We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful we even bought a poster”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hall

City Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #21 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located at the exact geographical center of Philadelphia, City Hall is perhaps the nation’s largest and most elaborate seat of municipal government, topped by the famous statue of William Penn. Located in the building's East Portal in Room 121, the City Hall Visitor Center provides the opportunity for visitors to experience this architectural treasure. Tickets for interior and tower tours are available here, as well as tickets to other city attractions, and visitor essentials including maps, brochures, souvenirs and trip itineraries.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So beautiful we even bought a poster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This building is beautiful, just beautiful especially in its setting which is central and well maybe a little pretentious. We took the tiny elevator to the top of the tower beneath Penn's statue where we had a fantastic view of the city in all directions. The trip to the top of the tower is booked through the visitor centre in the building and very limited numbers are available (from memory only 4 can fit in the lift at any one time!). We bought a poster and took it with us on the remainder of our holiday and then home with us to Brisbane, unfortunately the poster is not as good as the real thing (duh) but at least it lets us remember this beautiful building. We stayed at the Windsor Suites at Philly and had an uninterrupted view of this building, oh so lucky we were.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    342
    71
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,742 reviews
1,446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,501 helpful votes
“Beautiful building right in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This building is amazing. The architecture is exquisite and it is surrounded by nice sculptures. The building was closed when i visited, next time I might take a tour. Close to the reading market where you can grab a good lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addis ababa, ethiopia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Structure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went in the weekend. It is a beautiful building def worth your time. It is stunning and within walking distance of many other Philly attractions. It was at one time the tallest building in the world and is still the largest municipal building in the US. Regardless of those facts .... It is a beautiful and fitting monument to this great American City. Having a read a number of books on 80s/90s Philly/Penn politics it was def worth the effort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank habeshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

What a showpiece for the city. We just stood in awe at the architecture. Amazing place. Apparently you can take tours inside which we unfortunately did not do. Maybe next time

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PZ604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Definitely worth doing the tour to the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

City hall building is a beautiful centre point in Philadelphia, even with ongoing renovation work around it. You can wander the various courts and entrances - look out for the foundation stone and for a copy of Penn's prayer for the city he founded on the walls.
But the highlight was definitely the tour to the top. Tickets are from the information centre downstairs, available Monday-Friday 9-5 and spots are timed and limited as the elevator to the top is tiny (we had 3 visitors plus the operator and would have struggled to squeeze anyone else in).
Getting up is a little complicated, but just ask the guards sitting around and they will direct - you take one elevator to the seventh floor, then escalators to the ninth. There are some displays here which are worth reading to understand the story of the building and its role in the city. You should be there at least 15 minutes before the time of your ticket.
The views of the city from the top of the tour are great although great photos are a little difficult as it is inside and the windows weren't totally clean. The giant statue of Penn is directly above your head. We were given about 10 minutes at the top to look around which is not bad - it's quite small so extra time would only be used for reflecting, there is plenty of time to see the view from all sides.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Hall also viewed

 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing