We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel management very helpful”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Towanda, Pennsylvania
1 review
“nice hotel management very helpful”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed early January and the hotel was not real busy at that time. Upon arrival our queen room was upgraded to a king at no extra charge. We went to the wine and cheese tasting and were the only ones there at that time. We tasted several wines and cheeses and then went to noni's for dinner which was excellent. They have the best Italian sausages and meats. Unfortunately we were called back home in the morning with a family emergency and were not able to spend a second night. The hotel refunded our prepaid room with no problems. The only thing we didn't like was the parking. We were not sure which parking lot the hotel used and there was no where on the street to park. They should just direct you to the parking garage about a block or so up the street, which happened to be the one they use. We finally pulled in there about our 10 th time around the blocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Ricky W,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased that you not only enjoyed the hotel but also the restaurants in the immediate area. Little Nonna's is easily one of the city's best new restaurants, and we love being located right next to it! I am sorry you had trouble with finding our parking garage, and on your next stay we would be happy to assist you in getting there without any issues. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    287
    69
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
365
70
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at The Independent for Valentine's Day on a weekend trip to Philadelphia. We were both impressed with the understated elegance of the hotel, which is nestled on a busy street near Center City. It is very near all the action, close to theaters, restaurants, shopping, historical sites, and the Metro. The staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable, which made it hard to stay just one night!

The queen room was well-appointed with hardwood floors, high ceilings, and large windows. The bathroom did not have a bathtub, which was disappointing, but everything was clean and modern. The bed was a bit soft for my taste, and the street is quite noisy on a Friday night, but overall it's a wonderful little place to stay if you're going to be "out and about" in the city anyway.

Overnight parking was expensive and, if you choose to self-park in the garage, limited and exposed to the elements. This would be fine in the spring, but there was significant snow covering parking lines and piled in spots, which really made parking a headache. The garage IS very close to the hotel, though, so that is a plus.

If I visit Philadelphia in the future, I will definitely consider staying here again. It is worlds better than any hotel chain you can think of.

Room Tip: Rooms off Locust and on a higher floor would be quieter. Corner suites have a few windows, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quackel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear quackel,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad that you had a wonderful stay during Valentine's Day. We love being located so close to Philadelphia's great shops and restaurants, and I am pleased to hear you were able to explore our exciting neighborhood. However, I am sorry to hear you had some trouble with parking. On your next visit to The Independent, we would be happy to assist you with parking in a different parking lot which we are also associated with. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I needed to stay at a hotel in downtown that was reasonable and I am glad I picked this one. They have complimentary wine and cheese in the evening which is excellent. Walking distance to stores and various restaurants. The bed was as if I was sleeping on a cloud. And the staff was very professional and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xty20783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear xty20783,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our wine & cheese reception, our convenient location, and our extremely comfortable mattresses. I am also delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've stayed here a few times...it's not your average hotel, high ceilings, wood floors. I stayed in the two bedroom suite this last time, very cute and the Murphy bed was very comfortable ...great for 2 couples to share

Room Tip: The 2 room suite was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Jaded4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear 2Jaded4U,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you have visited us several times and enjoyed it each time. Our Queen Loft Suite is popular with guests due to it's coziness and luxurious comfort. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you want a great location with a short easy walk to the Reading Market, the Liberty Bell, the City Hall and the old historic Eastside neighborhoods this is the place. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, if you need something they will help you get it. Our two rooms were very large with big bathrooms. We stayed here for two nights on a train trip from NYC to Washington DC and I wish we could have stayed a few more. The first morning I was so surprised to find my breakfast outside my door in a cute little basket. I will stay here again when visiting Philly. I will try to post some photos.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear DenverDanny,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, and that our staff showed you the exceptional hospitality service that helps distinguish us from other hotels in the city. I am also glad that you are already looking forward to visiting us again, and we will of course welcome you with open arms on your next trip to Philadelphia. The photos you have posted are fantastic! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Excellent friendly staff with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel paying 2x. BUT what trumps all is the beds! Quality and comfort all the way. We have stayed in many different Philly hotels over the years and this is the only one that has King size pillows on a king bed! Breakfast at your door each morning and staff that remembers your name makes this hotel a stand out. We will be back!

Room Tip: We started our 6 nights stay in the beautiful front corner room, noise from the street had us asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeboB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Deb0B_12,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our guest amenities, helpful staff, and comfortable beds. Many guests come back to stay with us again and again because of our supremely comfortable Serta mattresses and soft pillows. I am glad this will be the case for you as well! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We love The Independent. Great location. Nice rooms. Helpful folks. Easy parking (we prefer LAZ .. seems more secure). The hotel bills parking directly. Great restaurants abound. Vedge is across the street (need a reservation months in advance). Green Eggs Cafe is across the street (get there by 8:00 for amazing breakfast.....cash only).

Room Tip: We've stayed at The Independent twice. Once in October 2013. Again in January 2014. We learne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad that you love our hotel, and that you found convenience in our parking arrangements and our proximity to great restaurants. Green Eggs is definitely a staff favorite, and Vedge is also an amazing place to have dinner. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#21 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing