We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
stayaka.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
557
312
79
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
312
79
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotelreception arealarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very nice small hotel. Rooms were big and nicely decorated. Calm location. Breakfast is given in the room but not very good (there is an excellent breakfast place just 2 min from the hotel called "The Green Egg"). Very nice hotel (just minus point for the breakfast). We would come again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Charline H,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear that we exceeded your standards in terms of service, location, and guest rooms. However, I am sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with our complimentary breakfast, but I'm glad you found Green Eggs which is one of Philly's best breakfast spots. We hope to see you on your next trip to Philly.

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited here in June 2014. We found it to be clean, quiet and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. It is ideally positioned to explore the history of the city on foot and there are plenty of good bars and restaurants nearby.
Good access to and from the airport
The simple but complimentary breakfast was a great bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor it was quiet and had easy access.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GORDONPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear GORDONPM,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's wonderful to hear that you were thoroughly impressed with all aspects of your stay, from the stellar service of our front desk staff to our ideal location in the heart of the charming Midtown Village. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very clean, great location and service beat by none! I stayed here for a week long convention in late July. Within 5-7 min walk of convention center and 10-15 to the heart of the historical district. Staff were always willing to help anyway they could and seemed to make you feel as you were the only patron in the hotel. I was "concerned" about staying in the "gayborhood" but those concerns soon faded, not a big deal! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Postalblue2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Postalblue2010,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

As you found out, our location is absolutely perfect for anyone who is both attending a conference at the convention and center and interested in exploring the rich history of Old City. I am pleased our staff made you feel comfortable and delivered the personalized service that distinguishes us from other hotels. We hope you will return to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent 2 nights this week and were delighted with the convenience and value for money in a downtown city location. Our room 502 was well furnished and comfortable. though a little dark. The bathroom was large and had a full window facing East.
The area is full of great coffee shops and retsurants. We had super lunch at Little Nonna's next door and dinner at kanellas
I am planning to return in 2 weeks( new destination because my grand twins have just moved to gayberhood, Philly.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sudha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear East_Village_Apts,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's great that you not only enjoyed the location and comfort of our hotel, but that you also had the opportunity to dine at some of our favorite neighborhood restaurants like Little Nonna's and Kanella. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you again in a week!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family of four traveled to Philly to experience its Brotherly Love, and decided to stay at The Independent because of its affordable price. Already I'm feeling the love. At check-in, we were greeted with warm service, hot coffee and a chic decor. After spending the day cavorting the city, (which, by the way, use its Phlash bus system if you get the chance) we returned to find a few pleasant surprises: L'Occitane toiletries (an absolute favorite!) and a breakfast request card for hand-delivered delectables the following morning. Free, of course. Now I'm really feeling the love!
Our double queen room was spacious, decorated nicely, and boasted a Keurig, soft bed linens and a perfect variation of pillows.

The Independent's location is also perfect. In the heart of Philly's "Gayborhood," it's surrounded by exquisite shops, bakeries, restaurants and pubs. Book this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Ann B,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted that you found our hotel to be a 'favorite' for you in all aspects! We recently upgraded our toiletries to L'Occitane and have found that guests enjoy these products very much. I am also glad that you had the chance to ride the Philly Phlash, which takes guests to all the must-see tourist sights Philadelphia has to offer. You will be happy to know that we now sell Phlash day passes at our front desk, so the next time you visit be sure to pick one up for an even more convenient sight-seeing vacation!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews