We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms. Quiet and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #52 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Clean rooms. Quiet and good food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here 4 days for business.
Check was quick and easy. Room as large and clean.
Bathroom was clean with good hot water and lots of high end toiletries.

Food at the bar was surpassing good for a hotel and the bartenders were attentive.
The business area with computers was in the lobby near the bar so there was lots of noise.

Check was was simple.
Over all a good place to stay.
Easy 10 minute walk to city hall area and subway stops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear luvmybasset,

Thank you for the wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We are glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in your future travels to Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    804
    611
    309
    224
See reviews for
465
505
139
954
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotels, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and the room was clean. The only issue was that the shower didn't seem to turn to hot and there was no plug in the bath tub. The lighting was also quite dim in the room as the only light sources were table lamps. Ceiling lights would have been better.

Be prepared to do a lot of walking as everything is quite spread out and hard to find.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Althea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Althea S,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and certainly look forward to addressing your feedback on the overall conditon of our guestroom. We hope to connect with you again soon.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed there 1 night in July 2014 - with my wife and 2 kids. We did not spend a lot of time there - it was just a place to crash while we spent 1-2 days in Philadelphia.

Overall, we liked the hotel. In years past, we would stay at the Westin, which is about 1 mile down the street. But this time we stayed here simply because it was a lot cheaper. The hotel was nice and clean. Parking was very easy - we stayed on a Saturday night so we found street parking right outside the hotel so we did not have to pay to park (I think hotel charged $20 or more per night). We arrived early (around 11am) and the hotel was very accommodating in checking us in early (my wife is a SPG Gold member so that may have had something to do with it). That helped a lot since we could drop off stuff, clean up, and then head out for the day.

Room was nice size and bathroom was decent too. Overall a decent room. Nothing fancy but again, served its purpose.

They also gave us a late check-out but again, I think that was because we have Gold status.

The one negative about this hotel was the mattresses were really awful. I just think the mattresses are old and need replacing. I usually can sleep anywhere but I had a really hard night of sleep that night. It was very disappointing. My kids and wife slept ok but for me, the mattresses just felt saggy and soft.

Still, it was a nice hotel and if you need a place to stay that's a decent price, this was worth it. The employees were also very friendly - the guy who checked us in early was really friendly and even the maid staff was nice and brought us extra towels, etc. I just hope they fix up the beds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank seth2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear seth2930,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our room and extremely nice staff. I apologize that the mattress was not properly cared for. Your comments will help us improve our guest experience for everyone. We hope to see you again when you return to Philadelphia!.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My friend and I book the Sheraton Hotel for one night while visiting Philadelphia. We thought it would be the perfect place to stay. We were very disappointed with the service (compared to the price you pay)!!
First of all, you pay hundreds of dollars for ONE night and you don't even get complementary WIFI. How much does a room have to be so you can use the internet for free? SERIOUSLY?
Around 8:30, and then around 9:00 and then AGAIN at 9:30, we were woken up by cleaning ladies who knocked (crazy KNOCKINGS!!) at our door to know if we were sleeping because they wanted to clean the room. Once, again THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE!! The night before was my birthday and we went to bed late and were woken up 3 times in a row because they wanted to CLEAN OUR ROOM!!!!!
I was also very dissapointed in the pool area. NO hot tub and the pool is located in a weird and in bad condition building.
We tried room service.. disappointing too. Despite the fact that the food was delicious, tips + taxes + other (hotel) fees was more expensive than my breakfast sandwich. This is crazy! My sandwich was $15 and all the extra charges were almost $20 (because we ordered $45 worth of food!)

A very disappointing experience that I will not do again !

Please, do yourself a favor and book another hotel !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Melanie G,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Please accept our most sincere apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your stay. It looks like we missed the mark in a few different areas and we will certainly use your feedback to address any deficiencies. We hope you give us another chance if you return to Philadelphia in the future.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Florham Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is nice, check in was a nightmare, we got there at 3:20 and it took 30 minutes to check in. Within five minutes of getting in line the number of people doubled, so we got there just in time or it could have taken us over an hour, I would suggest checking in at 2:30 to get a head start on the 3pm check in time. The construction in the lobby did not affect our stay. The room was very nice, clean, spacious. They offered an upgrade from a 1 Queen bed to a King bed for $10, we declined and our bed was HUGE anyway, definitely bigger than a queen. The area is good, within a half mile there are a lot of bars and restaurants. Parking is a rip off at the hotel, luckily we read reviews and found the parkin lot across the street for $10, I urge anyone staying in the area to go to the parking lots off the property, it was literally across the street and a third the price!! I would recommend this to my clients traveling in the Phili area. Cab drivers are a bit ridiculous there, they drive worse than New Yorkers, but it only cost us $10 to go over by the water. There is also a bar, it's kind of hidden but we asked and found it no problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFS666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear SFS666,

Thank you for your review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will certainly consider your feedback to improve the check-in experience for our valued guests. We hope to connect with you again soon!

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Staying here for a few days due to need at a nearby hospital. I have used this hotel in the past for the same reason. Though some construction is underway it has not been a problem. The staff has been helpful and responsive, and the club room once again is a real plus. Our room has been clean and quiet. Will come again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear H M,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel! We can't wait to share your comments with our entire team. We look forward to continuing to being your home away from home while you're in Philadelphia.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Decided to see a ball game for my husbands birthday therefore we stayed here on a Friday night . The hotel carpet near our room on the 4th floor needs cleaning . It was filthy . We decided we wanted to have a drink however we never found the bar at this hotel . The breakfast was very good . The staff was very helpful and friendly. Housekeeping decided to knock on our door at 8 am to find out if we were checking out ? How rude ! She ruined our stay and woke us up ! I think I will look elsewhere if I return to Philadelphia .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrygil66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Lorrygil66,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are dissapointed that you didn't enjoy your experience more. Your feedback regarding our Housekeeping service is greatly appreciated, as it is a value tool for improvement. The hotel is going through renovations of our guest rooms and corridors and we are very excited to have a vibrant new product for all of our guests to enjoy in the near future. We hope you give us another chance when you return to the Philadelphia area.

Safe travels,

Jennifer Tang
Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,347 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,272 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Address: 201 N 17th St, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing