We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, CT
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton earlier this week and found the hotel only average and below average for what one would expect from a Sheraton.
Positives: Great location if you are visiting the UPenn. Nice that there was free internet and the room had a nice flat screen TV. We paid on Priceline and at 70 for the night this was a great value, but if we had paid rack rate (249 the night we were there), we would have been very disappointed in the quality provided for the price of the room.
Negatives: The lobby and hallways were not vacuumed, cleaned. The bathroom was clean but had old wallpaper, fraying at the edges, cheap tub. The AC was loud. There was no luggage cart available when we arrived to bring our luggage up. We were there for a Sunday breakfast and you had to purchase a buffet breakfast or order "takeout" and then eat it at the table. Breakfast was overpriced for what was offered and restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, felt a little shabby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear CTtraveler53,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear of the negative experiences that you had with us. This is not indicative of our services. I have reviewed your comments with our teams. Our Director of Housekeeping is reviewing the schedule of public areas' service times to ensure that they are serviced on a regular basis. Our restaurant is also reviewing their breakfast options for in-room dining.

Please feel free to connect with me by emailing sheraton@sheruniv.com and refer to me, Deanna Gonzalez, if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we will take action. I hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    326
    224
    74
    41
See reviews for
365
150
95
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I have stayed in many, many hotels over the years and this was definitely towards the bottom end.

To start off with the positive, the room was clean, although the bathroom had some strange sticky stains around the bath, hence the 4 *'s for cleanliness. The fitness centre isn't bad, but does need some updating. The pool looked small but nice, but strangely doesn't open till 10am.

Otherwise, very poor. The staff were unfriendly to the point of rudeness - no smiles, no eye contact, no service outside the absolute minimum.

There is free internet in every room, but this was slow to the point of being unusable. I eventually resorted to texting colleagues rather than emailing them.

The four available lifts are woefully inadequate for the number of rooms, so I found I usually had to wait for at least three lifts before finding one that wasn't already jammed full of people.

There's nowhere to eat breakfast except your room, and the prices are an absolute rip-off - $11 for a couple of eggs? Despite having the whole trip paid by my employer, I could not bring myself to pay this.

What else? Bedside lights did not work. Bottles of water in the room cost $4 each.

Finally, despite my stay being paid for in advance, they tried to charge the entire cost of the room to my credit card again (taken on check-in for 'incidentals') after my departure. - Fortunately declined by my card company since I hadn't told them I was going to the US.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gav12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear gav12345,

We appreciate you posting your review of your stay. I do apologize that you encountered several issues during your stay. We value all responses and address the items directly with our teams.

We know that our elevators are an inconvenience at this time. We are updating each elevator with new rollers and cables for faster service. During your time of stay, we did have an elevator out of service for renovations, which added to the longer than normal wait time. We hope to have all elevators fully restored within the next 2 weeks.

Guests may enjoy breakfast in our restaurant or in the comfort of their guest room. The restaurant team will review the menu pricing for room service based on your comments.

We will also review our service standards with our team members to ensure that they are providing the best and friendliest service at all times.

Again, thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

4 positive points first! 1. Very good location if you are visiting the University 2.Chinese Restaurant is surprisingly very good and 3. Fitness center is great.4.Free internet in room.
Ok onto the not so good points! Parking at hotel was expensive at $20 per day/night for self park. We had 2 rooms with 2x queen beds- unfortunately hotel did not have connecting rooms so our rooms were across corridor from each other - this is tricky when you are traveling with children. Rooms were clean but quite cramped and air conditioners were noisy. Breakfast on the club level floor was terrible the first 2 days of our stay - had to clear tables to sit at, no plates,cups, trash bins overflowing, coffee finished and no food left at 8.30am, even though bfast served till 9.30! After complaining twice to the front desk it did get better for the remainder of our stay. Front desk managers (apart from 1 gentleman) seemed disinterested and did not even apologise when we explained our problem even at check out when female manager asked if our stay was ok she completely ignored my comments ! We have stayed at many Sheraton Hotels but this hotel definitely relies on attracting University clients due to location and sadly not for service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Dear Katytraveller,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments of your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our new restaurant and the fitness center.

We do apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request for connecting rooms during your stay with us. The hotel does offer connecting rooms, which are ideal for families traveling together.

The club lounge continental breakfast has been reviewed by the food and beverage team. We are reviewing the appropriate service levels for the lounge to ensure that the breakfast is fully stocked and replenished during service times.

We do hope that you will stay with us, again, the next time that you are in Philadelphia to see the adjustments we have made to the issues you have noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

If you are looking for a comfortable and closeby hotel to the UNiversity of Pennsylvania.. this is it! Clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PremiereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2010
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate you posting your comments about your stay. We strive to ensure that our guests are comfortable and cleanliness is always a priority. Our location on Penn's campus is unique~there are many shops, local restaurants, museums and much more to do within University City. We do hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

We were visiting UPenn and so looked at the Inn @ Penn (Hilton) vs Sheraton. Not only Hilton is more expensive but it also doesn't have a parking garage which was a selling point for us. Another advantage for staying at the Sheraton was a computer in the room which was indispensable for my teenager. The service was courteus but brief. You can tell that they are used to a high turnover rate. We booked with a "Campus Visit" rate and were promised a welcome gift bag but never received it.

The room was outdated, with hair on the bathroom floor, old fixtures and stained carpet. It did not make a bid difference for us since we only stayed there one night. Their fitness center is typical for a Sheraton, clean and roomier than usual and was deserted at 8:00 pm.

Overall, its location is the best selling point since it is within minutes of UPenn, and a half an hour walk to the Center City.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

The only plus of this hotel is location close to the University of Pennsylvania.
It is highly overpriced hotel with old furnitures, vanities, carpets and tiles; old and very noisy air-conditioning. Only lobby area is OK, all others are just bad.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Our teenage daughters are interested in attending the University of Pennsylvania, so we stayed at this hotel while visiting the school. The location is perfect - right next to campus, just a two minute walk from the main quads. There are many excellent restaurants and interesting shops in the neighborhood, and lots of campus security/city police so it felt very safe even at night.
There had been a mix-up with our reservation (which may have been my fault), and our two rooms were not adjacent. The front desk clerk went above & beyond to correct the problem, moving us to upgraded rooms on the concierge floor so we could be together.
The concierge floor features free in-room Internet (sadly, very slow speeds) and free printing (color printer). They also have free breakfast (a.m.) & hors d'oeuvres (p.m.), which were both delicious. Breakfast included fresh fruit (blueberries, melons, pineapple) as well as cereals, muffins, bagels, and a different hot dish every day. There is also an espresso machine to fuel your caffeine needs. Evenings included gourmet cheeses, Buffalo wings, and bacon-wrapped scallops.
Our rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Very quiet and clean and with especially comfortable beds.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AKdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#21 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing