We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have kids, have them seek the Trading Cards” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Independence Visitor Center

Independence Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #14 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Independence Visitor Center is the gateway to America's Most Historic Square Mile. Located in the heart of Independence National Historical Park, the official Visitor Center of the region is the exclusive location to pick up free-timed tickets to tour Independence Hall. The Independence Visitor Center also provides visitor services and amenities, including a multilingual staff fluent in nine languages, on-site ticketing to more than 60 area attractions and tours, free regional maps and brochures, comprehensive daily event listings, and free informative historical films and wireless internet access. The Visitor Center is also the primary point of orientation for the City of Philadelphia, the Southern New Jersey and Delaware River Waterfronts, as well as Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties in Pennsylvania.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“If you have kids, have them seek the Trading Cards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I agree with the other positive reviews and would say similar things, so my review will focus on advice for those who have children:

1) Help your kids earn a Jr. Ranger Badge - see the Visitor's main desk for the instructions.

2) Ask the Park Rangers for Trading Cards. This is only available to kids so it's super special and fun to find them. Most areas in the park have them (the bank, the Liberty Bell, the Visitor's Center, Independence Hall). My kids learned so much by talking to the Rangers, and it was like a fun scavenger hunt to find missing trading cards. That was the most memorable part of the trip for them and they learned about history while doing it!

3) Ask about the special Trading Cards that are no longer printed, but are still available at some of the sites.

4) If you see a Park Ranger on a bike, then they might have a special card too, that only they carry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Selah-in-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,008
    623
    157
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Even though we purchased our tour tickets on line, when we arrived at the visitor center they were very accommodating and gave us earlier entry tickets. When asked for a good recommendation for food, they gave us a great one and took the time to show us on a map how to get their and get back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

From here you can go anywhere.
The staff are extremely friendly and will help you get orientated and advise on where to go and what to see.
Don't miss this place. In fact, you can't :)
This is where you get the tickets...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeGlassman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
922 reviews
420 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Necessary.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I sometimes think that National Park Visitor Centers are over-blown testaments to NPS excess, and that they ignore the fact that they are not the point of the park. In this case, I got to see that the scope of this visitor center is necessary. Just about every visitor to the park stops here, either to get an overview, tickets to Independence Hall, information or souvenirs. Given the number of daily visitors they get, the size of this place is justified. Also, what makes it better than some others, is that it just gets you ready for the park without too many distractions. Some national park visitor centers have so much "show & tell", that you wonder what the point is to visiting the rest of the park. This one just does its job, taking less than an hour out of your visit to the park - which I think makes it better than average.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Start here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Ample parking in the underground garage. I like that the payment is via ticket or you can just insert a credit card.

Go up to the main level and head straight for the ticket line for Independence Hall. Then you're free to wander about the exhibits and store. There is some food available for sale as well. When I visited, there was a gentleman in period dress playing music in the hallway. I thought that was a very nice touch.

From here, the Liberty Bell is a short walk across the street - and Independence Hall is just behind that building. A quick walk gets you to see some of the most important artifacts from our nation's history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueLynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Independence Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing