We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Room was dirty and house keeping did not replace coffee, or throw out trash. Alarm clock was broken. Person who came to fix it had no idea what they were doing. Concierge was NEVER around. No one else could give even the most basic directions. I won't even mention the odor associated with the gift shop. In fairness I will say the fitness facility was very up to date.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MisterTee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear MisterTee1,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you and make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    1,242
    512
    208
    90
See reviews for
770
767
230
887
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was very happy with my stay here. Customer service was excellent, room was clean and spacious, (a little bit of paint peeling and mildew in the bathroom :( ), very good location with dozens of restaurants and theaters nearby. The ladies behind the front desk were accommodating and gave the kids an extra cookie!

They have flavored waters for guests in the evening - but there are not enough cups and the area becomes quite messy after just a few minutes with little attention paid to cleanup. Also, enough with the expensive in-room internet, okay?! I'm guessing businessmen will just pay it, but internet is so cheap these days it should be included in the room cost - like air conditioning and electricity. You don't charge people for hot water....so why internet?

Yep, I'd stay there again....but go to Starbucks to use the internet.

Room Tip: Join their Rewards Program to get on your own floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grawburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Grawburg,
Thanks for your comments. Our internet charge is comparable with that of other full-service hotels in the area. We'll be sure to keep a closer eye on the complimentary infused waters that we often provide in the lobby, that sounds like an isolated incident.. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Check in was efficient, but almost too efficient. Woman failed to tell me about how to get to the wifi (did not tell me what the lobby network was and what the password for the wifi was.) Had to go back to ask. The room was near the elevator and very noisy (the elevator could be heard in the room a couple of rooms down the hall). restaurant is poor. charge for wifi in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ashish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ashish A,
Thank you for the comments. We apologize that the desk agent did not provide you with the Wi-Fi code and that she was too efficient when checking you in to the hotel. We will work with our front desk staff on being more mindful and hope you have an opportunity to return in the future. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
325 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to a show and this hotel just fits right into that plan. It is in walking distance to most the of the major show venue's, great restaurants and attractions. The staff is very good, the breakfast is good, the rooms are very nice. ( Don't forget the cookies at check in - always a nice touch!) I simply cannot give it an excellent review because I feel it needs some updating in the lobby area, hallways near rooms and restaurant. I'm not sure what style they are going for but it seems old to me and in need of something! Parking a little expensive as well for what you have to put up with. $25 a night for self and $38 for valet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveagoodmeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Loveagoodmeal,
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. For the theater-going crowd (not to mention a whole lot of other crowds), our location just can't be beat! Please return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I booked a reservation one month in advance for the Double Tree in downtown Philadelphia while I was to attend a conference. I called the day before my reservation to confirm and told them what time I'd be arriving, and everything was set to go. At least that's what I was told. I arrived at the hotel around 10 pm only to be casually told by the front desk attendant that they had overbooked the hotel and had no rooms available. Are you kidding me?! I had a reservation confirmed and I'm a Hilton Honors member yet they just canceled my reservation without even calling or emailing me. I traveled all the way to Philadelphia only to be turned away at the door. The front desk offered to pay for a taxi back to the airport. There was no offer to even a comp or discount another room. There was a large convention in town that week, so I called every other hotel in town and none had any rooms available. I ended up sleeping in the 30th st train station until 5 am and missing the first day of the conference. I'm lucky I didn't get robbed. I called the corporate office 3 times to complain about this and didn't receive any reply even after filing a complaint. They don't care about their customers at all. I'm never booking a stay at the Double Tree or Hilton property again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColumbiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ColumbiaNYC,
Thank you for your comments. We certainly apologize for this inconvenience, and any miscommunication that may have occurred that evening. Our hotel was in fact oversold on that night due to in house guests extending their departure dates. Our night auditor apologized for the situation and secured an alternative hotel room (the Wyndham Hotel at the airport) with transportation to and from, with the hotel picking up the room charges. This is standard procedure in the hotel industry on the infrequent chance that a hotel cannot honor a reservation. In fact, we had two other guests that evening who we also had to move to the Wyndham and received the same message that was delivered to you. Our night auditor indicates that you turned down this arrangement and asked to have your reservation cancelled. She also states that you left your debit card in the hotel lobby where another guest found it and turned it over to the same night auditor, who in turn called you on your cell phone. You returned to the hotel, secured your card, and thanked the night auditor with no additional comments or inquiries. Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us in the future under more favorable circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Doubletree staff are very helpful. The restaurant/bar has a good selection of drinks and decent food. This hotel has the noisiest elevators I have ever heard. I actually thought my room was in the flight path for the airport. Whatever you do, do not accept any room with the last number of 8, 10 or 12. These are right next to the elevators. One of the them is actually between the elevators. Mold in the shower and sinks that did not drain. Again the staff was helpful and cheerful but they are dealing with a property that is basically flawed.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have great views. Again avoid rooms with numbers ending in 8, 10 and 12; they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kevin M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We apologize that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. We all enjoy a little exaggeration, but “flight path for the airport” loud; that’s priceless! Obviously all hotels have rooms that are located adjacent to or near their elevators and these rooms can have elevated (no pun intended) noise levels compared to those away from the elevators.. All of our guest rooms, including those numbered 08, 10, and 12 are clean and comfortable and are occupied and enjoyed by our guests throughout the year. As in any hotel, if you are a light sleeper you should request a room away from the elevators. Our friendly front desk staff will do everything they can to honor those requests. Thank you again for your comments and congratulations on being a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was clean and good sized; the bed was very comfortable; the staff was friendly and helpful; the hotel's location is near historical sites. The air conditioning was hard to keep comfortable, when from cold to warm and warm to cold; and the bathroom needed a exhaust fan. A fridge in the room would have been nice, too.
I know that this hotel is located in the center of Philadelphia, but why charge $10/day for WiFi? And $2 for a cup of morning coffee?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Marie S,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We will have refrigerators in all rooms in the next few months, and our charge for wireless internet is comparable to other local full-service hotels. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing