We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and city view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great place to stay. Reached pretty late but the check in was quick and pleasant. Good view from 21st floor and quite and clean rooms. Liked the corner room which gave views from both sides. Parking was tricky but since we bought the parking with the room was cost effective since parking could be very high in downtown area. Great place to go for a walk in the morning and quite room for the location

Room Tip: Higher floors can provide very good city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pmdnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear pmdnair,
Thank you for the five-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to give our future guests a few tips from someone who had a positive experience with us. Safe travels, and please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,817 - 1,823 of 3,455 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night recently land found the hotel to be slightly dated. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom was in need of updating. Enjoyed the complimentary water and cookies that were given to us at check in. The location is perfect for Center City purposes, especially for the theatre and City Hall areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear JJM1964,
Thank you for your comments. If you stay with us again, and I hope you will, please consider staying in one of our brand-new Suites on 5. They're anything but dated. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really like this hotel. It's clean, the staff is great and always friendly. It's location is within walking distance to many attractions, and the subway entrance is right outside the front door.

Only one thing stands out as strange to me. I have stayed at this hotel around 10 times in the past year and have 14 future reservations. I am a HH Gold member and have never once been offered an upgrade. I once asked for a room on the Towers floor and was told nothing was available. A quick search on the Hilton app showed many were available. Not a big deal to me and it won't prevent me from staying here, I just have never had that happen at another Hilton Property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear mike v,
We're happy to provide upgrades based on availability. Please contact Shavonne.Briggs@hilton.com with your Hhonors number and upcoming reservation numbers. Thank you for your past and future patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I will start with the positives. The location is wonderful. You are in the heart of everything. The subway to get to the stadiums in right across the street. You do not have to make any transfers. There are tons of restaurants nearby. The room was large with lots of windows.

Now the negatives. I will start with the coffee situation. I went to the lobby to see if they had coffee. They sent me to the mezzanine level. I saw a table with coffee cups, cream, sugar, etc... but no coffee. I asked the extremely rude hostess at the restaurant how I could get coffee and she said she would get if for me. She grabbed one cup and took it behind her stand where the coffee machine is located. I told her I needed two cups (one for my husband). She literally sighed and rolled her eyes at me. She proceeded to fill up the cups barely over half way and handed them to me. I would have gladly paid for coffee if that was an option. I didn't need to feel like a criminal for wanting coffee. I didn't know it was such a valuable commodity that it had to be kept behind the hostess desk. Unfortunately the same rude hostess was there the next morning and I received the same treatment. Bad customer service REALLY annoys me. I also received bad customer service from the doorman. I asked if I could take a cart upstairs because we were ready to load up our stuff and checkout. We had a TON of luggage because we were nearing the end of a long road trip vacation. Every other hotel we stayed at up to this point gladly let us take a cart to the room. Not the Doubletree. I was told I had to go to my room and call down for them to bring a cart. We were anxious to get on the road. Now I have to wait because the guy with the cart wants a tip. When he finally brought the cart, my husband loaded it because we had it down to a science by that time. I'm sure there are people who want help loading the carts. We did not, but they would not listen. Again, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Now the room. It was a large room with a teeny tiny bed. I reserved a queen size bed. This had to be a twin or a double. I can't believe they passed that off as a queen bed. The furniture is outdated and the bathroom was disgusting. There was mildew everywhere and the shower curtain had a sour smell. The air conditioning unit was on the opposite side of the room from the miniture bed, so it was warm while we were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank z75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear z75,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We apologize that our hostess was less than hospitable in our restaurant. This is certainly not the kind of service that we known for and our Restaurant Manager has coached and counseled this particular Team Member on presenting a more positive and friendly image to our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel and we hope you have the opportunity to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was not pleased with this hotel. I found this place to have below average banquet food and service.Chicken three nights in a row. And some staff that were not on their A-game. Aggressive homeless people right outside lobby door-at 10pm. No security in sight!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Cynthia C,
Thank you for your comments. The organization that was hosting your event chose all of the menus served to your group. While our Hotel Catering Team recommends varied menu's, the final decision is made by the client. I would suggest that you work through your organization to influence future menu selections. The overall event was a great success and we hope to host your group again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I was here for business. I thought it would be very difficult to find and park, but I had no trouble with either. Staff was friendly and check-in was a breeze. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi was free, if you are a HH member. The major Philadelphia attractions (Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall, Rocky statue) were within walking distance. Very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Littlebitofall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Littlebitofall,
We appreciate the five-star review, and we agree with you on all counts! Please return to see us soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Checking out and getting bags down stairs took over an hour. Put into a friend's Cadillac to go to airport which required one large suitcase to go in the front seat. Make sure your room is on the back side of the hotel to avoid the loud truck and car noises along Broad Street. Nice room but not spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Rodney W,
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that your friend's Cadillac wasn't large enough to hold all of your luggage comfortably. Please stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,320 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £84 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing