We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of University district.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Franksville, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In the heart of University district.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton University City while attending to business at Penn. The hotel is within walking distance of all of Penn and Drexel. On a nice day we walked to the Liberty Bell.
The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. Included free Wifi (occasionally slow) and coffee. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Noise was not a problem.
Breakfast was not included, but there are several restaurants nearby including several Starbucks. There is a restaurant in the building, but we did not eat there. Recommend Sabrina's Café on 34th.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear johnrw52,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    361
    238
    78
    45
See reviews for
397
157
99
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For the last 5 years I've worked on the 4th of July. This year I wanted to see some fireworks. Locally, Tropical Storm Arthur was on his way. At the last minute my husband and I decided to travel to the home of Brotherly love. Yes, Philadelphia Freedom and the home of Rocky Balboa. My husband did an internet search for hotels and found the Sheraton in Philadelphia's University City. This hotel is centrally located and only a short walk to see the amazing fireworks over the Philadelphia Museum of Art. This hotel was welcoming, clean and pet friendly. The room was comfy, quiet and clean. All the extras that most hotels say they have in case you forget something; well the items were already in the room. The hotel has a Chinese restaurant which we didn't try because right outside the front door there was an amazing pizza cafe. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katzret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear katzret:
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your experience with us! Comments and feedback are most often shared when in the negative form, so it is a pleasure to share these motivating statements with our staff whenever we have the opportunity. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The rooms are nice and clean, decent size. However, the rooms do not have a mini fridge and you are charged to have one in your room even if it is for medical purposes. I have to be away from my infant daughter for several nights and have to have a fridge to store pumped milk. It's disgraceful that a hotel would charge you to have an amenity that is vital to storing breast milk for an infant. If you are a breast feeding mom who will need to store milk, stay at the Hilton a few blocks away, the mini fridge is provided for free!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Pam0509:
Thank you for sharing your comments. We do regret that you were initially charged for a refrigerator for infant milk. A management team member did remove the charge after being notified of your needs. We do understand the importance and necessity of refrigerators for medical needs and do apologize for the mistake. We are reviewing the policy with all team members. We do hope you enjoy the remainder of your stay with us and in Philadelphia. If you have any further comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to connect with our Guest Services Team at 215-387-8000, ext. 627.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

3rd stay at hotel since 2010. Hasn't changed much. Given a room on the club floor with great views. Air conditioning still a little noisy. Unfortunately there was no fridge. Located near UPenn and the hospitals. Great chinese restaurant Sang Kee within the hotel. Good restaurants can be found along nearby Sansome Street too.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeWangLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Keeping this short and simple. Hotel is walking distance to Drexel Univ.

1. Beware of the 2 Water Bottles in the room. They are a bait to charge you $4. SHAME on Sheraton when other hotels do not even charge on this.

2. Wi-Fi is D I A L - U P speed. All it was missing was the Dial-up sound! iiiiing,orrrrrrrkkk,iiiiiinnnng, orrrrrkkkkk! It was sooooooooo slow and USELESS. Paging Sheraton IT and Operations Manager. Investing in a better Router is not that expensive and a great service to your guests paying hard-earned money.

3.Good indoor garage parking and as expected very tight space. A good test on your driving skills unless you are driving a FIAT or Mini Cooper. $25/night and a lot cheaper than what others would charge i.e. $45-50/night in downtown Philly.

4. Bathroom needs some updating and cleaining of what appears to be mold on the popcorn ceiling. Rm 824 to be exact.

5. No Breakfast

6. Pool is on the 7th Floor

7. Good location when visiting Philly. Downtown will cost you in the $170-$200's. Paid $130 using LastMinuteTravel.com.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Val V,
Thank you for the great feedback you have provided. This level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences. We truly apologize for the issues that you experienced with the Internet and condition of your guest room. We understand the inconvenience that slow Internet causes for all our guests and are working closely with our service provider to resolve the issue. We have also taken care of the conditions in the guest room and apologize that these items were not resolved prior to your arrival. Please know that we are in the process of changes that we believe will enhance the Hotel and it's services and ask kindly that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. If you have any further comments, please feel free to connect with us directly at sheraton@sheruniv.com or 215-387-8000, ext. 627.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Here for a convention so really didn't "choose" this hotel. Very nice reception and lovely room. We opted for the $20 upgrade that gives you access to a nicer room, very nice amenities, the fitness center, the pool and the club room on the top floor. It was well worth the $20 as we DID use all of the facilities. The complimentary breakfast on the club level was very nice and they had a good variety. We liked that the club level lounge was open 24/7. Would have liked some adult beverages there though, as the only hotel restaurant closes early and is very expensive. There was a microwave near the ice machine, on our floor, in case you needed it.
The gym was adequate for a vacation workout, and pretty much we had it to ourselves. The pool was nice and uncrowded too.
The parking was a bit ridiculous. $25 a night for guests. I think it should be more like $15...
All in all a nice stay, close to many cool restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Pay the $20 upgrade if offered....it is well worth it! We saved on breakfast alone just by being abl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Lemon:
Thank you kindly for sharing your positive experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on making every guest experience an enjoyable one and are thrilled when we receive feedback that enables us to know we have succeeded. We truly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Sheraton and I am glad it was only one night. The rooms were in absolute tatters. Housekeeping could go a long way in doing their job better - the bath-tub was stained, a few other things in the bathroom in a very shaky state too. The only upside to the stay was the check-in staff - very pleasant. The hotel is situated a block away from the Penn university and there are numerous restaurants and cafe in the vicinity. I would not stay here again unless there was no other choice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear jigiindia,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. While we are thrilled to hear that our front office team members provided pleasant service, we are disappointed to hear of the condition of your room. We would love the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we have the opportunity to take care of the issues that you encountered in your room. Please know that we are also in the process of enhancing he guest rooms and hope you will give us another chance to host you in the future. Please connect with our Guest Services Team at 215-387-8000, ext. 627 or sheraton@sheruniv.com with any further comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,379 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,307 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,143 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A reimagined Philadelphia hotel on a historic campus. Located in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus, Sheraton Philadelphia University City is within walking distance of iconic attractions and entertainment. Our newly reimagined hotel offers warm, family-friendly hospitality and unique social spaces. We are immersed in the culture and history of Philadelphia - from museums that trace world civilizations to local eateries and elite universities. Unwind and explore the best of the city within moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing