveller rating
1,261
1,405
598
232
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,261
1,405
598
232
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroad streetdouble treegreat locationwarm cookiesthe executive loungecenter cityacademy of musickimmel centercorner roomwithin walking distanceparking garageacross the streetfront desk staffupon checkstreet noisehigh floorfitness center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,015 - 2,020 of 3,611 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

1. The staff were not at all friendly with the exception of the maintenance man who fixed the toilet 2. They charged for a full american breakfast $16 + tax and tip for an a la carte order of one egg, one slice of toast and a piece of bacon extra crispy and a cup of hot water - I supplied my own tea bag 3. Said the restaurant manager would call me - he didn't. I won't pay for food I don't ask for even on an expense account so I went without breakfast for the next two days and that made me pretty cranky! 4. Waited 15 minutes for them to call me a taxi - having been told I was not allowed to do it myself - I should have walked down the street and hailed one myself 5. They charge $9.95 per night per device for internet - this is in 2014 in a business hotel - are you kidding me! 6. The hotel is a little dated as evidenced by the toilet mechanism breaking BUT best thing about the hotel - the maintenance guy who was just delightful and prompt and courteous and efficient

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear sue p,
Thank you for the comments and we apologize you found so many things wrong with our hotel. On the other hand, we are happy that our maintenance Team Member was able to assist you in a professional and friendly manner. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit Philadelphia in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wow, location on Broad Street is near most everything and within walking distance. Had a fantastic room on the top floor, corner view..and had access to the Executive Level. Not sure how we got that, but Megan at the front desk was incredible. She was helpful, friendly, and wonderful. Had some issues with noisy guests one night. Doors between rooms let in a lot of sound, and we just could not regulate the thermostat the entire time. Other than those minor inconveniences, this hotel was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you, Hodzer, for the the high remarks on your recent stay at our hotel. We are indeed in walking distance of the arts, history, shopping and restaurants in Philly. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful location, beautiful hotel and great staff! Had a great time in Philly! Would definitely recommend and stay here again. Stayed here with our 5 year old twin boys, who absolutely loved the warm, chocolate chip cookies upon arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you, Grachelle G, for the kind words and the five-star review! We appreciate the recommendation, and hope that we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our room was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the cookies at check in. The staff delivered an extra towel to our room readily on request. Our room was quiet with a great view. If you are driving, be warned that there is a height limit on the parking garage. We have an SUV, and we ended up having to park in another garage nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourfamga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

ourfamga,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay! We're glad you enjoyed the cookies, and that your request from housekeeping was fulfilled in a timely manner. Please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the "Suites on 5" section of the hotel. The bellman told us these rooms had just opened in March of this year. After taking one elevator up five floors, we crossed over to a set of double doors that led to a very different part of the hotel complex. Where the hotel's main lobby is right out of the 1970s, this section has a 21st century feel. One important feature for us was that these rooms do not face Broad St., which is a busy thoroughfare. These rooms are extremely quiet.

The suite was large, with a kitchenette including a refrigerator and microwave. The sitting area included a fold-out sofa that was very comfortable as well as a couple of chairs plus a breakfast table. There were two TV's - one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. There is not a door to the bedroom in the back but it is separated from the sitting area by a long, narrow hallway from which you can access the modern bathroom.

The hotel is within walking distance to major sights in the city. Its location is excellent. We found the room to be a very good value in Philadelphia and would certainly return.

One tip on arrival - along the Broad Street side of the hotel, there is a small area with two spaces to pull into to drop off bags and check in. The bellman was very helpful.

The parking garage is $25 per night. It is a bit narrow if you have an SUV. If you are going to the Suites on 5, you should park on the 6th floor of the garage and the elevator will take you straight up to your room in that newer section of the hotel.

Room Tip: Suites on 5 are an excellent value, away from the busy street below.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richmond787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you, richmond787, for the extremely thorough review of our new Suites on 5! An excellent value, indeed! Please return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews