We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We've always had good luck at Doubletree hotels in the past, and this was no exception...but for the price, what we got exceeded our expectations. We had a large room on the 24th floor with access to the Executive Lounge (includes sitting areas, free refreshments, welcome receptions, etc.). Great view of the city! Parking was very reasonable for a big city hotel, and there were plenty of available spaces. We ate in the restaurant, which was quite good, though pricey for the serving sizes. Subway is right under the hotel, so it is convenient for public transit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Recon905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Recon905,
Thank you for the fantastic review! Your patronage means a lot to us, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,106
    1,264
    528
    211
    94
See reviews for
790
794
235
910
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel and hotel staff. Any visit with no complaints (even minor) is a good visit. The two cookies were a great touch! rooms were pristine and the hotel in general was very nice. Hotel staff were friendly and engaging. All in all, I was very satisfied with this stay. I would definitely consider staying at this Double Tree again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you, Alex S, for the five star review! Please return to the Philadelphia area soon (staying with us, of course)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have been to see our children here quite a few times and not always had the best experience or location. This hotel was easy to book on Hilton site, check in at 2:00 am and no problems, hotel and room clean, huge room at corner and had spectacular view of Broad Street. Nice Bar, Internet in Bar for free, Restaurant busy with happy customers and we had the terrific breakfast brunch, they give freshly baked chocolate chip cookies out all day and night when patrons ask and they have fruity water to drink in the lobby. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and we plan to always stay here when we come to Philadelphia which is at least once a year. Don't know about parking as we had a car meet up as airport and cab take us back. Everyone nice and polite that I dealt with.

Room Tip: I really liked the corner as we could see down Broad Street and it was lit up at night for great pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Kristin H,
It sounds like you've found your go-to hotel in Philadelphia, and for that (and the five-star review), we're grateful. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I don't understand why a prestigious hotel don't give internet free acces. Why you put carpet every where that's not healthy. The swimming pool is to old and the water it seems not very clean. The services is OK and the location is good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Denis C,
Thank you for the interesting review. Hotels tend to use carpet for a number of reasons, soundproofing among them. Our pool is regularly maintained to the highest standards.. We appreciate your patronage. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Room was dirty and house keeping did not replace coffee, or throw out trash. Alarm clock was broken. Person who came to fix it had no idea what they were doing. Concierge was NEVER around. No one else could give even the most basic directions. I won't even mention the odor associated with the gift shop. In fairness I will say the fitness facility was very up to date.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MisterTee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear MisterTee1,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you and make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was very happy with my stay here. Customer service was excellent, room was clean and spacious, (a little bit of paint peeling and mildew in the bathroom :( ), very good location with dozens of restaurants and theaters nearby. The ladies behind the front desk were accommodating and gave the kids an extra cookie!

They have flavored waters for guests in the evening - but there are not enough cups and the area becomes quite messy after just a few minutes with little attention paid to cleanup. Also, enough with the expensive in-room internet, okay?! I'm guessing businessmen will just pay it, but internet is so cheap these days it should be included in the room cost - like air conditioning and electricity. You don't charge people for hot water....so why internet?

Yep, I'd stay there again....but go to Starbucks to use the internet.

Room Tip: Join their Rewards Program to get on your own floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grawburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Grawburg,
Thanks for your comments. Our internet charge is comparable with that of other full-service hotels in the area. We'll be sure to keep a closer eye on the complimentary infused waters that we often provide in the lobby, that sounds like an isolated incident.. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Check in was efficient, but almost too efficient. Woman failed to tell me about how to get to the wifi (did not tell me what the lobby network was and what the password for the wifi was.) Had to go back to ask. The room was near the elevator and very noisy (the elevator could be heard in the room a couple of rooms down the hall). restaurant is poor. charge for wifi in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ashish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ashish A,
Thank you for the comments. We apologize that the desk agent did not provide you with the Wi-Fi code and that she was too efficient when checking you in to the hotel. We will work with our front desk staff on being more mindful and hope you have an opportunity to return in the future. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing