We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“USA/UK history tour must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Independence Hall

Independence Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #4 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Both the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution were signed in this historic building.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“USA/UK history tour must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a historically significant site, primarily for the USA but also for the UK. It's a must see when you visit Philly. You can only visit the buildings by going on the tour, which is free. The rangers are very knowledgeable and give a very interesting presentation during the tour. However, I guess it depends on which ranger takes you on the tour, the one we had was excellent, but at least one other tripadvisor comment has said that the presentation was not very informative.

When I was there there was a large peaceful demonstration outside the hall by the Ukrainian expat population demonstrating against the Ukrainian government and their treatment of demonstrators in the Ukraine. Speaks volumes I guess about the powerful symbolic relevance of these buildings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,121
    1,775
    524
    74
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Timeless treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Independence Hall is a great way to walk back in time and learn about how our country struggled in its early years. The volunteers and Park Rangers are more than happy to help bring history alive by their thoughtful and thorough discussions of the times and the difficult decisions that needed to be made.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very quick tour of a significant historical site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The site itself is historically significant and architecturally interesting, so should be on every Philadelphia visitor's list.
The tour is free and the only way to go inside. The site closes at 5pm so the last tour is 4.30pm. You need a ticket from the information centre which is across the mall, but with a small group in winter, there was room to add those who didn't have tickets in the last tour of the day.
The tour was quite brief, and while the guide was friendly, it wasn't particularly engaging and the information given was fairly limited and basic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“proud to be an american”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

this easy visit will make you feel proud to be an American. Great tour guides. You can really feel the history as you step over the marble door way.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bricken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We got 345 tickets for the tour through Independence Hall, it's a short 30 minute tour of the one building, and free might I add! I wish we could have done it earlier in the day. As the west building was closed by the time we got finished. It's a quick tour that gives you a quick reminder of America's history. Definitely make it a point to check it out.

Helpful?
Thank Fickenxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence Hall also viewed

 

Been to Independence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing