We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest managers and employees!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The nicest managers and employees!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We have 2 kids at upenn so visit 3-4 times per year. Over the years we have often stayed at the Sheraton and although I don't write many hotel reviews, I just had to say how nice the people who work at this hotel are! I have become familiar with Vinny, Chris, and Richard-all managers who are personable and kind. They go the extra mile and always make me feel like a valued customer. How refreshing! The location is super convenient and the self parking makes it easy to get your car without having to wait for valet. This outdoor hotel pool is also a nice thing when the weather is hot. This Sheraton is our go-to because the managers and employees ( bellmen really nice too!) all seem to care and appreciate our business and I really appreciate that!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsylev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Betsylev,
Thank you for taking the time to write of your wonderful experience with us! We truly appreciate your comments! Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We look forward to seeing you, again, soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    353
    238
    78
    45
See reviews for
394
156
98
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was there for a conference, but really appreciated this hotel because the staff was wonderful and everything worked. For me the efficiency of the hotel and the pleasant nature of the staff made all the difference. I needed to print something out on a deadline - no problem. All the hotel computers and printers worked flawlessly. In-room Wifi sizzled. I was able to rely on this hotel to meet my professional needs and that was great. Believe me, I have been in plenty of brand hotels where getting things to work can be a trial.

Ordered room service for more than reasonable prices and the meal was abundant, tasty, and all ingredients fresh. Starbucks coffee in the room is the real deal.

Bathrooms with marble floors and hot, hot water.

Samantha at the front desk is delightful, more than capable, terrific, and all the other superlatives you can think of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sconsetcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sconsetcop,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is a 30 usd yaxi drive away from the philadelphia airport and a 15 min walk from the amtrak railway station. If you want to take a car to JFK, you will need around two hours.
University city is of course right around the corner to get to Wharton and of course to all you need from books to beer and cheap food. Going to town is easy by subway and there are two stations just around the corner, so even if you do not like walking, there is a solution.
The hotel offered great help during check in and the concierge is there for you as well. Forget breakfast on club level. Selection is limited, but if you want to have a quick start in the morning, you might as well grab a coffee in the reception area or go straight to one of the shops outside.
Gym is also medium, but enough for a work out.
Rooms are fine and of good size. You will find everything you need to feel comfortable. Sleep quality could be better though, if the hotel had invested in more sound proof windows.

Room Tip: Wherever you stay, take the earplugs as the simple windows do not protect you from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear RSF15,
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel and it's services and ask kindly that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed at the club level and had a really big room which was great! Rooms were clean and comfortable and there was a walk in shower which was much appreciated! Location is basically no the Penn Campus which means there are some great little restaurants around at a reasonable price point. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarleyTauchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear CarleyTauchert,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We hope to host your stay again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton for 2 nights. We arrived around 07:00 but as a room was already available the receptionist immediately checked us in. This helpfulness and pleasant manner from the staff were noted throughout our stay.
The room itself was very spacious with a lot of room around the king size bed which was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were fully equipped and meticulously cleaned. The room was quiet.
We chose this hotel because one of us had to take the USMLE step 2CS test. The location was fantastic in this context - the test itself was held about 1 minute walk away (and there is some sort of discount for people taking the test - check out the AAMC site for the code). The hotel is located about 45 minutes walk from the Old City (the main area for tourism) but is quite close to several underground and bus lines and the walk itself is nice. It is also close to the Amtrak station where there are also car renting services.

We would definitely come back if we return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Blond C,
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fantastic location for anyone visiting Penn. Although the Lobby smelled a bit like stale smoke and furniture seemed old, but once upstairs, al was well with wonderful beds and bedding, outlets, bathroom etc. Staff super nice and helpful vis a vis storing luggage, giving directions, remembering us when we came to check out, etc.

Room Tip: Away from elevator is quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle98102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Seattle98102,
Thank you for posting your review. We truly appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We have refreshed the guest rooms recently and are continuing to make changes to the hotel. We hope you will be back to see more changes!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for recent visit to Upenn. Conveniently located 3 blocks north of the center of the campus.For a few $$'s more stayed on the Club level which entitles you to hors d' oeuvres in the afternoon and breakfast in the Am..$25.00 parking for 24 hours gets you unlimited ins and outs.Great room amenities..Who puts things like mouth wash,sewing kit ,tooth paste and tooth brush in your room these days.Sheraton does.

Room Tip: Get the club level for a few extra bucks.Especially if you have 2 or more people in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayforawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear awayforawhile:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an opporunity to experience one of our club level rooms. The club lounge is a great place to relax outside of your guest room and to enjoy continental breakfast at your leisure. We hope welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,368 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,273 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,067 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 86 in Philadelphia
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing