We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice - the only place we'll consider next time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We stayed at the Independent for two nights with our 6 month old - couldn't be happier with it. Great location, great staff, great rooms - we didn't notice the street noise like some other reviews stated. A basic continental breakfast is delivered to your door at the time of your choice. It was nice to be greeted by name upon arrival and each time we passed the desk. Staff was super helpful with every request, from directions to restaurant suggestions, a pack n' play for DD, booking the taxi back to the airport - each little detail was CHEERFULLY taken care of. Our room was really nice, decor was fresh and slightly eclectic, super comfortable and roomy. The only negative I noted was the bathroom lighting -could have been a little brighter. DH pointed out that there are neither security chains nor peepholes in the guest rooms. I didn't feel unsafe at all, especially since the staff seemed to know exactly who belonged in the building and what room they were, in, but I can see some people having an issue with this little detail.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txgirlinbda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

The beds were clean and comfortable, the decor in our room was attractive, we did not hear bar noise as we were on a high floor, the satellite TV channel choice was excellent with many HD channels, no satellite signal in stormy wet weather of course but that is not their fault. We could walk to most of the main sights from the hotel. The rooms were reasonably priced.
However, we found our room was very gloomy and inadequately lit - very hard to get any natural daylight either due to dark wood venetian blinds. So it was difficult to see to do make-up. The lighting in the internal bathroom was only around the mirror, so also poor, and there was no light at all near the shower. There seemed to be only one member of staff on duty at any one time so reception was temporarily closed when he/she was attending to other business. We were not offered cheese and wine - apparently they have discontinued this at weekend for some unknown reason. There was good hanging space and I think 2 small drawers but no decent-sized chest of drawers or shelving for all our stuff. So we had to live out of suitcases.
On the street immediately outside the main door to the hotel is a plaque commemorating a police officer who was shot dead at that spot. This frightened the children and had I known about this I would not have booked this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndependentHotel, Hotel Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2009

Thank you for your review of The Independent and your feedback about your stay, we're glad you chose The Independent for your stay while in Philadelphia. We are currently working with an interior designer to enhance the guest room lighting so we do apologize that it wasn't adequate during your stay, this is certainly on our top list of priorities as we have received this feedback from other guests during their stay.
As many perspective guests review The Independent Hotel here on Tripadvisor.com they will see past guests postings of pictures. Each guest room is equipped with large dressers or/both a bureau, of which contain 5 to 6 drawers for our guests storage. Also each guest room has a small night stand next to each bed with 2 -3 drawers for comfortable storage of their belongings. We strive to ensure that our guests feel like The Independent is their "home" away from home apointing each room as their own bedroom. As we are situated in an ever growing area of Center City Philadelphia, you will find as many posted we are in a great central area to all main hot spots of Philadelphia.
There is a plaque giving honor to one of our “Philadelphia's Finest” Fallen Hero’s, sadly shot in the line of duty. This had occurred back in December of 1981. I assure you this is a VERY safe area of Center City Philadelphia and very sorry that this was found to be upsetting to your family. It truly is a memorial to this fallen officer that occurred 18 years ago.
Again, thank you for staying with us here at The Independent Hotel; we hope to have you as our guest again for your next visit to Philadelphia where we try to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed here for two nights in a king room. I was a bit nervous when our room was on the second floor as I had read the reviews on here complaining about the noise. However, although we were here on Friday and Saturday night, we were not bothered by the noise from the bar downstairs. The continental breakfast delivered to the room was excellent. We used the parking lot across the street and had no problems. We were in a king room. Both the room and the bathroom were very large. The shower was a delight, two shower heads and some really nice shower gels, shampoos etc. The sheets and towels were also a cut above the average in quality. The bed was very comfortable and the room and the hotel overall were very clean. The staff were very helpful. Our one complaint is that, although the lamps were very stylish, we found the room a little dark. Perhaps some of the other rooms have larger windows?

We walked to all the attractions from here. It is an easy walk to Reading Market and to the historic part of town. There are lots of nice restaurants and bars in the area and the theater district is very close. We will definitely be staying here for all future stays in Philly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhughe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Having missed a flight and coming in late at night was certainly not too fun. I had hoped to enjoy the location more as I was scheduled to be there half a day earlier. Unlike many of the guests I was not greeted with wine and cheese, I did have to ask for water in fact. In any event as I was leaving by noon it was no big issue. The rooms are comfortable, nicely done, clean BUT NOT "brand spanking new" which is kind of more along the lines of what I expected as per reviews. It was a very superb boutique hotel and the rooms are more in line with a boutique than some of the raves on here. For the seasoned traveller the difference between a great hote and great boutique hotel all has to do with how they are decorated. A great 5 star looks contemporary or contemporary for the region (European/Asian/American) and everything looks brand new or close to it. For a great boutique you have a theme and the rooms reflect the theme, this is one such case. You do not feel so much like you are in a brand new place, but more a PA B&B with high end finishings. Breakfast is included and delivered to the room, what a touch!They got it right all in all!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Booked the queen loft suite for a bachlorette party. Found a wonderful deal online and for the price, one of the best hotels in Philadelphia. Great location and helpful staff. Breakfast was included, we selected it the night before (by 10 pm) and they brought it all up as scheduled in a cute basket. Do not hesitate- book here!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereaminow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndependentHotel, Hotel Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2009

Always great to hear from our hotel guests - Thank You for your positing and positive feedback! The Loft Suite definitely is one of our highlights here at The Independent Hotel. We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed the room and stay while here in Philadelphia - Congratulations to the Bride-to-be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My daughter and I came to Philadelphia to visit Temple University as a possible college. The hotel was beautifully and uniquely done. The staff really tried to give the absolute best of customer service. We enjoyed the breakfast in our room. HOWEVER, if you are driving and need parking WATCH OUT. We parked across the street at the recommended parking area that the hotel has an arrangement with. I received a call at 10am from the desk.....OUR CAR HAD BEEN BRIKEN INTO. We wer driving a 2009 Honda Accord. Nothing was in sight besides gum and an E-Zpass. Stolen - gum, E_Zpass, GPS from glove compartment, art portfolio from trunk. They were young, came into the passenger side, popped the hood, disabled the battery so the alarm wouldn't sound- then popped the trunk. THey also disabled the parking lot security cameras!!!!! BAD experience. Hotel yes, with car NO.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmptraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndependentHotel, Hotel Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2009

Thank you so much for your great feedback and review of The Independent Hotel, we truly appreciate hearing from our guests. Remembering back on that unfortunate morning, we were personally notified by the parking lot attendant that this guest’s passenger door window was left open over night and not broken - so of course we immediately called the guest in her room to advise of this finding. While Philadelphia is a major metropolitan city we definitely advise each guest of the safe areas, which we are located, while visiting our City of Brotherly Love. This certainly hasn't occurred during any other guests stay while parking in our suggested parking lot, but truly did our best to assist our guest in this upsetting time.
Thank you again for your positive notes about The Independent Hotel, we hope to see you again on your next visit to Philadelphia. Hopefully Temple University will be your daughter’s choice of college.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

First of all the service was wonderful. We were greeted with wine and cheese upon arrival. The room was huge, very modern, and super clean. Staff were very friendly, and gave us lots of info on where to go, eat , called taxis for you. You pick what you want for breakfast (continental) from a list and they bring it right to your door in the morning at the time that you choose. Room was also a great deal for the area. Would definately stay there again, and most likely will!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,374 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#22 of 88 in Philadelphia
576 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £107 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing