We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Center City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Center City
Ranked #49 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“Comfortable and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

It was great and comfortable time! I appreciate the service and everyone was very welcoming. The quiet time I had was great and i was able to sleep without any distractions. Definitely great job!

thanks

Room Tip: go with the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Curtis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It is wonderful to hear that we were able to provide you with a superb experience. There is no better reward in this business than to be commended by a valued guest for doing a great job.

It was a pleasure to serve you. We hope you will visit us again soon. You can rely on us to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    171
    58
    24
    46
See reviews for
76
142
75
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here for a medical convention and booked late, so there were not many options available in the city. The room was tiny, barely room for the bed and a small desk. The bathroom was across the hall, which I knew going in, but it was so small that they literally had to put the toilet paper roll on the back of the door! The tub was old and really grungy. It was weird because the shower walls were nicely tiled, looked like someone had started renovating and then stopped in the middle. They had some new technology for locks on the doors where you put the key card on the door. It seemed like a good idea but was very finicky (over 4 days, it always took a few tries to let it to work) and two days in a row my key stopped working, requiring trip to front desk. As though that weren't enough, it rained heavily and roof leaked in two different spots, one on bed!

Okay, so why did I give it two stars instead if one? Bed was comfortable, internet worked really well and location is very good. If you're just looking for a place to crash, and you're pretty sure it isn't going to rain heavily, it should be okay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have attached bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were not entirely pleased with our accommodation and services.

We find some of your comments very disturbing. Our hotel recently underwent a massive renovation and among the areas we modernize were our bathrooms. We shall have to examine the bathroom you used to assess the state of the bathtub. You also mentioned that during your stay the roof leaked in two places. This issue was never brought to our attention. Also, it is hard for us to imagine with the recent renovations made on our property that our roof has holes that would enable rain water to enter. Nevertheless, you have our assurance that we will investigate this matter.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future. Please let us demonstrate that we have it in us to provide you with excellent accommodation and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Very poor customer service. The focus is not on the customer, only on making money. The bathroom in my room had a a problem; management could not fix it nor would they move me to a new room. Therefore I requested a refund and was denied.

I recommend you stay anywhere else but here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are deeply saddened to read that you were not pleased with our facilities and services.

We would like to emphasize that guest satisfaction, not revenue, is of utmost importance to us. We recognize that in demonstrating that we value our guests by providing superb accommodation and services we will become the preferred hotel stay. In keeping with our paramount goal, our hotel recently underwent extensive renovation to improve and update our facilities and we have a highly trained staff to attend to the needs of our guests. Nonetheless, we will give your review due attention and not sweep it under the rug. We shall examine why you claimed that the bathroom problem could not be fixed and determine our staff's basis for letting you remain in your room and for denying you a refund. Should it be found out that our staff erred, corrective actions will be employed to ensure that the incident is not repeated.

We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. Please allow us to demonstrate that we do indeed value our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I got much more out of this hotel than I had expected going in. They were doing renovations to the building when I arrived, so it was a bit loud. But after the noise subsided, I had no qualms. The room my sister and I stayed in was nicer than what it appeared in the pictures. There was new furniture and bathroom fixtures that made the room feel comfortable and stylish. The front desk attendants were all very friendly and extremely helpful when we had any questions about the area. Perfect location by Reading Terminal Market and the subway which made travel very easy. I will most definitely be staying here the next time I am in Philly!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjreeves28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful review. We are immensely pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We thank you profusely for your kind praises which were shared with the entire team. It is good to hear that you took notice of the improvements we have done. They were made to enhance the positive experience of our guests in keeping with our paramount goal of guest satisfaction. Our staff are fiercely proud of our hotel and are always willing to assist our valued guests and go the extra mile if needed.

Indeed, our hotel is located at the heart of the city which makes traveling and visiting famous sites very easy to do.

It would be an honor to welcome you back to our hotel. We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My fiance and our sons traveled to Philly and stayed here. The place had had some recent renovations and was clean and comfortable. We met Brian, one of the managers and "acting concierge". He was absolutely delightful and did everything to make our stay even that much nicer.

We were within walking distance of many of the city's sites, including one of our favorite restaurants, Chima's. Thanks to Brian, we had a great reservation for the restaurant - which gets quite busy. He also provided us with great walking directions to certain sites to see late in the evening.

It's a small hotel right on the road, so you will hear road traffic.. but I've had this in many hotels- even some of the "top names". Personally, it was a good rate for the room and amenities, being situated right in the City Center.

I would definitely recommend it, and would stay there again next time I am in Philly.

~Diana

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are immensely pleased to learn that you had a great hotel experience. We strive each day to give our guests a thoroughly satisfying stay, as such it is wonderful to hear we successfully attained our goal.

Thank you for your kind praises which were shared with the entire team and gave them a good reason to rejoice. Brian was extremely glad to hear that he was of great help to you.

Indeed our hotel is at the heart of the city which makes it very easy to search for good restaurants and it is a short walk or ride from popular tourist sites.

It was a pleasure to have you with us. We eagerly look forward to your next visit. Have no doubt that you will be the recipient again of excellent accommodation and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife, 1 year old son and I were in town for the Frozen Four and loved the place. Recent renovations are great, staff was super friendly and accomodating, it was a great value, and had ha great location!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you and your family absolutely loved your stay at our hotel. Your review will inspire and motivate us to work even harder to elevate our level of service to further enhance our guests' hotel experience.

We wish to thank you for appreciating the improvements done on our hotel, our great location, and excellent staff.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in town. It would be a pleasure to serve you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I.ve given the rating as average,although I did like the place I thought the rates were very expensive for room only. Yes you can help yourself to fruit but that's not a proper breakfast. Reception staff were friendly though. There is a coffee machine in room with 2 bottles of water(complimentary) plus a soothing night time drink. Rooms are average/spacious size. Nicely decorated but very squeaky floorboards. Beds very comfortable and clean. I had to pay again as the company I paid through had not passed on my booking to the hotel which is NOT the hotels fault but I had to pay the current rate which was much higher than I paid originally as there was a conference on at the time. If it's busy in the city, you will pay much higher rates. Like most hotels around the world, the walls are very thin and one night I heard a couple at it for hours,they can do what they like but when I.m trying to sleep I don't want to be kept awake by an extremely loud woman screaming with pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelse1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodeWayCC, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn Center City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It saddens us to hear that we were unable to meet all your expectations, as guest satisfaction is our primary goal. Rest assured, we shall be addressing your comments and will not sweep them under the rug. We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us.

Your comments on the floorboard and walls will be passed on to the appropriate department. In order to attain our ultimate goal, we need our accommodation and services to be described as excellent.

Before imposing our room rates, we do study the market to make sure the prices are competitive and not considered exorbitant. Nevertheless, we will not dismiss your comment.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and to demonstrate that we can give you a far better hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Center City

Property: Rodeway Inn Center City
Address: 1208 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Center City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New flat screen HDTVs and personal Keurig coffee makers in all rooms! We offer reasonably priced, straightforward accommodations with updated in-room amenities, right in the heart of the city! Our property is within short walking distance of many local attractions and business centers including but not limited to: The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell Center, The Franklin Institute, The National Constitution Center, Liberty Place, Jefferson Hospital, University of Penn Hospital, Walnut Street Theater, numerous eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing