We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Independent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
545
307
79
37
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
307
79
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreen eggsgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotellarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We are from Philadelphia and we wanted a getaway that was still close to home. I chose the Independent and I couldn't be happier! We requested a quiet room ahead of time and the staff was super thoughtful in choosing the room. It was huge and beautiful. It even smelled fantastic. I really love the breakfast system. You choose from a variety of continental breakfast items and then they deliver it to your door at the time that you choose. It was wonderful! You can brew coffee in a Keurig machine in your room or get it in the lobby. They have free coffee, tea, cocoa, and juice available 24 hours a day!

We had unbelievable personalized service. The all of staff was amazing and it couldn't have been nicer!

It is perfect... small, personal and artistic!!

Room Tip: If you want a special type of room, like a quiet room call in advance because it is a boutique hotel and is intentionally a small hotel. As a boutique hotel they have limited choices if you change your mind once you are there. The staff was very willing to accommodate us and were especially thoughtful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ofusPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is a very nice small hotel downtown Philadelphia, the location could not be better. The first night we should stay in the hotel, there had been troubles with a water leak and the hotel was closed unexpectedly. Staff was very helpful and had booked another room in another hotel for free. One week later we stayed there again and all problems in the hotel were solved. We had a very friendly welcome with wine and cheese, had good advise for restaurants, and the room was great. I certainly can recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazytraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Independent is a nice boutique hotel that is walking distance from Thomas Jefferson University Hospital. I was traveling there on business, so the location couldn't be better. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and the room was quite nice. I really liked that breakfast and internet were included in the rate as well complimentary bottled water and hot beverages. Breakfast is delivered to your room each morning at the exact time that you request it, and if you don't answer the door right away, they leave it in a basket outside, which was perfect for me. One downside was that the lobby is on the second floor, so when I was meeting colleagues in the morning and again in the evening, we had to take the elevator to the lobby to meet, then take the elevator again to leave the hotel. That's not that big of a deal, of course, and I would definitely stay at the Independent again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhD-Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Independent Hotel, Philadelphia, PA ; The hotel occupies the second through fifth floors of its building, the first floor shared by a bar and a seafood restaurant. Since the hotel has only 28 rooms, it fits the description of a "boutique" hotel.

Pros:

* Central location - 13th and Locust - near theatres, restaurants, and shopping. It is an easy 5-10 minute walk to the Philadelphia Academy of Music, where we attended a performance (play) of Les Miserable.

* Clean and comfortable rooms - including microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV. Bathroom was quite large, but lacked bathtub. Our room was on the fifth (top) floor (there is an elevator) and the room was quiet.

* Continental breakfast (yogurt, fruit, cereal, muffin, juice) left at door, along with USA Today, according to guest's instructions. This was not lavish, but adequate.

* Courteous staff and easy check-in
.
* Juices, sodas, and coffee available at all times in the lobby. Complimentary wine and cheese available Tuesday-Thursday evenings.

Cons:

* We like to read in bed. Although individual reading lights were provided, they were inconveniently located.

* Lack of bathtub.

Nota Bene: We stayed Wednesday-Saturday nights. On Friday, a water main in the cellar of the bar burst, cutting off water to the hotel. This was a minor problem for us, as water was restored by 4 p.m. HOWEVER, the hotel saw fit to credit us (we did not request this) for one day's fee ($160). I thought that this was rather generous as we were really not inconvenienced very much.

Summary: The Independent Hotel, Philadelphia, Center City, was a good choice for us. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our fifth floor room was quiet, even though the streets below were busy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewenbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Although The Independent is very nice for people without mobility impairments, the placement of furniture and a lack of simple common sense rendered our "handicapped accessible" room inaccessible. A large dresser made it impossible for someone using a wheelchair to reach half of the room and the lack of a hand-held shower and bath chair made the roll-in shower difficult to use. Although the costly features - roll-in shower and roomy bathroom -- were in place, the less costly details that would have made it all work were absent. We would just like to warn people who use wheelchairs to stay away from The Independent.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews