We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, clean hotel, special care to honors members”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
238 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, clean hotel, special care to honors members”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We booked a corner queen, which had a nice view to the South and West, on the 24th floor. The room was clean and could almost be considered a suite. There was some hallway noise. Mainly, the ice machine and a service closet for staff was located directly next to our room.

Location was great, with most landmarks within walking distance. We were able to easily walk to Reading Terminal Market, Independence Hall, City Tavern, the Financial District, and bars and restaurants.

Parking was a little steep, at 25 dollars a night, but it wasn't a Hilton owned garage and was a substantial discount for staying at the hotel.

The executive lounge was also on the 24th floor and had a nice spread of complimentary appetizers for higher honors members and those staying on the upper floors. They also had breakfast in the executive lounge, which is something I have not seen. In addition, we were still given the coupons for a free breakfast at the hotel restaurant. They seemed to cater heavily to honors members, except there was no dedicated honors check in.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILiveOutofaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ILiveOutofaSuitcase,
We love our Hhnonors members. Folks like you who live out of their suitcases deserve extra rewards for loyalty! Thank you for your patronage, and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    1,260
    522
    211
    94
See reviews for
785
788
235
908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
saint louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Location could not be beat--able to walk all around center city (which includes some great dining options!). The room was comfortable and quiet (I didn't have a view at all). Workout facility was decent--includes a few treadmills and elliptical trainers with TVs. There is a gift shop and a bar in the lobby. No breakfast included, but there is a Starbucks a short 3 minute walk away (a much better deal than the hotel buffet at $15ish). As I was here for business, it would have been nice if there was free wi-fi. Parking was $25/day for self-park (average in a city). About a 20 minute drive to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you, christi r, for your thorough comments. Our location really can't be beat. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wow what a great hotel. Easy to get to on Route 611 off I-95. Easy parking, close to all Center city. Great bars, food, and walking distance to everything! Duel Piano bar. Park, relax and enjoy all this place has. Great staff and very nice!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Amanda R,
Thank you for your comments! We'll be featuring your review on our Facebook page later today, keep an eye out for it! We greatly appreciate the kind words. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia West, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been coming to Philadelphia for over ten years now visiting my daughter. Now that she is newly engaged, I am for the first time staying in hotels instead of in her apartment, as she now lives with her fiance. I think this will be my go to hotel! Everything was lovely. Updated and clean facility, very nice staff, and delicious cookies =)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Amanda R,
Thank you for the kind words and high marks. We'll be featuring your review on our Facebook page later today. Keep an eye out for it! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The room itself didn't stand out, but the location was amazing -- right by City Hall and walkable to all downtown Philadelphia has to offer. The front desk clerk was super friendly and the infused water in the lobby was nice and refreshing. Would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear D C,
Thank you for the high marks! Great location, friendly staff...that's want we like to hear. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Located across the street from the Academy of Music and the Kimmel Center, 2 blocks south of City Hall and less than a mile from historic Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell, this
Hotel is very convenient. Although it had 20+ floors, the lobby was like an oasis before you got to your room. I've stayed at hotels next to the convention center but the Doubletree seemed much friendlier from the staff at the desk to the attendants helping you with luggage and parking. Since I was on a convention, I didn't eat any dinners in the restaurant, but the food served at the convention events were good. Breakfast was available on the 2nd floor overlooking the atrium. The food was on par for a hotel of this caliber but the atrium improved the ambience. There was plenty of room in our hotel room which had a coffee maker, a big closet and free wi-fi. There was lots of light and a view since we had two windows overlooking S. Broad Street. The hotel was about. 20 minute ride from the airport and if you took the shuttle, it was about $20. The cost of parking seemed high ($25 a day) but did have in and out privileges. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the 12th floor. I imagine if you were on an even higher floor, you'd get a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Mary Ann M,
A "Convenient Oasis," I love the description! I'm glad that our staff, location and ambience left positive impressions. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very nice accommodations like many downtown locations getting around can be challenging and parking is pricy. The complimentary cookies were stale (who complains about free things). The staff were all very polite, respectful and helpful. Our room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel looks straight into another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTMurnane, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Keith G,
I'm glad that our staff was friendly and accommodating during your recent stay. However, a stale cookie just won't do! We'd like to make this right by sending you a tin of our delicious cookies to experience the way they should be! Please contact Shavonne.Briggs@hilton.com to make the arrangements. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing