We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Philadephia. Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #52 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Philadephia. Great staff!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location, right in the heart of downtown Philadelphia. The big advantage of staying here is that you have unlimited in and out parking. So you can walk all around downtown Philly, but can get in your car and drive out to go get a cheesesteak or whatever you wish. Besides being a great hotel, the staff is the best. The employee Avril was so helpful to me whenever I would need assistance. I have stayed at this hotel ten times and will return there again and again. Also, seeing the fireworks on the Fourth of July right from my hotel room was an amazing bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We are glad that you had such a great stay! Avril is one of our brightest stars and we look forward to recognizing her for her efforts. We hope to see you back in Philadelphia again soon!

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    804
    609
    309
    224
See reviews for
465
504
138
953
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. It is close to the river for walking, art museum, shopping, and fairly close to the Italian market. The check in and out was very speedy. My only complaint was the carpets were slightly dirty!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleVaudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear MicheleVaudt,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and certainly look forward to addressing your feedback on the guest room cleanliness. We hope to connect with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, it was okay, prime location, got a good price on Priceline. .., but yeah, nothing special.
Elevators always had a line, had to take the
stairs.
The pool was always warm, both the water and the area. Nice fitness center as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cee_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear SophieTheExplorer,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. You certainly highlighted a few areas for us to look into and we look forward to making any necessary improvements. We hope we have another chance to welcome you back to our hotel.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Amazingly good price for downtown over a holiday. Hotel is well situated -- close to transportation, easy on easy off the highway and within walking distance of lots of attractions. Check in always seems to have a line, but the staff was efficient and the waits short. Nice lobby with a decent bar. Rooms are tired, but clean and more than acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Lynne S,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. The hotel will begin renovations of our guest rooms and corridors in the next few months and are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Sheriton is on North 17th St. It's a short walk to center city. Suburban Station, and a SEPTA train to the airport is a few blocks due south, but might be difficult with a lot of bags. The rooms were comfortable, and the lobby restaurant had a nice breakfast buffet and was reasonably priced. I am an SPG member, and had a speedy check in. The room was clean, although the property is a little tired overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Charles B,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Your feedback is appreciated, as it is a value tool for improvement.The hotel will begin renovations of our guest rooms and corridors in the next few months and are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I was In town for AFSP Overnight Out of Darkness Walk. When we arrived at 11:00, it was very busy with the NHL Hockey Draft event in town. My friends were able to get in their rooms right away, but unfortunately, my room was not ready until after 3:30. They did let me check my bags so I could go out and explore the City. When I returned at 3, because that is check in time, I just sat in lobby until they called me, not a huge deal. But could be annoying if on a schedule. The rooms was clean, standard with comfy beds and pillows. No refrigerator or microwave. Toiletries were average. There was an indoor pool, no hot tub and fitness room. One complaint was my friend slipped and fell in the shower because tub was slick. When I got my shower, I could see how it could be something you should be wary of. We spent a short while at the bar and it was enjoyable. Breakfast buffet is average and is $17.99

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CSCfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear CSCfromPA,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Many of the situations mentioned are certainly not to our high standards and we are currently addressing the concerns you have brought to our attention. If possible I would like an opportunity to discuss your experience further with you - I invite you to please connect with me at jennifer.tang@sheratonphiladelphiadowntown.com or call me directly at 215.448.2726.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McGuire AFB, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is in the middle of Downtown Philly! A walk away from everywhere if you want to pay for parking once. Rooms were very clean and homey! The only thing that hindered this review from getting 5 stars is the check in times. Be aware!! IF YOU ARE NOT A SPG MEMBER YOU WILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR A WHILE TO GET A ROOM. We were told our check in time was at 3pm, we booked through priceline. We were not given a courtesy call to inform us of the late checkout for SPG members which is 4p. We arrived at 6pm and had to wait an hour to get checked into a room. I had to change plans on my bday weekend just to accomodate this. I was very angry and if I could have gotten my money back from priceline I would have cancelled and went and stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicanChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear JamaicanChic,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for your inconveniences during your check in experience. You certainly didn't experience a stay that is to our normal standards. We look forward to using your feedback to make necessary improvements. We hope we have another chance to connect with you in the near future.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,342 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
952 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing