We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Moseley
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just could not ask for better service! Stayed one night in a king room (405) and it was clean and quiet and the only thing I would have liked was a bigger shower. Only reason for not rating it "Excellent" is that the area is a little seedy and unloading/loading our car was tight. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 405 is the only room on forth floor. It was QUIET.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoseleyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear MoseleyPaddler,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the service and guest room provided by our hotel so much that you were inspired to write this kind review. However, I am sorry to hear that you were slighly dissapointed with our neighborhood, and that you experienced some difficulty with unloading your luggage. Upon your next visit to The Independent, we would be happy to assist you with bringing your luggage in from the loading zone located in front of the hotel, and assuring that you will have room to temporarily park your car. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    287
    68
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
364
70
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
altamont, New York, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The good- Large rooms, comfortable bed, convenient location, great staff, individualized attention, able to choose your own breakfast and it was delivered to your door at an appointed time, refrigerator in room, Keurig coffee machine, very clean and neat, bathroom with double shower head.
The interesting- Need to use elevator to get to main check in. It took us a minute to figure that out.
I would definitely stay at the Independent again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear patalm,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy all of the special amenities and attributes that distinguish us a boutique hotel, such as the breakfast delivery, double shower-heads, and personable front desk staff. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N CAPE MAY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel was absolutely delightful. We stayed for one night - to celebrate a birthday. When we got off the elevator and stepped into the lobby, Nick warmly greeted us and immediately made us feel welcome. Our room was warm and cozy with a very comfortable king-sized bed. It was a great location, and only a couple of blocks away from the Academy of Music, where we saw "Phantom of the Opera" (it was great!). Rodney was on duty that evening and was also very hospitable. The breakfast in the morning was simple and delivered to our room - right on time! - and very convenient. We met Eric when we checked out, and he had all of the answers to our questions and could not have been more helpful. We preferred this hotel to the other "chain" hotels and will definitely be back on our next trip to Philly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHELLEY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear SHELLEY V,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience with our boutique hotel for your birthday celebration. It's great that our staff made you feel completely at home, and I will be sure to pass along your kind remarks to them. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passaic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a really nice hotel with an exceptionally friendly and accomodating staff. They have set things up to really put the guests' comfort front and center. The rooms were nice, the beds comfortable, and it doesn't have the cookie-cutter big city hotel feel or the falling apart boutique feel.

The location is a little loud and there are little things in the rooms that could be fixed up (crack in the paint, for example) but overall would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear MKChicago,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found your experience with our boutique hotel to trump that of a larger, chain hotel. You are correct that comfort for our guests is our main focus, and I am pleased that we did not disappoint you in that regard. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Independent was a delightful place to stay at. I highly recommend it because the staff was warm and friendly throughout the stay. The rooms were clean and a light breakfast was delivered straight to your door. There were many restaurants around the hotel to choose from that were walking distance. And the theatre district is conveniently located nearby, as well as the subway so as to get around town ever too easily. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: There was a shower without a bath tub in the room I stayed at. The sink was high. So if you are tr...
See more room tips
Green Features: They provided an ihome as a charger for your iphone. That was very thoughtful of the hotel.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WafaHozien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear WafaHozien,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am absolutely delighted to hear how pleased you were with our hotel. We have a high standard for cleanliness, and I am glad that you found your room to be spotless. I am also glad you enjoyed how friendly and helpful our staff is. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Nice place, helpful staff, neat room. Philly is walkable from here. If you stay here with kids you will need to explain various paraphilias in the area and why the HIV testing bus is parked a block away on weekend nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legolaceration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear legolaceration,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I'm happy you enjoyed our property, our ready-to-help staff, and your guest room. While I am also glad you found our central location convenient, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the surrounding neighborhood. Although Midtown Village is regarded as one of the safest neighborhoods in Philadelphia, there are indeed imperfections to be found that come along with such a large metropolitan area. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were in the Philly area looking at colleges. The hotel was perfect- clean, great location, nice and spacious rooms, simple breakfast delivered to your door, parking right near by, and very friendly staff. If my daughter gets into one of her schools of choice in Philly, we will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowmu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear cowmu1,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, from the cleanliness and spaciousness of your guest room to the convenience of our parking garage and our hand-delivered breakfast. Perfection is absolutely what we are going for! We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing