We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Independence Hall

Independence Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #4 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Both the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution were signed in this historic building.
Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The area was overcrowded. I expected a living museum of people to reinterpreting the time period within the historical site. It was just okay and my kids wasn't interested.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barmalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,122
    1,776
    524
    74
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Every American needs to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Take the tour and get some perspective on just how small our beginnings were. For all our problems, we are a great nation. It's important to know our history. This is a good beginning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Its the birthplace of America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

How can you not be impressed with the location where our forefathers determined we need to be our own country? I can't really speak on the tour itself, I wasn't paying attention. Instead I was lost in my own thoughts at the magnitude of where I was standing. The guide must have done a very good job, as he was talking long enough to delay the tour behind us. When you visit - just picture that building as it stood over 200 years ago and think about what was set in motion.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A brief (free) glimpse into the conception of a nation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Visiting Independence Hall isn't as easy as you might think. You first have to get a ticket from the visitor's center, which will grant you access as a specific time. If they have any tickets left (they didn't by the time we arrived around 1:30 PM on our first day). You'll be told to arrive at the white security tent (the tent was actually red) at least 20 minutes before the time on your ticket, where a brusque (arguably rude) staff of security guards will search you so you can't... I'm not sure what they're protecting us from, actually. Hijacking the hall, perhaps? Anyway, then you stand in line until your ticket time.

Once the tour begins, you're ushered into a room with benches where the guide gives an overview of what you're going to see, the overall significance of the Hall, and various other area landmarks that have equal (or greater) claims to fame.

Next is a British-style courtroom that was used for Crown trials in the 18th Century.

Lastly, you're ushered into the main room where the Declaration of Independence was finalized and signed. Most of the original furniture was burned as firewood by occupying British troops during the Revolutionary War, but the room has been re-created and preserved as authentically as possible.

Our tour guide was hard to understand at times, and there was an entire upper floor that looked very nice from the three pictures of it that we saw, but it was not open to the public.

Note that there were two other buildings that you also had access to with your ticket. One housed various original documents, Washington's inkpot, etc., while the other had a tour, but we didn't want to wait in the line so we're not sure what it was for.

The main tour, itself, was around 20 minutes in duration, so we spent about as much time in line as we spent on the tour. It was worth doing once, but as much as I enjoy experiencing history, I probably wouldn't bother with it a second time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must do in Phily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Liked the movie with Ben Franklin that are run for 30 minutes duration. Must do the guided tour which is free but needs to be booked in advance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vamdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence Hall also viewed

 

Been to Independence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing