We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Front desk staff (SPG) was very helpful, friendly, professional. Rooms were very nice, clean, and well designed (nice receptacle access on desk-top for electronics, ethernet cords, etc.). All expectations were met at this Sheraton. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fins50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Fins50:
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    353
    238
    78
    45
See reviews for
394
156
98
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Was in town for the IACP convention, was booked at the Sheraton by the IACP housing department, no way to book my own hotel everything was sold out,
“what a crap of an hotel” Sheraton should be embarrassed to have their name on this building!
Room had a terrible smell, dust everywhere, crappy shower, crappy toilet, fan was noisy and loud.
Beds were comfortable, room service was good, coffee in the room was great, front desk was extremely nice and helpful.

Would I ever stay here again…….not by choice, I feel for $199.00 you could stay more downtown at up-to-date boutique hotels for the same or even cheaper!

Room Tip: any other Hotel would be better than this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solkNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear SolkNewYork:
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. The condition and cleanliness of your guest room is not acceptable. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel. However, the lack of cleanliness of the guest room is unacceptable and would appreciate you connecting us directly so that that we can address this immediately.
We are pleased to hear that our front office team provided exceptional service and that you enjoyed our room service.
The next time that you are in Philly, we hope that you will be back to see the changes we are making to the facility. Please feel free to contact us at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 if you have any further comments or questions.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights last weekend. We were overall very pleased with our stay and service. Our room was clean, quiet and the beds were incredibly comfortable. Typical Sheraton beds! The room was made up each day and included Starbuck's coffee and plush towels with a large flat-screen TV. It was definitely not a budget hotel.

The hotel is convenient to the Penn and Drexel campuses with transportation always available - cabs, busses, subway all close-by. Front desk personnel were more than pleasant and well-informed. The hotel could use some updating and is not full service, i.e. no doorman, but room service is available and there is a restaurant and bar on premise. The hotel reminded me more of a typical European hotel. Great restaurants were within walking distance. It was a good value for the money, since center city hotels for the weekend were 2.5 x's as expensive per night or more!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDallasBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear CharlieDallasBoston:
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel's facility. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel because my daughter was attending a conference at UPenn. We arrived with our luggage in a taxi and there was no doorman to speak of who may help us. Is this because their guests are students or participants of workshops and have very little expectations of service?

And to make matters worse, our room was not cleaned the following day! My daughter and I left before lunch and came back at 10pm to find our bedroom the way it was when we left it. The following day, I requested the cleaning lady on our floor to make sure she did our room. She was asking me what time we left the day before. We have stayed in many hotels and have left the room late but we always returned to a clean room.

The bathtub/shower in our toilet was also not draining properly. I complained about this and I do not know if something was done because it was still clogged up to the time we left.

I stayed in Sheraton San Diego a few days before I flew to Philadelphia. The service there is exceptional while the service in this Philadelphia branch has to be improved.

I asked for directions from the front desk and this lady was just rattling off the information like a robot. I do not know if the quality of service and even the friendliness of the staff are low because they think that their guests are not discriminating. But nevertheless, I think we deserve more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear MyraJJ:
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While we appreciate your feedback, we are disturbed to learn of your disappointment. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. We truly apologize for this experience and we would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail so corrective action may be taken. Please connect with us directly at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com. We look forward speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Hotel is conveniently located close to Drexel and has a very good dim sum place in the lobby. There was no minibar or fridge to bring beverages in to the room. The room had a new rug smell which was oppressive but nothing seemed to have been updated in a very long time. The hotel was very friendly though and quiet.

Room Tip: Check and see if there is the chemical smell that my floor had. It wasn't terrible but was unple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear breckbmcq,
Thank you for writing a review of the hotel. It is nice to hear that you had the opportunity to experience our in-house restaurant. We have to agree that the dim sum is terrific!

We also appreciate your comments about the hotel not being updated in a long time. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel and it's services and ask kindly that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

If you have any futher comments, please feel free to connect with us at 215-387-800, 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandywine, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recently stated for one night and that was it on 09/30/2013. Let’s start off with no bell captain to help with luggage and very few employees. Place is VERY dated and so are the rooms. Enter the room 706 and smells of mold. Mold was located in the bathroom and the thermostat was so old and dirty I didn’t want to touch. Floor was dirty and there was a cock roach that came from a third world country sitting outside the door (didn’t mean to disrespect 3 world countries). This roach was a big as a mouse. The place was just awful.

Room Tip: Not a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Mark K:
There is truly no excuse for the incidents you relay in your posting. We appreciated you contacting us directly, as well, so that we could remedy the issues immediately. Please know that we have corrected and fixed the issues to ensure other guests are not subjected to the inconveniences you described. Again, w are very sorry and remain hopeful you will give us another chance on a future stay in Philly.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel location was okay. The hotel is very outdated and not worth the rate I paid for. I checked in around midnight and the front desk guy was very nice. His name was Maurice, his smile was friendly and warm, he took his time answering all my questions about the nearest restaurants, Philly tourists attractions and what is Philly known for beside their cheesesteaks. He was by far the best front desk person I came across while I enjoyed my stay at Sheraton. I will always remember him because of his warm smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Lynette R:
Thank you kindly for sharing your experience at our hotel and the excellent service you received from our team member, Maurice. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will improve and enhance the condition Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,368 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,273 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,064 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 86 in Philadelphia
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing