We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, simple church.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #15 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This church's congregation has included Ben Franklin, George Washington and Betsy Ross.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, simple church.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Beautiful, simple church. Very historic. We attend mass here and often sit in the pew where Benjamin Franklin sat. It is awe inspiring to think many of the Founding Fathers attended mass in the same pews we sit in each week. Worth a visit while walking around Old City.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    214
    51
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historical Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

What a treasure this church is. Our kids were able to sit in George Washington, Betsy Ross and Benjamin Franklin's pews. The woodwork is just beautiful in the church, along with the gorgeous windows. The people who work (or volunteer) there were very helpful as well telling us the history of the church.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank homexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“where the founders met to pray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

even though we did not get to go inside the church the doors were open and the interior was visible- awwsome!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanalei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“childhood memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

HOnestly, if you get quiet and there isn't too much commotion going on, you can almost hear the voices of our countries founders as they got guidance to proceed with their awesome undertaking

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MimsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

What a trip, to sit in the pews that Franklin and Washington sat in! The docents here are outstanding and will answer any question you have.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobandJudyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing