We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #51 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had a good stay for a great price for an anniversary trip. The staff were so friendly and helpful and it was in the perfect location downtown. They should warn people about the 50 dollar fee they hold for damages until check out, but other than that I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angeleyes12323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear angeleyes12323,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are thrilled you had such a great stay and look forward to connecting with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    772
    580
    289
    214
See reviews for
436
490
131
904
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently stayed at this Sheraton for Two Nights. This is a larger older conference center hotel. The front desk clerks were very kind to accommodate our request for a view. With a location just on the edge of center city with dated furnishings, this was an average stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TelecommuteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear TelecommuteTraveler,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad our team was able to please you, but obviously dissapointed that you found your stay average. We hope we have another chance in the future.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

the location is wonderful however service is poor and they NEVER follow up with what they say they will. Cards not working, no access to club lounge as promised on 2 separate visits, crowded lobby, crowded bar with tv's so high you cant see without craning your neck. need i go on? Windows dont open so no fresh air. Dark halls.
Would not stay there unless i absolutely had to. One positive is the beds are comfortable. NO microwave or fridge either.
~

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Jill B,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are very dissapointed we were unable to meet your expectations. As you can see from many other reviews, our team is typically great and we look forward to using your feedback to make any necessary improvements.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The Sheraton Downtown Philly is a nice enough hotel, with a location convenient to the convention center, museums, and restaurants. Rooms were average. My room on the 23rd floor had a nice view. Elevators are slow at times so leave extra time to get down to the lobby during rush hour. There is a decent fitness center and a Starbucks in the lobby which is convenient.

One drawback to the property: the hotel has not street presence. The main entrance and carport sit between 17th and 16th streets in what would be an alley. A sign on either street would be helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thinktankjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear thinktankjp,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay overall; we'll certainly assess our signage to ensure it is sufficient. We appreciate your feedback and hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I usually have a pleasant stay at this hotel, but last night made me realize I will never stay here again.

I am a Gold Starwoods member and my company stays at the hotel quite often, so I would expect at least a reasonable stay. Here is what happened:
-I was placed in a room directly outside the ice machine which results in tremendous noise (not what you want the night before a major client meeting!).
-The heater in the hallway went off around midnight but something must have been wrong. It sounded like someone was vacuuming and was incredibly loud the rest of the night.
-I tried to call the front desk to let them know that something was going on with the heat. However, no one picked up my call - tried front desk, guest services, concierge, etc. Finally had to call from my cell phone to get through to the main hotel number.
-I then decided I would try to use the TV to help me get to bed since there was so much noise. Unfortunately the remote did not work!
-Finally, I ordered coffee in the morning due to a sleepless night. Unfortunately, the cup was dirty! I asked for a new cup and was told the coffee would be taken off my bill - however, no one followed through on that and I was charged.
Overall a really unacceptable sequence of events. With so many SPG hotels in Philly, would definitely stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Mayuri S,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are dissapointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your latest visit. Many of the issues mentioned are certainly manageable on our end, and we look forward to using your feedback to address any deficiencies. We hope that you give us another chance if you return to our city.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed on the 20th floor and enjoyed an excellent view of Philadelphia. The indoor pool and fitness center is an excellent plus! I tried to order a movie but it did not work. Sheraton fixed the problem and comped the movie. I also enjoyed the drinks at the bar (the food was okay). I would definitely stay at the Sheraton again. THE LOCATION IS PRIME!!!!! Walking distance to "LOVE" and the Reading Terminal. A great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your great review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are glad you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to connecting with you next time you return to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent front desk clerk who gave us great local suggestions. Rooms exactly as described and clean. Parking extra which is why I deducted a star. However we found weekend garaged parking for $5/day next door (vs hotel parking of $20). Would definitely recommend again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debradonovan2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Director of Front Office at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear debradonovan2001,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! Thank you for recognizing our front desk for their service, we consider them the best in the city. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Paul Bolhuis
Director of Front Office
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Address: 201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing