We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just another T-rex. A wonderful experience”

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #62 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1812, the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University is a leading natural history museum dedicated to advancing research, education, and public engagement in biodiversity and environmental science. Visitors can enjoy four floors of interactive permanent exhibits, come face-to-face with T. rex and other prehistoric creatures in Dinosaur Hall, take a stroll in a tropical garden in the live Butterflies! exhibit, and see live animals up close during our daily presentations.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Not just another T-rex. A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Yes, there is a big Tyrannosaurus Rex fossil skeleton. And other dinosaurs. But this museum has much, much more. It held the interest of children and adults for hours.
The interactive fossil dig for the children was great as they discovered the immense amount of work that goes into field work in paleontology.
The live animal exhibit was awesome. Our docent was so good showing us a kestrel and explaining so much about the many live animals they have. Each day they display one, or more, of them up close for everyone. It's a very interesting event.
The butterfly room is fabulous! To be in the room with so many moths and butterflies. To have them land on you and stay for awhile. The docents there were very helpful in showing us so many interesting things about the butterflies and their life cycles. We spent over an hour just in the butterfly room seeing all there was to see.
Outside In on the top floor was also a favorite spot for hands on learning.
A great place to go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    121
    48
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice place to visit!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited the Academy of National Sciences in museum day live! when there was a free admission. The Museum has 3 floors with very nice exponents with detailed information. Actually when we came in the museum my first expression was that it is similar to National Sciences Museums which I have seen in other country. But when I saw the butterfly garden I can say that this was awesome and I have never seen something like this. I felt happiness that I was there!!! You have to see it! The Academy has very nice and young staff and they are happy to answer all your questions. The Academy is very nice place for children also.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank toni_jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome worth seeinga”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

awesome dinosaur bones anf specimines glow and bugfest and bugs outside the box are informative and interactive and fun
Love the live animals and butterflies
staff is awesome and informative caFe is awesome

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ghsthnr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fun, hands on museum”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this attraction last year and let it expire but was able to redeem the original value. We arrived early, around 10. Traffic was minimal, parking was a cinch (on the streets). The staff was very friendly upon greeting us. Kids enjoyed the entire visit. We stayed less than two hours, but left happy and a little bit smarter :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Just like to say that me and my wife took our granddaughter and their exhibits were great , the cost was reasonable we had such a good time we signed up for a yearly membership

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Academy1812, Director of Marketing at Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you so much for your visit to the Academy. We are glad you enjoyed your visit enough to become a member! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University also viewed

 

Been to Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing