We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beginning the Philadelphia Experience! Plus parking underneath!”

Independence Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Philadelphia Prohibition Pub Crawl
More Info
US$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
Ranked #14 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Independence Visitor Center is the gateway to America's Most Historic Square Mile. Located in the heart of Independence National Historical Park, the official Visitor Center of the region is the exclusive location to pick up free-timed tickets to tour Independence Hall. The Independence Visitor Center also provides visitor services and amenities, including a multilingual staff fluent in nine languages, on-site ticketing to more than 60 area attractions and tours, free regional maps and brochures, comprehensive daily event listings, and free informative historical films and wireless internet access. The Visitor Center is also the primary point of orientation for the City of Philadelphia, the Southern New Jersey and Delaware River Waterfronts, as well as Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties in Pennsylvania.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beginning the Philadelphia Experience! Plus parking underneath!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We toured the Visitors Center and it's very informative. It includes the gift shop that has a very good variety of gifts, books and memorabilia. We spent a longer time than usual here since it's free (!) and full of information with a bonus of having air conditioning and tons of room so you're never crowded. A must visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keyrat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    674
    171
    26
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sardines”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Too crowded to enjoy any of the offerings. Did find excellent staff members at the info desks who were very helpful in conveying information about attractions not located in the Independence Square area...... That's a redeeming factor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1byrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
698 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Nice layout of historical events”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There were crowds of school students when we entered the hall. This made looking at the displays and bell a bit difficult. But I was pleased to see young Americans take pride in their history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is one of the best visitors center's that I've ever visited and a must do. Very informative.
Allow at least an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank garyDallas_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No Brotherly Love Shown Here”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

In a city that I found unfriendly and rude, the workers at the Visitor Center were the worst. They were surly and uninformative. I had been in Philadelphia for a total for 3 hours when I was standing in line and a woman in front of me asked the man sitting at the desk handing out tickets for Liberty Hall if he knew where the Betsy Ross House was. He told her - "No idea." It was 1 1/2 blocks away and even I knew that having just arrived in town. I expect when that guy signed up with the Parks Department he thought he would be managing wolves in Yellowstone and ended up riding a desk in Philly - but really!?!
The rest of the city I found dirty, the people make rudeness a sport ( and I have relatives in Boston and NYC - much nicer places) and the food (including the cheese steak) was bland and not good.
Readers will note from my other reviews that I am the proverbial "Happy Traveler." I will go anywhere and usually like everything. I have NO desire to ever return to Philadelphia.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lucindalou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Independence Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing