We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
557
312
79
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
312
79
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotelreception arealarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This charming hotel was in an excellent location - a neighborhood, but close to good restaurants and attractions. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, but it was the staff that made this hotel extraordinary - not only willing to go the extra mile, but anticipating the extra mile before we did. On Sunday, after we were technically checked out, we watched a parade which passed in front of the hotel. Nick (the concierge on Sunday) appeared at the sidewalk several time to bring water, ask if there were anything else we needed, check on our multiple taxi arrangements, and even walk one of our party the two blocks to meet her cab! Would stay here again in a heartbeat, and will explore other hotels in this network in other cities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quinntheeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear quinntheeskimo,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's wonderful that you enjoyed our neighborhood, and that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient for indulging in Philly's burgeoning restaurant scene. Nick is often praised for his willingness to go above-and-beyond for our guests, and I am delighted to hear how much effort he put in to making sure you had everything you need to be comfortable during your stay. This is the kind of stellar service that our front desk staff prides themselves on, and I know Nick will be happy to read your comments. We hope you enjoy exploring the other Independent Collection hotels, and please come to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had one night in Philadelphia and had booked this hotel from reviews here on trip advisor. I'm so glad we did! Staff were lovely and so accommodating, great safe area, room was nice - absolutely no complaints from us! Would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear miss_hay_barn,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's fantastic to hear that your short, one night stay with us was so flawless! While we wish you could have stayed longer to enjoy the hotel and the city, it's great to know that if you choose to return to Philly that we will be your hotel of choice. Happy travels!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Four friends (seniors, but young at heart) met in Philadelphia for a getaway weekend and to celebrate milestone birthdays. The Independent Hotel had rooms that were large and comfortable; the hotel's location is in a great, center city location. But it was the hotel's concierges--Nick, Eric and another young man whose name I (sadly) don't recall-- who went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. From the help with taxis and restaurant reservations to the complimentary glass of wine one afternoon, they consistently were kind, friendly and engaging. They are terrific ambassadors for this boutique hotel group. They deserve all the plaudits we can heap upon them. (Hotel management: Treat these guys well; they surely deserve it!)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella_Italia_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Bella_Italia_9,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

The reason why I believe Nick and Erik are such valuable assets to our company is because they have perfected the warm hospitality and customer service that defines a boutique hotel. I know they do their absolute best each shift to make our guests feel at home, and I am very pleased to hear this is the experience you had with them. I will share your comments with them so they understand what a terrific job they are doing and continue to uphold the stardards of the hotel. I hope you will stay with us again and visit your new friends here at The Independent!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed at The Independent to attend our daughter's graduation from Jefferson Medical College. It was centrally located between the Kimmel Center graduation site and the post graduation reception at the school. We parked 1 block away and across the street in a covered parking garage, which is not an issue since everything was within walking distance. Our check in was past 10:00 pm; the graduation being the following day. They will keep your luggage past check out if necessary.
The hotel is small but charming and the staff will do anything to insure a positive experience. An in room continental breakfast is included which is fine for the guest on a tight schedule. I would recommend it to my fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Theresa S,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

Part of the experience of a boutique hotel like ours is indulging in the charm of the building, the friendliness of the staff, and the unique yet exceptional neighborhood we are located in. It sounds like you were able to have this experience, which is wonderful to hear and we hope you will return to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Came to Philadelphia for a 2 day visit and chose this hotel because it was centrally located and within walking distance of many attractions. We were pleasantly surprised by the great service we received. The staff was pleasant and extremely helpful with every need. The only negative thing that I might note, is that the parking for the hotel is across and down the street in an open lot. Since we planned to do a lot of walking, versus driving, this wasn't an issue for us. i would definitely stay here again if i return to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAJANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear MAJANN,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

While two days seems like such little time to see a city as big as Philadelphia, I'm very pleased to hear that our convenient location enabled you get check out many of the attractions our city is famous for. Our staff takes pride in helping guests with whatever they need to enjoy their stay, all while keeping a friendly and pleasant demeanor. Thank you for you kind review, and we definitely look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews