We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

great view,great staff, clean room, took two teenagers to concert in Philadelphia and location of hotel and our experience at the hotel was a plus. Thanks Double Tree... the view from our corner room added to the great time the girls had. Could not get over the view and the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank U3252FHlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear U3252FHlindab,
Our location is indeed perfect when attending concert venues, as the subway beneath us reaches the South Philadelphia Sports Complex directly with no transfers. We're glad that you and the girls enjoyed your time with us! Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    1,251
    516
    210
    91
See reviews for
778
779
234
896
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Staying at the Doubletree exceeded my expectations. The location was great, literally just a few steps from the subway with direct access to Citizens Bank Park. The adjacent Midtown Village area was safe and very interesting to explore. Be sure to check out the murals on Locust St. People watching, restaurants and outdoor cafes, art and architecture, photography options, etc. I stayed in a queen no allergy room , and the air purifier worked fantastic. The room was quite spacious and comfortable with these big stuffed pillows. The bathroom was clean. Probably the only minor negative was the low to moderate water pressure in the shower, but that is to be expected in a large city hotel. I also enjoyed the pool area on the fifth floor with nice views up and down Broad Street from the deck. I only stayed for one night (second time here), but would not hesitate to stay for an extended period if that were in my plans.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 687jayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear 687jayg,
Thank you for the glowing, detailed review! We appreciate your kind words and your patronage, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Althought I have stayed at many other Doubletree ho hotels, my experience at the Philadelphia Doubletree will ensure that I NEVER stay at another Doubletree again. I was travelling for business, and our plans changed unexpectedly and I needed to return to Houston a day earlier than planned. Despite that fact that I was staying at the hotel for 3 nights and made the request to modify the reservation to only 2 nights before I checked in on the first day, the staff refused to modify my reservation, saying that I would have to pay for the entire 3 nights because I had waited until the day of arrival to modify the reservation. Staff members were completely rude and unapologetic. After multiple phone calls, they did change the reservation, but increased the nightly rate by more than $60! I complained about this change, but was told that they did not have to make any rate accomodation because the hotel was full for those nights. I have never had this issue at any other Doubletree. This is a ridiculous policy for a hotel that claims to cater to business travelers. Staff members here were awful--clear that they did not care at all about their guests. Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTPMurnane, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Amy H,
Thank you for your comments. We're sorry that you were disappointed with our room rates. Our records show that you were charged no more or no less than any other guest in our hotel who made the same changes to their stay dates as you did. Room rates do change based on day of week and length of stay. We apologize if this was not clearly explained to you when you originally booked your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

the hotel is close to the theaters and other attractions check in was a little slow though and we also had no toiletries in our room no soap or other products you would assume would be standard after two trips to the front desk we were able to get some soap

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Linda R,
We appreciate the feedback, and apologize for the inconvenience of any missing toiletries. In the future, please do not hesitate to call the Front Desk to have anything you need brought directly to you. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great place to stay. Reached pretty late but the check in was quick and pleasant. Good view from 21st floor and quite and clean rooms. Liked the corner room which gave views from both sides. Parking was tricky but since we bought the parking with the room was cost effective since parking could be very high in downtown area. Great place to go for a walk in the morning and quite room for the location

Room Tip: Higher floors can provide very good city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear pmdnair,
Thank you for the five-star review! We appreciate you taking the time to give our future guests a few tips from someone who had a positive experience with us. Safe travels, and please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed one night recently land found the hotel to be slightly dated. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom was in need of updating. Enjoyed the complimentary water and cookies that were given to us at check in. The location is perfect for Center City purposes, especially for the theatre and City Hall areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear JJM1964,
Thank you for your comments. If you stay with us again, and I hope you will, please consider staying in one of our brand-new Suites on 5. They're anything but dated. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really like this hotel. It's clean, the staff is great and always friendly. It's location is within walking distance to many attractions, and the subway entrance is right outside the front door.

Only one thing stands out as strange to me. I have stayed at this hotel around 10 times in the past year and have 14 future reservations. I am a HH Gold member and have never once been offered an upgrade. I once asked for a room on the Towers floor and was told nothing was available. A quick search on the Hilton app showed many were available. Not a big deal to me and it won't prevent me from staying here, I just have never had that happen at another Hilton Property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear mike v,
We're happy to provide upgrades based on availability. Please contact Shavonne.Briggs@hilton.com with your Hhonors number and upcoming reservation numbers. Thank you for your past and future patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,293 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
896 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing