We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Philly?”
Review of Zahav

Zahav
Reserve with OpenTable
Zahav is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 4,351 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Cross street: Dock Street at Walnut (Between 2nd & 3rd)
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Philly?”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've eaten here 4 times over several years. I am consistently impressed with the service and the food. The atmosphere is great too. For those who moan about the price vs. the quantity of food, I must disagree. There is an appetizer which, for $34, is enough food to satisfy two people FOR DINNER! We went last week as a party of 4 and all agreed that we could have stopped eating after that ONE appetizer. It is called salatim & hummus with laffa. It's great.
Everything else is great too. Get adventurous, and try something you normally wouldn't. I absolutely loved the raw lamb dish (Kibbe naya) and the sweetbread schnitzel.
Our party of 4 ordered the price fix called Tayim at $42 per person. It was too much food, but delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    207
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Israeli restaurant. Very different. ”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Had never eaten Israeli food and had heard good things about it. This restaurant had good reviews and someone else told us about it. Tried it. Yes - it's very different. But the food was v good. Portions very small and tapas like - so works out expensive for what you get. Not sure it's that suitable for kids - but anyway - enjoyed the experience.

Helpful?
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Came here with some friends, not all of whom are adventurous eaters. We loved everything we tried, but especially the hummus with vegetable tapas, the roasted cauliflower and the branzino. The atmosphere is great with beautiful seating and lighting and drapes of silk around the banquets in the back room. And the bar makes the perfect Grey Goose martinis - ice cold and very dry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Interesting . . .”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'm still not convinced that this is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia. It's an interesting concept with unique food, but we found it to be a bit on the pricey side for the amount of food you get. Maybe I'm just not that adventurous of an eater, but some of the salads were not my cup of tea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acedaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent but Pricey Middle Eastern Food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We very much enjoyed the excellent Middle Eastern food here, served in a "tapas" style of several small plates. There are both "safe" and "adventurous" alternatives to satisfy a wide variety of appetites. However, it was rather pricey for the amount of food that was served and might therefore be limited to special occasions for most people. It is my understanding that Zahav means Gold in Hebrew.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMF-Collegeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zahav also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Zahav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing