We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Rittenhouse Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveller rating
723
395
249
86
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
723
395
249
86
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef michaeluniversity citythe club loungenoodle housefront deskpenn's campusstreet stationfitness centerhousekeeping staffper daychecking inconvenient locationacross the streetbeds were comfortableenjoyed my stayfew blocksdrexel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,098 - 1,103 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Keeping this short and simple. Hotel is walking distance to Drexel Univ.

1. Beware of the 2 Water Bottles in the room. They are a bait to charge you $4. SHAME on Sheraton when other hotels do not even charge on this.

2. Wi-Fi is D I A L - U P speed. All it was missing was the Dial-up sound! iiiiing,orrrrrrrkkk,iiiiiinnnng, orrrrrkkkkk! It was sooooooooo slow and USELESS. Paging Sheraton IT and Operations Manager. Investing in a better Router is not that expensive and a great service to your guests paying hard-earned money.

3.Good indoor garage parking and as expected very tight space. A good test on your driving skills unless you are driving a FIAT or Mini Cooper. $25/night and a lot cheaper than what others would charge i.e. $45-50/night in downtown Philly.

4. Bathroom needs some updating and cleaining of what appears to be mold on the popcorn ceiling. Rm 824 to be exact.

5. No Breakfast

6. Pool is on the 7th Floor

7. Good location when visiting Philly. Downtown will cost you in the $170-$200's. Paid $130 using LastMinuteTravel.com.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Val V,
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. We truly apologize for the issues that you experienced with the Internet and condition of your guest room. We understand the inconvenience that slow Internet causes for all our guests and are working closely with our service provider to resolve the issue. We have also taken care of the conditions in the guest room and apologize that these items were not resolved prior to your arrival. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel and it's services and ask kindly that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. If you have any further comments, please feel free to connect with us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-8000, ext. 627.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Here for a convention so really didn't "choose" this hotel. Very nice reception and lovely room. We opted for the $20 upgrade that gives you access to a nicer room, very nice amenities, the fitness center, the pool and the club room on the top floor. It was well worth the $20 as we DID use all of the facilities. The complimentary breakfast on the club level was very nice and they had a good variety. We liked that the club level lounge was open 24/7. Would have liked some adult beverages there though, as the only hotel restaurant closes early and is very expensive. There was a microwave near the ice machine, on our floor, in case you needed it.
The gym was adequate for a vacation workout, and pretty much we had it to ourselves. The pool was nice and uncrowded too.
The parking was a bit ridiculous. $25 a night for guests. I think it should be more like $15...
All in all a nice stay, close to many cool restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Pay the $20 upgrade if offered....it is well worth it! We saved on breakfast alone just by being able to eat there and not have to leave the premises to go to a restaurant
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Lemon:
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for one night at the Sheraton and I am glad it was only one night. The rooms were in absolute tatters. Housekeeping could go a long way in doing their job better - the bath-tub was stained, a few other things in the bathroom in a very shaky state too. The only upside to the stay was the check-in staff - very pleasant. The hotel is situated a block away from the Penn university and there are numerous restaurants and cafe in the vicinity. I would not stay here again unless there was no other choice.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear jigiindia,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. While we are thrilled to hear that our front office team members provided pleasant service, we are disappointed to hear of the condition of your room. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we have the opportunity to take care of the issues that you encountered in your room. Please know that we are also in the process of enhancing he guest rooms and hope you will give us another chance to host you in the future. Please connect with our Guest Services Team at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com with any further comments.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very good value and comfortable hotel but the window was partly open and couldn't be closed. Noise from traffic was high and loss of a/c was evident. Noisy housekeeping staff early in the morning, chatting about their private lives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sybOney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear sybOney_10:
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.
We would love to discuss your experience further to have the opportunity to take care of the issue to prevent a similar situation from occuring. Please connect with us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-387-8000, ext. 627. We look forward to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very short walk to UPenn - just one block away. Also, very short walk to lots good bars and restaurants. One downside to hotel is the restaurant in the hotel is a Japanese restaurant and it closes at 9:30 - 10PM. So there is no where within the hotel to hang out if you want to be social. Good news is there are many places within walking distance. Here is a tip: if you forget something or need a little bite to eat there is a Wa Wa convenient store across the street that is open 24 hours.

The hotel was clean and the staff was nice. The wi-fi service was not very good. I would recommend staying here and would be back if I am in the area again. Ask for a higher floor with a view of the stadium.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room with a view of the UPenn Stadium
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Explr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Love2Explr,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews