We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Chestnut Hill Hotel is exceptional in every way. When I walked through the door of the room, the first thing I did was snap a picture to send to my wife who could not accompany me. After hundreds of hotel stays over the years all over the country, there are few that stand out and fewer that I've taken the time to review online. In fact, this is my first. The elegance and comfort of the room cannot be overstated. The staff, the service, and the food were exemplary. I will definitely find a reason to return when my wife can come along.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Kevin J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. We are also pleased to hear you had such a memorable experience at the Hotel and are honored to be the first hotel you have reviewed. If you are willing to share the picture you took by uploading it to TripAdvisor, we would like to see it and share it with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again when your wife can join you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    94
    32
    17
    17
See reviews for
127
142
39
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I absolutely love everything about the newly renovated Chestnut Hill Hotel.The owner,staff, food, location, entertainment, style, and cleanliness make this the perfect place to stay! We have been going there for over fifteen years and can't wait to get back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D4527GMMariaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear D4527GMMariaR,

Thank you for continuing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel; we cannot wait to have you back again either! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every part of your experience. The staff takes great pride in providing excellent service and ensuring the Hotel is clean; we are happy this has made an impact on you. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utting am Ammersee, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Chestnut Hill Hotel is very well located in the middle of lively Germantown Avenue in the heart of Chestnut Hill. Many restaurants, shops, bars and banks are in walking distance. Parking behind the house.
The hotel is not a chain and privately run. Therefore it has lots of flair and atmosphere.
It is great that you need no car to get to restaurants or shops. To Philadelphia downtown the train takes 30 minutes.
In the same building are two restaurants, the french style "Paris" restaurant and the excellent Grill with outside sitting area. Next door is also the Chestnut Hill Farmers Market and a good salad fast food restaurant - very good food !
Employees, manager and owner are very friendly and help with everything. I stayed 2 weeks and felt soon at home.
The free continental breakfast is small but sufficient for a couple of days: Every day fresh fruit, fresh danish bakery, yoghurt and good coffee.
The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Airconditioning. Free WIFI.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the street seem to be a little louder than the backside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seglernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Seglernick,

Thank you for selecting the Chestnut Hill Hotel for your two-week stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience and that you had positive interactions with the employees, manager, and owner. It sounds like you had a chance to explore the quaint Chestnut Hill neighborhood and discover everything it has to offer. The Market at the Fareway has been newly renovated and is open Thursday (9-6), Friday, (9-6), and Saturday (8-5). Green Soul, located just steps away from the hotel, does serve excellent salads, wraps, sandwiches, and soups. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chestnut Hill hotel while we were doing a short visit to Philadelphia. The staff and room were very accommodating. We were placed in the building on top of the postoffice, and we couldn't have been happier. The style of our room was sophisticated and modern, yet had a cosy feel. The king size bed was great! Our room was clean, expertly made, and left us without want. The Chestnut Grill, the restaurant located in the hotel had great food and friendly service. Overall, the hotel served as a great base camp as we explored Chestnut Hill, as well as when we ventured into the city, as it is close to the train station up the street. After exploring we would come back and sit out by the beautiful water features and outdoor fireplace, which is a summer must!! We excitedly await the next trip we have up to Philadelphia, so we can stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etucker1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chestnut Hill Hotel on a bit of a lark. We were taking a simple, long weekend in the PHL area and picked the hotel on a whim. We couldn't have been more pleased! The property itself is spotless, well-maintained and a mix of classic and modern. Our room was actually kind of a 2 room mini-suite -- queen bed and a sitting room with couch and TV and desk. The appointments were perfect, clean and very well done. The property is in the midst of a lovely neighborhood filled with local shops and a handful of larger ones creating a perfect balance, all of it within walking distance. The hotel restaurant and the attached French bistro next door did a box office business on weekend nights so reserve early! Last but not at all least, everyone we dealt with on the staff was attentive without being overbearing, polite but definitely interested in our comfort and well-being. From the front desk clerk to the owner (who we met early Sunday morning while he was walking the property) couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely return now that we know about this hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Rick G,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you will be coming back. The staff prides itself on delivering a clean and comfortable stay; we are happy we were able to accommodate you. It is definitely a good idea to make reservations early at the French Bistro because it is a popular destination. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I live in Philadelphia, and to celebrate our 10 year anniversary, we decided to go to Chestnut Hill for the weekend, and we could not have been happier. We were greeted with refreshing cocktails as we checked in and a complimentary bouquet of flowers waiting in our room. We were staying in the carriage house and it was exceptional with stone walls, and amazing bed, and a claw-foot bathtub. The small details really made the hotel. The closets had the standard iron, and bathrobe, but also an umbrella in case it rained.

Dinner at the French restaurant Paris, next door was fabulous. The hotel made the reservations for us! After a long leisurely meal, we sat outside by the fountain and outdoor fire pit. Very romantic.

The next day the hotel gave us a walking map of the area to explore, some fantastic recommendations for breakfast "French Bakery" and an afternoon excursion to Morris Arboretum.

Overall- we had a remarkable time at this hotel, no small part because of the personal touch given by the owner. If you are a young professional couple looking for a beautiful relaxing weekend in Philadelphia, do yourself a favor and book the Chestnut Hill Hotel.

Room Tip: The Carriage House was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Benjamin W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel to celebrate your 10-year anniversary. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The owners take pride in the details and in adding a personal touch and we are glad you noticed and appreciated it. We hope that you will stay with us again and explore more restaurants in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In light of the high midtown hotel prices, the Chestnut Hill Inn was a good value. I was disappointed with the location of my room as it overlooked a flat roof with the a/c units. As another reviewer experienced, I dropped something under the bed and was grossed out by the filth. There was even a champagne cork under the bed. Other areas of the room could have been cleaner.

I don't think I would stay here again. It isn't a bad place, just not my cup of tea. And, yes, put a Keurig in the room! The coffee machine downstairs makes good coffee but it isn't always accessible.

I found it amusing and annoying that the TV guide channel never showed the current time listing. It was always 1/2 hour behind.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank arandomheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarduU, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Arandomheart,

We are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. Because we are a boutique hotel, all of our rooms are different as well as the views from them. In the future, it is possible to request a room overlooking Germantown Avenue or the Fareway. We understand your disappointment in and frustration with the cleanliness of your room. It is unacceptable that the room did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of implementing more rigorous housekeeping guidelines to ensure this does not happen again to any guests. Lastly, the coffee machine downstairs is accessible 24/7 and we apologize this information was not communicated to you at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philadelphia
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
569 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Property: Chestnut Hill Hotel
Address: 8229 Germantown Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19118-3446
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing