We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Independent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$238
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$283
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$270
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$401
US$377
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
US$255
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
545
307
79
37
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
307
79
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreen eggsgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotellarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was our second stay and again we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff. During a snow emergency, when there were few cabs, two staff members hiked up to the main drag and hailed us a cab...we also liked being so close to Little Nonna's delicious food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nance2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Nance2014,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that our staff's friendliness and efficiency left such a lasting impression on you. Our staff takes pride in showing each guest the personal attention that makes them feel at home. I am also glad you enjoyed Little Nonna's, which is quickly becoming known as one of the city's best Italian restaurants. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Independent is a very pleasant hotel near the hub of performing arts in Philadelphia. The staff (we met two different people at the front desk) were very welcoming and I am sure that if we had needed anything, they would have been very gracious. (Since we were only there one night, we didn't ask for anything.) The room is not huge, but perfectly adequate. The bathroom is huge, and aesthetically pleasing. The bed is very comfortable. The included continental breakfast is delivered to your room, and ours arrived at the appointed time. As a coffee addict, I have only one small suggestion: Having the Keurig coffeemaker is great, but it would have been nice to have more than one cup of coffee. If you can provide at least four (caffeinated) cups, that would be terrific. All in all a very satisfactory, if brief, stay.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the top floor, north side. It was initially very quiet, since it doesn't face the main thoroughfare. There is a club a block away, across a parking lot, and the patrons get pretty loud in the middle of the night. This is not a complaint, just an observation.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moodyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear moodyhill,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you were completely satisfied with the customer service of our front desk staff. I am also glad that you found the centrality of the hotel and your guest room to be enjoyable and satisfactory. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay, again, at The Independent in Philadelphia, while visiting the Philadelphia Flower Show and Barnes Museum this weekend. We especially appreciated the flexibility of the management in letting us shorten our trip due to an impending snow storm. Even though the booking was dependent on a two night stay, they honored our wish to leave a day early to get home before the storm, and allowed us to keep our same ‘special’ rate with parking. Nick, the afternoon/eve front desk person could not have been nicer and more accommodating. We even got an upgraded room which was lovely. We would definitely stay again at this very nice and well located hotel with excellent front desk service.

Room Tip: our room on the 4th floor was nice, quiet and nicely dark at night with the shades drawn.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanneVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear JeanneVirginia,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you got the chance to check out the Flower Show and the Barnes Museum, two of Philadelphia's best attractions. I am also pleased that you found the front desk staff to be courteous and helpful in assisting you with your reservation modification. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Delightful boutique hotel in the heart of Philadelphia - reasonably priced, excellent service, great central location. And big props to Nick on the front desk, he couldn't have made us more welcome or been more helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take a suite, best value
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostinpurgatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear lostinpurgatory,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am glad to hear you were pleased with the customer service provided by Nick, and I will be sure to pass you comments along to him. Our unbeatable prices and central location are what keep guests coming back to see us each time they are in Philadelphia, and I am glad you satisfied with your stay. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Independent Hotel is exactly what I am looking for in a hotel. Free wifi, complementary breakfast, and ERIK PARKER, the most friendly and lovely receptionist EVER. AAA discounts, also. This place is basically THE place I want to stay every time. VERY SAFE and WARM environment. It's sometimes the little things in life, and this is a place where the little things are taken seriously and the big things...well they are implicit. Large rooms and very quiet for an urban environment. (Also, in-room spa treatments!).

GREAT EXPERIENCE, always coming back here whenever I travel to Philadelphia.

Erik Parker really was the most lovely and conscientious individual. Thank you!!!!!

Room Tip: higher floors have less street noise!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireKing315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear ClaireKing315,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear about the excellent experience you had with meeting our front desk agent Erik. He is known for his cheery and approachable manner, and he has already talked about how happy he was to meet you as well! I am also glad that you enjoyed our guest amenities, competitive rates, and comfortable guest rooms.We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews