We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Jewel”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Downtown Jewel”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were heading to Atlantic city for the Beyonce concert from Pittsburgh and we decided last minute to leave the night before and stay in Philly. We searched for hotels on Kayak and wanted to stay in the LGBT Village area. We almost booked the Roadway Inn because we had stayed there in the past. But I was hoping to find something a little nicer. We stumbled upon The Independent and it looked so much nicer and was only $25 more a night. We booked right before we got on the road. The man that I booked with was very nice and helpful. Turns out he is at the front desk when we checked in 6 hours later. This hotel is a nice small boutique type hotel in a great location. the place is gorgeous and so was our room. Dan helped us get checked-in quickly and gave some suggestions on where to go for drinks and food. Bonus: we were given a form to fill out for the continental breakfast that would be brought to our room at the time we specified in the morning. Nice touch! We will stay here again. Decent rates in a great neighborhood. I highly recommend, especially if you want to be around the LGBT community. It's not in your face, but within a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear flashman,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the amenities we offer, and the neighborhood we are located in. We love being in such a central location, as it allows our guests to easily explore the city by foot. I am also happy to hear that everything with your check-in went smoothly, and that we were able to accommodate you on your spontaneous trip to Philadelphia. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    287
    69
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
365
70
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived right at check in time, there were a few before us, but the lounge is so inviting that we didn't mind.
The hotel is very clean , the staff are wonderful.
I would find it hard to believe if anyone ever gave less than 5 out of 5 on a review.
Philly was very hot that day but we found a great little restaurant around the corner(Moriarty's) after taking in the July 4th festivities offered by the city..
This is a trip we will do again!

Room Tip: My wife and I have stayed twice. Both rooms were clean and quiet ,beds were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontobob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear torontobob2011,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us during the city's July 4th festivities. Moriarty's is a neighborhood favorite, and definitely a great place to cool off during a heat wave. It's also great to hear that you have stayed with us before, and I hope we will remain your hotel of choice in Philadelphia.

We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for your kind review, and please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The exhaust fan in the bathroom was very loud and could not be shut off. Running the exhaust fan 24/7/365 is a BIG WASTE of electricity! Even with the bathroom door closed it was very bothersome. The A/C system was very noisy. The refrigerator was so cold it froze anything that was put into it. I turned the cold setting down to the lowest possible setting and it still froze everything. There was a lot of dust on the ceiling panels in the bathroom. There were several areas on the walls with visible scuff marks. The closet door was difficult to open. The caulk around the base of the toilet needs to be removed and re-caulked. The controls for the lights in the bathroom are extremely worn and need to be replaced. The grout in the bathroom floor was dirty. The water pressure was continually fluctuating from OK to low. I was charged for 4 nights when I only had reserved 2 nights and did not extend my stay to 4 nights. I walked down to the end of the hall on the 5th floor to look out the window and was dismayed to see the windowsill and the windows blinds were coated with a thick layer of dust. The area under the large window on the landing on the 5th floor is sadly in need of repair. On the whole I would say the appearance of the facility looks good on the surface but if you look closer you can see that there are many opportunities for improvement. I was expecting more from a hotel that claims it “reflects a charming sophistication”.

Green Features: The exhaust fan in the bathroom was very loud and could not be shut off. Running the exhaust fan 24/7/365 is a BIG WASTE of electricity.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveler969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear SoloTraveler969.,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. We will take all of your comments and strive to fix any issues that you found during your stay. The 5th floor landing that needs repair was damaged during our last two torrential rain falls. Next week, we will be spending the time repairing, repainting, and performing maintenance on our windows to make sure we are prepared for a large rainfall.

I am also sorry to hear that you had an issue with your billing. We had your reservation for 4 nights and at check in, confirmed with a signed registration card that you were staying for 4 nights. When you contacted us and informed us you only stayed for two and did not check out at the front desk, we quickly removed those extra charges from your account to accommodate the billing error.

We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in the area again, you choose to stay with us.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our family stay at The Independent was wonderful. No one wanted to leave. Every detail was taken care of. We enjoyed the Continental breakfast delivered to your room, the wine/cheese reception in the afternoon, and the never-ending help of the staff. Anytime we had a question about anything in Philadelphia, they helped us figure it out, even if it meant making phone calls or doing research online. The rooms were well-appointed and comfortable. We had 3 children with us, and the staff went out of their way to make sure that they were having a good time. One of the staff members gave them a huge cup of Hershey Kisses to take for our car ride home. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Kelly E,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a comfortable, relaxing stay with us. Our staff members possess a combination of friendly personalities and professional hospitality experience, which results in guests coming back to see us again and again. What sets us apart from other hotels is our willingness to go above and beyond to ensure that every guest is enjoying their time in Philadelphia. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a cute hotel in a convenient location ..but besides the obvious ..I would recommend the independent hotel ..because of the beautiful treatment you receive as a guest..
The staff is truely genuine. ..I have stayed many places with friendly staffs ...but here the staff is not just nice because they have to be ...you certainty can feel the difference...they always went above and beyond. .thank you
Cj ..fairfield ct

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cejjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear cejjoyce,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

Our staff is one of the main attributes that distinguishes us as a top-rated boutique hotel. Each staff member takes pride in their strong customer service skills, knowledge of the neighborhood, and genuine desire to make sure guests are satisfied for the duration of their stay. I am very happy to hear that our staff made your stay so unforgettable, and I know they will be delighted to read this review. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the independent last night and loveeeedddd it there. The staff was super friendly. They even gave us a bottle of wine for free! The room was cozy, almost felt like it could be a bedroom in our apartment. Overall the hotel was an excellent experience and I highly recommend it. :)

Room Tip: king size is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Mellanie L,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I think it's fantastic that you had such an "awesome" time with us! We also love the home-like coziness our rooms have, and I know our staff will be delighted to hear about how wonderful you found your overall experience with the hotel. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

You're not going to get a huge breakfast or a grand lobby when you stay here. What you will get is a staff that is very friendly and a room that was perfect. Very comfortable bed, beautiful floors & a huge bathroom all in a hotel that is close to everything. We loved our stay here & will definitely stay here again when in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Steve M.,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that everything with your room was perfect, as perfection is what we are going for! I am also delighted that you enjoyed our friendly staff, and that we will be your hotel of choice upon your next trip to Philadelphia. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,326 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
567 reviews
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing