We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Jewel in the Hill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

The reviews did not lie. The hotel is on a cobblestone street. The hotel was easy to find, parking was a breeze, and check in was simple. The staff was happy to help with my luggage and the desk clerk was very welcoming. The attached restaurant was inviting and the food, service and wine was excellent. If you are looking for business or pleasure, this hotel really gives the personal touch with high end, inviting rooms. I would head back again to this htoel again any day!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    90
    32
    16
    15
See reviews for
111
128
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

WOW! What a fabulous, friendly, and charming hotel! If you are planning a trip to the Philadelphia area, you should plan a visit to the Chestnut Hill area, and make sure you stay at the Chestnut Hill Hotel to experieince committmend to customer service at its finest! I must admit that I am used to staying at larger hotel chains, so I was a bit hesitant to stay here for my business trip. However, I after reading the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor I figured I was in for a treat.

And what a treat it was! I had a wonderful time staying at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. Firstly, when I arrived at the hotel, the staff (owner and manager) greeted me and helped carry my bag to my room! How nice! Checking in was a breeze -- my room was ready to go when I arrived. The hotel decor itself was warm, cozy, and inviting. I believe the hotel recently underwent major renevations, so my room had (what seemed like to me) all new updated and modern bedroom furniture and bedding, as well as a very modern and trendy bathroom with an all-glass walk-in shower (with plenty of hot water too!) The bed was SUPER comfortable and there was plenty of desk space and a large flat panel TV.

The other perks of this charming place was the FREE wi-fi internet in the hotel rooms and FREE breakfast they offer in the mornings. The breakfast had a wide selction (bagels, waffel maker, ceral, boiled eggs, pastries, coffee, juice, and yougurt to name a few. There is also FREE parking for hotel guest which is another plus in my book.

The Chestnut Hill hotel has a great location in the Chestnut Hill area which has cobble stoned streets, plenty of sidewalks to stoll up and down, several "mom and pop" local restaurants and cafes, and local shops. If you need a recommendation for a place to eat be sure to ask the hotel manager for suggestions. He is a wealth of knowledge about the area, and he was truly one of the best examples of personalized and caring customer servive I have experienced in a long time! Be sure to check out the Chestnut Hill Farmers Market too, which is located directly behind the hotel (thus, a very short walking distance). The market has so many different types of food, fruits, vegetables, baked goods, and desserts from local restaurants, bakeries, and cafes. You won't go hungry!

Overall, I was very impressed wtih the attention to detail, personalized customer service, and the fabulous staff at the Chestnut Hill Hotel!!! I would absolutely stay here again when visiting the Philadelphia area, and you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here. I am looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docsurglace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCGM, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of the Chestnut Hill Hotel! Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and even more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Great place to spend the weekend! Stayed in newly renovated room with very comfy beds and beautiful bathroom. Computer area and workout facilty extra bonuses! Cute historic town with strolling friendly streets and lots of small shops to browse.
Only downfall for me was no soda machine but manager hand delivered a soda to my door so everything was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitsieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCGM, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of the Chestnut Hill Hotel! Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and even more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Used to live in Chestnut Hill and I love it. The Chestnut Hill Hotel makes me feel like I am back there again. I have never stayed in the annex, but I love the historic feel of the rooms in the hotel. Awesome upgraded bathroom with the best lighting I have ever observed in hotels of any price. The eclectic patterns of china and silverware in the breakfast room, all of which are classy fit well with the ambience of the hotel are almost matched by the great breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbmccorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCGM, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of the Chestnut Hill Hotel! Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and even more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your new family back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

I chose the Chestnut Hotel for my stay while visiting Arcadia University. They had a fabulous discount rate for Arcadia visitors for starters. I was totally impressed by the newly renovated room. The decor was so chic yet not overdone at the same time. Everything was absolutely perfect! Staff was very helpful with any requests I had. The area of Chesnut Hill is so great. Fun shops, delicious food...if you get a chance check out Tavern on the Hill (fantastic chicken philly "cheesesteak"). The hotel's own Chestnut Grill is delish as well! 15 minute drive to the King of Prussia Mall! About a $50 cab ride to the airport though, but they have a great relationship with a cab company (very nice driver). I had a fabulous stay and would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCGM, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of the Chestnut Hill Hotel! Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and even more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your new family back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This is a jewel of hotel nestled in historic Chestnut Hill. The renovations made during the past year makes this a top notch place to stay. The new breakfast room, The Bombay Room, is charming. There are antique china dishes and cups on every table and real silver. The breakfast was first rate including everything from authentic bagels to waffles to eggs and the best coffee. The service is top notch - the owner is even on site looking after guests and givng the place a european feel in its hospitality. The new fitness room has the latest equiptment, is spotless, and convenient. Charm exudes from every floor with historic framed photos. This makes it a mini museum of the area.
The location right on Germantown Ave makes for terrifc shopping in charming non cookie cutter stores. This is our second stay and definately the best due to facility improvements and plus people skills. We are two very fussy service oriented people who have traveld the world and like and appreciate good service and fine hotels. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkrevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCGM, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of the Chestnut Hill Hotel! Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and even more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your new family back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

This is my third stay in three years at the Chestnut Hill Hotel. Just a great place to keep coming back. As a frequent business traveler it is often a difficult decision to chose the local establishment rather than the large mega "frequent rewards" hotel. The staff has been nothing but helpful, and attentive. What a great surprise on this most recent trip to find newly renovated rooms, baths, and furniture. I will certainly keep coming back.
You just can't beat the value when needing a clean, easy to get to hotel in the Philadelphia area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCGM, General Manager at Chestnut Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of the Chestnut Hill Hotel! Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and even more importantly, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your new family back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Hotel

Property: Chestnut Hill Hotel
Address: 8229 Germantown Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19118
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Chestnut Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale boutique hotel located in the Northwestern section of Philadelphia featuring 36 deluxe accommodations and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chestnut Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Hill Philadelphia
Chestnut Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Hotel Chestnut Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing