We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great visit”
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #14 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This church's congregation has included Ben Franklin, George Washington and Betsy Ross.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just the aura of the place was inspiring. Great tour and a real sense of history. The gentlemen doing the touring really made you think. Amazing place. Also the Cemetery is worth seeing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    225
    54
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
413 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“A church that's important to American History”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As the Continental Congress planned and conducted the American Revolution, this is where its leaders worshiped. You'll see the pews reserved for people like George Washington and Benjamin Franklin and you'll see a wonderfully preserved, beautiful sanctuary that has been in constant use since colonial times. You can walk around totally self-guided, but we sat for a short talk by a member of the church staff. Afterward while we were snapping photos, we joined a guided tour group that was coming by. That really added to the experience.

The church is about a five minute walk from Independence Mall. You'll need a half hour to 45 minutes to fully experience the site.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved Visiting”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We choose not to take a guided tour but the staff was very knowledgeable of the history of the Church and was very interesting hearing all the things we were not taught in school. I'm glad we did not missed this site.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cgar103150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Amazing Piece of History”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful architecture and a wonderful piece of history is preserved in this church. Ben Franklin and George Washington both worshipped here and a number of the men who signed the Declaration of Independence are buried here. Definitely worth the visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church, fabulous history”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a beautiful church with a rich history. George Washington and Ben Franklin worshipped here. The organist was practicing on the wonderful pipe organ when we visited. We sat in George Washington's pew!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suz728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing