We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction and this is the best you can do...really!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Airport
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a MCY that is undergoing a major renovation o to install the new MCY bistro. The place was under construction and a real mess. Temp check in was not well thought out. Looked like a storage closet conversion. Date we checked in room key making software was having a big issues and they had to take you to your room and let you in. Supposed to deliver keys that worked later but never received ours. They really could have done a better job if they were planning on staying open during this construction, perhaps a free breakfast or something for all the inconvenience. To get from my room to the temp check in room was a huge maze. Somethings not right here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Checked in around midnight for one night stay in August 2011. Room was freezing cold with air conditioning that would not stop. Staff member came and supposedly "fixed" it. Woke up at 3:30am with room at 87 degrees and hot air pouring out. Another staff member came and said first staff member did not fix it right - duh! Room took well over an hour to cool off because even once AC came on fan would only run on low. All this on top of hotel under construction and staff very pokey. Would never return period.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

During our stay the hotel was undergoing renovations (Aug 2011). I didn't find this disclosed anywhere.
The first floor was very noisey, although our room was on the fourth- and we were not disturbed by the construction- i would guess those on the first floor and potentially second floor - weren't so pleased.
The area's under construction were what looked to be the main entrance lobby, and cafe (for breakfast).
The check-in was pleasant, fast, and the lady at the front desk, Barbra, was extremely nice and a pleasure to work with. We were given the option of floor, chose the 4th (4 floors in this hotel) to get away from the construction.
The room was of nice quality, flat screen tv, spacious bathroom, but the room overall seemed just a bit small- designed for two people basically.

The free internet was ethernet only- no wireless.

The breakfast we paid for was in a room that was cramped. The service during breakfast was mediocre at best.

There were two plates left when my girlfriend and I arrived for breakfast, those after us had to wait for new plates to come out in order to serve themselves.

There were no clean cups, we had to ask the young lady who was overseeing the service for beverages which she brought out promptly to us and with a smile, but the solution in my eyes would have to bring out clean cups for other guests not just us. The same goes for silverware.

Needless to say, the young lady overseeing the breakfast service seemed overwhelmed and inexperienced. But we got our breakfast, ate, enjoyed it and all was well. No 'real' issues.

Check out was smooth- and we were on our way.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matchu621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed there for recent business travel. Lobby and eating area completely under construction. Staff is friendly and has a good time at their job but it is all smiles and laughs and not much work getting done. OK, so their eating area is torn up so they had a "Bar B Q" out on the patio...it was just fake (soy) burgers and hot dogs with very little in the way of garnish....Yes, it was complimentary so I guess I shouldn't complalain but it was a great example of giving you something you really don't need that is of poor quality to make up for the lack of other decent ammenities. No other eating places near here except one Ruby Tuesdays. Not a pretty area of town and this was the priceiest hotel in the airport area....why? If you need to stay in the airport area stay at the Aloft.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1999Spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for a hockey tournament and it was our first time in Philadelphia. It was a perfect place to stay as a team. We've stayed at many many hotels over the years and we were very impressed with the staff at this hotel. From the front desk, the restaurant, the cleaning staff, to the security guy. Everyone was so friendly and after staying for a week we were pretty comfortable with everyone.
They are planning a big renovation in the lobby, even though I thought the lobby looked nice. The hotel was clean and fairly new. The pool and hot tub were nice and it was nice that they were open late. The workout room was fairly small, but the equipment was new and it was never overly busy. They have a washer and dryer that is available for guests, and I was surprised how busy they were. Three times that I tried using them there were people waiting and finally when I got to use them I ended up being very late finishing up my laundry and there was still someone waiting after me. That being the only complaint I'd say the stay was pretty uneventfull and great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zambonimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I would highly recommend the hotel with the caveat that the rooms are very very small. The rooms and the public areas are very well-maintained and the staff couldn't have been nicer.
There is a bar and a casual dinner menu available and even though we arrived just after they had closed the kitchen, they stayed late to prepare late night snacks for us. In fact every staff member was friendly and went out of his/her way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The staff was wonderful and tried to be helpful. We chose this location partially for the location and things like the pool/spa. Arrived to find the pool/spa were closed for renovations. The staff comp'ed us breakfast after I asked for it as a consolation.

We were assigned the 3rd floor, only floor with a suite left. Came back from night activities to find men in respirators walking around renovating
the bathrooms. The stench was HORRIFIC. No option given by the staff like a different Marriott to accommodate us, no other suite available in building, didn't have connector or two other rooms available?

I can't comfortable recommend the hotel to others - staff was as good as they could be the facility was not. How about staff explain these things on check in and let the guest make their own decision to stay or go elswhere

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavedog117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Philadelphia Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
0.5 mi away
Philadelphia Airport Marriott
Philadelphia Airport Marriott
#36 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-International Airport
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
1 mi away
Residence Inn Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Airport

Address: 8900 Bartram Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19153-3112
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £88 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual at the Courtyard Philadelphia Airport. Our newly renovated rooms are less than 2 miles from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), accessible via our complimentary shuttle. Stay in spacious suites that are a short drive from Center City Philadelphia and downtown Philly. Our open lobby with complimentary Wi-Fi allows you to switch seamlessly from work to relaxation and back. Easily access the latest news, weather and airport conditions via the GoBoard in the lobby at our Essington, PA, hotel. Dine in style at our on-site PHL restaurant, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R)., Serving healthy food and Starbucks(R) drinks in the morning and hearty meals and cocktails in the evening. Our newly renovated Philadelphia accommodations feature luxury Marriott bedding and intuitive work spaces that integrate technology. Two purpose-built meeting rooms are ideal for small conferences or events. Open all doors to productivity when you stay in our hotel near the Philadelphia airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Philadelphia Airport Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing