We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & perfect for my needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
2 reviews
“Friendly & perfect for my needs”
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Location was perfect, since I was walking to the Children's Hospital each day. I found the hotel lobby charming and the staff very friendly. My room was clean & the computer was a perk. Found it a bit slow but was happy to have one in the room for emails. The bed was very comfortable, with lots of pillows. Only negative was that the air conditioner was very loud . Ate in their dining room in the evenings and enjoyed scrumptious meals and great service.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    349
    236
    78
    43
See reviews for
383
156
97
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I've stayed at this hotel many times, most recently two years ago. It's decent -- not terrible but never very impressive either. If you're visiting Penn or Drexel or one of the smaller nearby schools, the location is great -- but if you want to tour the city, you should only stay here if you get a great deal.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The Sheraton University City exceeded my expectations when I stayed here for one weeknight in mid-May 2009.

Well-maintained, somewhat older business hotel, clearly making every effort to stay current. The lobby is nice, with seating, though the fake-wood floor looked a bit too fake. My two-double-bed room was clean and modern, with a flat-screen TV and -- get this -- not just free Wifi in the room, but an actual PC with free internet, as well as an excellent hub for USB or other devices. I had the sense that this may be a new convenience Sheraton is rolling out. Bathroom was tidy and in good repair, though not recently redecorated, based on the old-style square tiles.

My (negotiated-contract) rate included breakfast. The appealing menu yielded a much larger and better than average omelet. I believe all the breakfast items were in the $10-12 range if you were paying cash; I've had much worse breakfasts for much more money at many Hiltons, Sheratons, Marriotts, etc, so this was a definite plus.

Location: Excellent -- a major plus. 6 to 8 blocks from the 30th Street Station (main Amtrak station in Philadelphia). You could walk it, though they aren't short blocks; I took a cab ($8 including tip). Directly adjacent to the Penn campus, three or so blocks from the Locust Walk main drag. Also very near the Drexel campus, and a few blocks from the major hospitals (Penn and Children's Hospital of Philadelphia). Starbucks down the block, multiple restaurants in the area, and a Wawa convenience store across the street.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tahl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed for two nights at Sheraton University City while my father had a short stay in the University of Pennsylvania Hospital for minor surgery.

We chose this hotel based on its location (just a few blocks from the hospital), its value (we paid about $160 a night including tax) and available parking in its garage ($20 bucks a night).

The rooms are a good size, and each comes with a large desk, rolling chair, and an in room computer with free internet access. The internet access was good, with only one occasion where it ran a little slow. The beds were comfortable, and had ample pillows and blankets.

Bathroom was a little small, and if you have more than two people in the room, you'll need to give yourselves enough time in the morning to get ready one by one. Water pressure was good, and hot water was abundant.

The room was pretty clean, with a few bumps and marks on the walls, but nothing serious. The rest of the hotel was also clean and comfortable, including the front desk/lobby area. Staff was friendly, but we didn't have any major issues or questions.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, The Pallet, and found it to be good. Not really any pricier than elsewhere in the area, and the food quality, portion size and service was good.

The hotel offers room service, and has a fitness center and pool, none of which we used. Parking in the garage was easy, although it is a small garage with fairly tight corners and spaces. But we managed ok in our mid-size SUV.

TIP: Although we didn't use it, we did find a really good deal on the hotel's website. On the left side under packages, choose the Philly Zoo option, and book through that page. You can get an upgrade to a junior suite, plus zoo tickets and all the other extras starting at $150 a night plus tax/parking. Don't know how long its good for.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringCentralFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I recently stayed at this property and had a very nice experience. The staff was friendly and efficient, and my room had a good view into the city. teh wi-fi worked wonderfuly, and the front seak staff didn't once complain when I asked them to fax document after document (I was trying to put a contract on a house.)
The property seemed well maintained, and the location is great if you have business at Penn, Drexel, or the nearby Medical Center. Since it is right next to a college, there are numerous diverse dining options within walking distance, and the staff pointed me in the right direction.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJR0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerMJ, Owner Representative at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2009
Thank you for your kind comments! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We value our guests and always want to know how they enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you again!


Deanna Gonzalez |
Guest Services Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia University City

3549 Chestnut Street I Philadelphia I Pennsylvania I 19104
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

The Sheraton University Hotel is located in a perfect location if you are visiting UPenn. The hotel is clean, and the rooms are comfortable. Internet is included although it is very slow. Overall, the hotel is what one would expect from a Sheraton except the service was not up to Sheraton standards. On three separate occasions, the front desk staff seemed completely uninterested in assisting guests. The hotel should send its front desk staff to the hotel school next door to learn that poor customer service will keep customers from returning to an otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

The room was clean and the work station was excellent. Flat screen TV with HD was nice. Nathrrom clean and well stocked. Freindly staff, quick check in and helpful.
I will be back. A good spot for the downtown business travelerr.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mach92flyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,341 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,331 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,926 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
782 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing