We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun seeing the dinosaurs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #51 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1812, the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University is a leading natural history museum dedicated to advancing research, education, and public engagement in biodiversity and environmental science. Visitors can enjoy four floors of interactive permanent exhibits, come face-to-face with T. rex and other prehistoric creatures in Dinosaur Hall, take a stroll in a tropical garden in the live Butterflies! exhibit, and see live animals up close during our daily presentations.
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So much fun seeing the dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I took my 2 1/2 year old grandson to the Academy of Natural Sciences and he was enthralled by all he saw. He is obsessed with T-Rex and T takes center stage at the academy. He also loved looking at the other animals on display. There is a hands on area where children can touch bones, fur, play with puzzles, sand etc.. They were also shown a live snake.
The gentleman in the gift shop was especially friendly and helpful.
It was a great outing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    118
    44
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Small. Great toddler area, otherwise not exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

After the Franklin Museum, which was fantastic, we really expected more from this place, seeing as they are direct competitors. Honestly, it is small and ordinary. Mostly it is a bunch of outdated animal dioramas and a few dinosaur skeletons. The best exhibit for older kids is the greenscreen where kids can superimpose themselves over animated dinosaurs. There is a really nice toddler play area with a nice collection of living creatures (bugs, spiders, reptiles, bees, fish), but it's not worth more than an hour for older kids. That said, it is in the ASTC network so if you're a member you can stop in for free to kill a little time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for adults and children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My main reason for going to this exhibit was the butterfly and Birds of Paradise exhibit! I was lucky enough to have a couple butterflies land on me. Overall this is just a cool museum and great location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmc4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum - wish the A/C was working”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Entertaining for adults and kids alike. It takes about 6-7 hours to get through all of the exhibits.

We went and the A/C was broken. There was one water fountain on the 3rd floor. By the end of the day the kids were sticking their heads under the water.

I recommend the site - but strongly urge you to call and see if the A/C is working. It had to be 100 degrees in the building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenhrynko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I took my 2.5 yr old son who loves dinosaurs and animals! He had a wonderful time and was so very excited to do a walk through with the live butterflies, and he was also able to pet live animals (turtle, guinea pig...). It was a very exciting experience for him and myself, we will definitely go again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University also viewed

 

Been to Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing