We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice design and good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice design and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel in a very fast trip through Philadelphia (one night only). I really loved the decor, from the entrance, the interior, and the rooms were all artfully decorated. Super clean, including the bathroom! ;-) I liked that we could walk to some very good restaurants to eat, and the staff was really helpful for directions and such. I would go back if I'm ever in town again! Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkling_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for such a Rave Review! We're happy to hear that you found us to be such a great fit for your stay. Stay tuned as this year we'll be totally renovating our guest bathrooms to create an even more impressionable experience for our guests. But even bigger news is The Independent will be a Full Service Hotel in the coming months with an upscale seafood restaurant going in - so you can imagine how excited we are here .. can't wait to share that with our future guests! We look forward to being your host again as you choose The Independent the next time around in Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    285
    65
    31
    11
See reviews for
166
364
69
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Independent lives up to all its positive reviews. I stayed there with my 8-year old son, and I can't say that I have ever stayed at a homier, friendlier hotel. Perhaps it is the small size or the small number of staff. But we felt right at home from the moment we got there. The room was lovely (King Suite), although it wasn't really a Suite. But it was a very large room, with a large bathroom. Breakfast was simple, but good. We wanted to run around the city after we checked out and before we caught our train, and they held out bags until we returned mid-afternoon, and also arranged a cab for us so that we could sightsee until the last minute without anxiety. The location is fabulous. 2 blocks from the Hard Rock Cafe (small, decent food, very friendly) and close to Independence Park.

Room Tip: The King Suite is a very nice large room with a king bed and a couch, but no separation between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I'm a big fan of boutique hotels, so when I read that The Independent was so highly-rated, I went ahead and booked a night for me and my boyfriend. Now first and foremost, let it be said this hotel is in a gay neighborhood. If that makes you uncomfortable that's on you
( being from NYC that's a plus in our book), but don't be shocked when the boys all congregate out front after the bars close). It's also in a great neighborhood with some really good restaurants and stores so you don't have to walk far to have a good time. The rooms are also super-modern, spacious, clean, and come with modern add-ons like flat screen TVs, iPod docking stations, etc. Also, there's lots of police in the area AND it's located right next to the subway (bonus! bonus! bonus!).

With that said, the only small gripes we had was that the surrounding area got a little sketch as the night dragged on, so if you're a woman going with your girlfriends head towards the center of town and not towards South Street. Also, unless your room is located in the front of the hotel don't expect a spectacular view (the building next door is in the process of being demolished). Neither of these were deal-breakers in our book, but be prepared. That and the fact that the plumbing is loud (old building), were about all we could come up with as far as drawbacks. Other than that, the staff was great, the hotel is really nice, the rooms are chic and clean, and the location is prime for urban explorers.

Room Tip: Get one in the front of the building for a better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skrecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We spent three nights at The Independent in July and couldnt have been happier. The Hotel was bright airy and clean, the staff very pleasant and helpful. Our first night there I couldnt get the radio to play my ipod and let the resident GM know. When we returned from dinner there was a new radio in the room and it worked perfectly. The room was very spacious and impeccably clean. The complimentary breakfast was just right and delivered to the room and the wine and cheese at the lobby in the evening was a great way to start the night.
We will definately return and recommend The Independent to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyDiamond68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed in the Independent for two nights in June and I have to say Hotel-wise was the best accommodation on our recent US tour. A little confusing on entering as you enter from the street into a small room with only a lift which takes you up to the first floor reception area. It's only a small hotel but very classy and very arty. I loved the way the double bed was placed facing out from the corner and not against a wall - nice touch!! The rooms were really smart, again very arty, and really quite spacious. The bathroom was very roomy too and the shower was fantastic (two shower heads)!! There's no breakfast room so you choose the night before and have it delivered to your room. Fruit, juice, cereal, muffins etc. Microwave and Fridge in room and coffee maker so you can have a hot drink for breakfast. In reception there's free coffee and you can fill your ice bucket there too. Monday through Thursday from 6.30 - 8.00 pm. they have wine and cheese in reception for guests, just help yourself. Just a short walk and you are on Market Street so really quite handy for getting around. The only problem we found was parking up whilst unloading our luggage. It's quite a narrow street and the traffic wardens were around when we arrived so we had to keep driving round the block until we were booked in! For anyone with a car, there's a parking lot opposit but it's VERY expensive! I think you get a slight discount through the Hotel though. I would certainly not bother looking any further if I was staying in Philly again - The Independent was fab!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamilyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We visited during the 4th of July weekend and stayed at this lovely boutique hotel situated very close to the greatest historical spots in Philadelphia. Our room had double queen beds and accommodated our family comfortably. Extra niceties not usually found in hotel rooms included the coffee machine, microwave & small fridge. The hotel also provides daily morning breakfast samples right to your room. We had a pleasant 3 night stay and found this location very central to everything there is to see in Philly. We felt very safe traveling throughout the city walking and using the public transit system, but would like to warn those that may be offended by outward homosexuality that the hotel is located in a prominently gay neighborhood. Great shopping and restaurants are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed four nights at the Independent Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you like chatty receptionists or meeting people at breakfast this is possibly not the hotel for you, but if you like the idea of breakfast (choice of cereal bar, cereal, fruit juice and fruit) being dropped off at your chosen time outside your door and eating it in the comfort of your room then it is ideal. We stayed on the fourth floor opposite the business centre in a beautifully spacious room with hardwood floors and a large comfy bed and sofa to sit on. Our family had a smaller room on the third floor. All the rooms have flat screen TV’s microwave and a fridge. The location is ideal for exploring Philadelphia and we would definitely stay there again and would have no problem recommending it to friends. I notice on other reviews travellers mention cheese and wine and being told about a gym, we weren’t informed about any of that so couldn’t comment. Having recently been to another couple of hotels for us a couple of small things stop it from being a 5, all the rooms have artificial plants, not sure about the point to those as in our room and bathroom they were very dusty. The rooms are very dimly lit which is fine but the bathroom could really have done with a choice of being a bit brighter. We were apprehensive on reading reviews that the hotel would be noisy but we found it to be perfectly fine although we did have to sleep with the bathroom door closed as the plumbing was pretty noisy if someone in another room flushed the toilet in the night. Not quite perfect, but pretty close.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RayandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing