We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Independent is in a great central location to the historic sites as well as the convention center and Reading Terminal. We had the double deluxe queen room and since we have two teenagers requested a cot. Even with the cot we still had room to walk and relax. The bathroom was large enough for two people to get ready at once. The vanity top had enough space for all our toiletries. There was a fridge, microwave and Kerig coffee machine. All came in handy for leftovers. Others have reviewed that they did not care for the continental breakfast getting delivered to the room or for the choices. Our family enjoyed it mainly since we could continue to get ready while eating or while others were in the shower. We are also light eaters so for use the choices were good.

Dan was working when we checked in and was very knowledgable on local restaurants, parking and other things to do in the area. Dan was very accommodating in ensuring that we had plenty of towels as well helped with the delivery of the cot. We took him up on a few of his resturant choices and we was spot on with all of them.

Erik was very helpful when i called to reserve the room and helped to pick the correct size room for traveling as a family with two teenagers (1 boy and 1 girl). He was also working the morning we checked out and was quite helpful as well.

The only complaint would be that there was not enough lighting in the room. Weal agreed that the lights could have been brighter for reading.

We would return to this hotel for sure

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank meanica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear meanica123,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I very much appreciate the fact that you wrote such a thorough review, detailing all the things that made your stay so special. Our Deluxe Double Queen rooms are known for being very spacious and comfortable for family stays. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the customer service of two of our friendly and knowledgable staff members, Erik and Dan. I will certainly pass your comments along to them and the rest of the staff. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    289
    70
    32
    12
See reviews for
172
368
70
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. It is small, the desk remembers your name, the king bedded room is large, clean, and very comfortable. Housekeeping does a great job, and they give you a large continental breakfast (more than we can eat) delivered to your room. It is located in the heart of center city with convenient parking. Do be prepared for an elevator trip from the street to the lobby with no luggage assistance, but this is no big deal if you can manage your own luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bart0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear bart0001,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I very much appreciate all your kinds words regarding the hotel, and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We absolutely love being able to remember each and every guest by name and personally greet them with a smile when they walk through our doors. I am also glad to hear you were satisfied with the service of our exceptional housekeepers and the in-room breakfast delivery. The next time you stay with us, please let us know if you need luggage assistance and our front desk staff will be happy to assist you. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Independent Hotel and was so pleased we had to write a review! The accommodations really felt like home, loved the hardwood floors, just simply a gorgeous hotel. Its a small hotel, but also a great hotel. All of the staff was friendly, welcoming and go above and beyond to make sure you are happy with the facilities. Special thanks to Nick Williamson and Eric Parker, such gentlemen! Highly recommend this hotel, you will not regret it, We didn't!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Pfore,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

There is nothing we love more than making our guests feel right at home, and I am very pleased that we were able to accomplish that for you. Our staff is frequently complimented for having a welcoming nature that leaves a lasting impression. I will be sure to share your comments with Erik, Nick, and the rest of our staff. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our family of four had a great experience at this little unassuming hotel. Our 22 year old daugter arrived 3 days before the rest of us and they were wonderful to her. We had the loft suite which was adorable. All of the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Great location in the heart of Philadelphia and was perfect for our needs. We were able to walk to all of our events.
I agree with previous reviews that for the price it was a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear maxmom77,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It is excellent to hear that you and your family felt so comfortable and satisfied with everything that makes our hotel stand out. Our staff loves to be of assistance in any way possible, and I am glad they made your daughter feel at home. I am also pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed one of our most luxurious rooms, the Queen Loft Suite. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We, a family of four, enjoyed our stay here. The room - 2 queen size beds - awas big enough for four, the bath was very nice as well as the employees. It is a great place to go by foot for sightseeing.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Radvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Radvila,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Our Double Queen Deluxe rooms are commonly regarded as spacious, quiet, and cozy. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and I absolutely agree that we are in a perfect spot for sightseeing on foot. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocholt, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Helpful and friendly staff
Good breakfast, delivered on time to our room
Great location: food and historic sites nearby
Big room with a separate private bathroom
Wine and cheese service in the lobby every evening

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda198521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Linda198521,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the size of your guest room, the helpfulness of our courteous staff, and the perfectly convenient location of our hotel. Being located right in the middle of Center City makes us a perfect base for exploring and visiting all the local attractions Philadelphia has to offer. Our wine and cheese reception is also very popular with guests, and many find it to be a great way to meet and mingle with other travelers. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnemede, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Independent as a little getaway. This hotel was conveniently located (just hopped off of the patco and we were right there!), visually appealing, very clean and very comfortable. The price was right, the staff were nice, and they deliver breakfast to your room for free! Can't beat it. Loved this joint!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Cate B,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's wonderful that we were able to make your getaway a memorable experience. We love being located mere footsteps away from the PATCO station. Anyone who is traveling to us from New Jersey can take the train right to our door, which is located in the heart of Philadelphia. It's also great that you enjoyed our affordable room rates, friendly staff, and complimentary in-room breakfast. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,343 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
541 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing