We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cool, for the price anyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, it was okay, prime location, got a good price on Priceline. .., but yeah, nothing special.
Elevators always had a line, had to take the
stairs.
The pool was always warm, both the water and the area. Nice fitness center as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cee_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear SophieTheExplorer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. You certainly highlighted a few areas for us to look into and we look forward to making any necessary improvements. We hope we have another chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Amazingly good price for downtown over a holiday. Hotel is well situated -- close to transportation, easy on easy off the highway and within walking distance of lots of attractions. Check in always seems to have a line, but the staff was efficient and the waits short. Nice lobby with a decent bar. Rooms are tired, but clean and more than acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Lynne S,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. The hotel will begin renovations of our guest rooms and corridors in the next few months and are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Sheriton is on North 17th St. It's a short walk to center city. Suburban Station, and a SEPTA train to the airport is a few blocks due south, but might be difficult with a lot of bags. The rooms were comfortable, and the lobby restaurant had a nice breakfast buffet and was reasonably priced. I am an SPG member, and had a speedy check in. The room was clean, although the property is a little tired overall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Charles B,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Your feedback is appreciated, as it is a value tool for improvement.The hotel will begin renovations of our guest rooms and corridors in the next few months and are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was In town for AFSP Overnight Out of Darkness Walk. When we arrived at 11:00, it was very busy with the NHL Hockey Draft event in town. My friends were able to get in their rooms right away, but unfortunately, my room was not ready until after 3:30. They did let me check my bags so I could go out and explore the City. When I returned at 3, because that is check in time, I just sat in lobby until they called me, not a huge deal. But could be annoying if on a schedule. The rooms was clean, standard with comfy beds and pillows. No refrigerator or microwave. Toiletries were average. There was an indoor pool, no hot tub and fitness room. One complaint was my friend slipped and fell in the shower because tub was slick. When I got my shower, I could see how it could be something you should be wary of. We spent a short while at the bar and it was enjoyable. Breakfast buffet is average and is $17.99

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CSCfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear CSCfromPA,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Many of the situations mentioned are certainly not to our high standards and we are currently addressing the concerns you have brought to our attention. If possible I would like an opportunity to discuss your experience further with you - I invite you to please connect with me at jennifer.tang@sheratonphiladelphiadowntown.com or call me directly at 215.448.2726.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is in the middle of Downtown Philly! A walk away from everywhere if you want to pay for parking once. Rooms were very clean and homey! The only thing that hindered this review from getting 5 stars is the check in times. Be aware!! IF YOU ARE NOT A SPG MEMBER YOU WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR A WHILE TO GET A ROOM. We were told our check in time was at 3pm, we booked through priceline. We were not given a courtesy call to inform us of the late checkout for SPG members which is 4p. We arrived at 6pm and had to wait an hour to get checked into a room. I had to change plans on my bday weekend just to accomodate this. I was very angry and if I could have gotten my money back from priceline I would have cancelled and went and stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaicanChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear JamaicanChic,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for your inconveniences during your check in experience. You certainly didn't experience a stay that is to our normal standards. We look forward to using your feedback to make necessary improvements. We hope we have another chance to connect with you in the near future.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I found the staff at the Sheraton Philadelphia to be very welcoming and efficient. In particular, Avril at the front desk and Stella Gore, the cashier at the Starbucks concession -- both really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Kudos to the management for having such motivated and professional employees.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepid888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear intrepid888,

Thank you for the FIVE STAR review! We're thrilled that Stella and Avril were able to make such an impact on your stay and we look forward to recognizing them for another job well done. We hope to connect with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We checked in at 11 in the am after flying in very early in the morning. They had a room ready for us. The room was very nice and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect at a top rated hotel. The concierge was very helpful in giving us directions to the various attractions we were trying to get to even with the NHL Draft going on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellenmjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Ellenmjax,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We are always thrilled when an experienced traveler such as yourself leaves us such reassuring feedback. We hope to see you back in Philadelphia again soon!

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,410 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: £90 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb travel experience awaits at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. Ideally situated in Center City and located within walking distance of most of Philadelphia's top attractions, including the Franklin Institution and the Pennsylvania Convention Center, we're the perfect location for seeing all that the city has to offer. Recently redesigned, our hotel features upgrades to our indoor pool, meeting spaces and our state-of-the-art Sheraton fitness center. We also boast comfortable, spacious accommodations and several delicious on-site dining options. Whether it's for work or play - or perhaps a bit of both - we look forward to hosting your visit at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing