We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone to eat and lots more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #5 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Something for everyone to eat and lots more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wow - my daughter and I were staying at the Marriott and just wanted a quick bite to eat. She is very particular about what she will eat - must be vegetarian, must be all natural, etc.. We found lots of options for her and I was able to get great coffee and find lots of things I like as well. My daughter was delighted to see Amish people working there (she had read about them but never seen any before). We also were able to find a few local items to give as gifts when we returned home. This is a definite must see. Unfortunately, it closes early, so we weren't able to eat dinner there or visit again before we left. Location is right out the back door of the Marriott which was really convenient.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,961
    710
    107
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You will never see the same thing twice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I attended a conference across the street from the market (at the Marriott) and went to the Market every single day for lunch and to wander about. The produce markets were stunning, the food options were amazingly diverse (although not a vegetarian I do try to stick to vegetarian food when traveling and there were a TON of places to go), and the vibe is just fun and funky. If I lived there, I'd go all the time.

I bought some cookbooks featuring the Market from the cookbook vender and I really wanted to get some of the linens from the stall across from the cookbook vender but didn't have room in my suitcase.

I hope the citizens of Philly realize what a gem they have. Some of us aren't lucky to have a place like that in our home cities!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Can't Miss This”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The First place I want to go to in Philly. The atmosphere, the food, the heritage, the food, the diverse people/cultures, and did I say the food? It is great! Take your time, don't wait till you are starving, you won't be able to make it through without seeing all the choices. I love it and would go back there tomorrow.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
922 reviews
420 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Ashamed to like it so much!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I come from Boston, and I'm ashamed to admit that the Quincy Market pales in comparison. This is a great place to just wander around or to do some serious food shopping. It is also a great place to eat. Rather than go to more expensive places, I could easily eat here for an entire weekend - maybe a week!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was in Philly for the weekend and decided to stop in with some friends. This place is truly the "real deal"! Dozens of food places, fresh fish, produce, and even a bar with an incredible selection of beers. Sunday's the Amish run businesses are closed, but that is only about 10% of the businesses.
The main thing in Reading Terminal Market is the QUALITY of the businesses within. Very impressive. Smells, sights, sounds.....give it a try when you are in Philly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DWWChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing