We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern State Penitentiary

Eastern State Penitentiary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Philadelphia 3-Combo Tour: Hop-on Hop-off, Eastern State Penitentiary, and...
Ranked #3 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site was once the most famous and expensive prison in the world, but stands today in ruin, a haunting world of crumbling cellblocks and empty guard towers. Known for its grand architecture and strict discipline, this was the world’s first true “penitentiary,” a prison designed to inspire penitence, or true regret, in the hearts of convicts. Tours today include the cellblocks, solitary punishment cells, Al Capone’s Cell, and Death Row.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a great place and I enjoyed my time in prison. A little hard to find but well worth it. Great parking lots just West of the entrance. Take the audio tour as you wander around and learn about all it's history. A must do while in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank garyDallas_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,863
    1,157
    196
    43
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our Philadelphia tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Amazing!!! The audio tour kept our entire group interested (ages 11-69). The history and stories from ex-inmates just added to the hands on encounter. We spent a few hours and would loved to have spent an entire day. We closed the place down; the last group exiting. This was by far the favorite stop for the kids, and I think even all the adults, that day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4bfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SOOOOO worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was so much bigger than I had expected. It's a photographer's DREAM. So many buildings.. the land is so beautiful.. the stories and room set ups are so neat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vegascupcakes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I love everything about this place. The history, the imagery, the stories of the guards and ex-inmates, it was just very awing. I love that Steve Buscemi does the narration. My friends and I had an absolute blast. Totally worth checking out. It takes about an hour to do the tour and then you can walk around. VERY COOL!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ItsMe625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennesaw ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A walk through history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very interesting. Grab the audio tour, it is part of the fee. Most children would enjoy.

First penitentiary to "do" solitary confinement.

If you have never seen Row Houses ask for directions and take a walk of about 5 blocks to see some that are about 200 years old.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank beth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastern State Penitentiary also viewed

 

Been to Eastern State Penitentiary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing