We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there are much better hotels in Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“there are much better hotels in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

1. The staff were not at all friendly with the exception of the maintenance man who fixed the toilet 2. They charged for a full american breakfast $16 + tax and tip for an a la carte order of one egg, one slice of toast and a piece of bacon extra crispy and a cup of hot water - I supplied my own tea bag 3. Said the restaurant manager would call me - he didn't. I won't pay for food I don't ask for even on an expense account so I went without breakfast for the next two days and that made me pretty cranky! 4. Waited 15 minutes for them to call me a taxi - having been told I was not allowed to do it myself - I should have walked down the street and hailed one myself 5. They charge $9.95 per night per device for internet - this is in 2014 in a business hotel - are you kidding me! 6. The hotel is a little dated as evidenced by the toilet mechanism breaking BUT best thing about the hotel - the maintenance guy who was just delightful and prompt and courteous and efficient

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear sue p,
Thank you for the comments and we apologize you found so many things wrong with our hotel. On the other hand, we are happy that our maintenance Team Member was able to assist you in a professional and friendly manner. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit Philadelphia in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    1,298
    559
    220
    97
See reviews for
828
832
243
935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wow, location on Broad Street is near most everything and within walking distance. Had a fantastic room on the top floor, corner view..and had access to the Executive Level. Not sure how we got that, but Megan at the front desk was incredible. She was helpful, friendly, and wonderful. Had some issues with noisy guests one night. Doors between rooms let in a lot of sound, and we just could not regulate the thermostat the entire time. Other than those minor inconveniences, this hotel was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you, Hodzer, for the the high remarks on your recent stay at our hotel. We are indeed in walking distance of the arts, history, shopping and restaurants in Philly. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful location, beautiful hotel and great staff! Had a great time in Philly! Would definitely recommend and stay here again. Stayed here with our 5 year old twin boys, who absolutely loved the warm, chocolate chip cookies upon arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you, Grachelle G, for the kind words and the five-star review! We appreciate the recommendation, and hope that we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our room was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the cookies at check in. The staff delivered an extra towel to our room readily on request. Our room was quiet with a great view. If you are driving, be warned that there is a height limit on the parking garage. We have an SUV, and we ended up having to park in another garage nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourfamga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
ourfamga,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay! We're glad you enjoyed the cookies, and that your request from housekeeping was fulfilled in a timely manner. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the "Suites on 5" section of the hotel. The bellman told us these rooms had just opened in March of this year. After taking one elevator up five floors, we crossed over to a set of double doors that led to a very different part of the hotel complex. Where the hotel's main lobby is right out of the 1970s, this section has a 21st century feel. One important feature for us was that these rooms do not face Broad St., which is a busy thoroughfare. These rooms are extremely quiet.

The suite was large, with a kitchenette including a refrigerator and microwave. The sitting area included a fold-out sofa that was very comfortable as well as a couple of chairs plus a breakfast table. There were two TV's - one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. There is not a door to the bedroom in the back but it is separated from the sitting area by a long, narrow hallway from which you can access the modern bathroom.

The hotel is within walking distance to major sights in the city. Its location is excellent. We found the room to be a very good value in Philadelphia and would certainly return.

One tip on arrival - along the Broad Street side of the hotel, there is a small area with two spaces to pull into to drop off bags and check in. The bellman was very helpful.

The parking garage is $25 per night. It is a bit narrow if you have an SUV. If you are going to the Suites on 5, you should park on the 6th floor of the garage and the elevator will take you straight up to your room in that newer section of the hotel.

Room Tip: Suites on 5 are an excellent value, away from the busy street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmond787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you, richmond787, for the extremely thorough review of our new Suites on 5! An excellent value, indeed! Please return to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here with my daughter on a day trip to Eastern penitentiary & Longwood Gardens. Easy drive to both locations and the Facility was clean and very nice. I great hot tub/pool on Floor 5 was very Welcome after lots of walking all day

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks, Tim L, for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're glad you were able to get to attractions both inside and outside of the city from our amazing location. Please consider us the next time you plan a day trip (please stay even longer)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for my best friend's wedding. Upon entering the hotel, we were supposed to receive the bride and groom's welcome bags (I helped her put them together so I knew they were in the hotel). We were not given a bag, and when asked, we were told that "they weren't giving out bags" and they "didn't have any." Not only did that put a bad taste in our mouth, but I soon found out that the bride and groom's room was not what they had booked, and did not have 2 beds in it like they were told. They were very upset. None of the personnell seemed to care about these issues. I will probably never return to this hotel. It's a shame, because it's in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cherilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Cherilyn B,
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that you did not receive your gift bag. The hotel handed out all of the bags that were delivered with none left over. In addition, the groom received exactly the type of room he booked, was given his requested early check-in, and was moved to a suite with a larger seating area per his request later in the day. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will have a change in mind and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
970 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,303 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing