We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, cozy, beautiful ... & different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy, beautiful ... & different!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel is fantastic. The interior is in great style, the staff is really friendly and helpful and provides you with any information you need. You have free internet access in the business center. The room was clean and well-furnished. The location is great, you can easily walk to most of Philly's sights! There's a special hotel rate for the public parking area near "The Independent". We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    287
    68
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
364
70
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Couldn't fault the staff; friendly and very helpful on all counts. Rooms have a 'Loft' feel to them with probably THE most comfortable bed i've ever had in Hotel. Free USA calls (which came in handy as my mum was staying in Las Vegas - nice to keep in touch), and Tea/Coffee on tap. Ideally situated for some very good bars and bisto's. I would certainly go back, and intend too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1963robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Lovely hotel ... room was a townhouse suite which had all we could have asked for ... however, it states "european continental breakfast". Its Euorpean only if you consider cold cereal "European". Served in your room ... arrived prompt but not served as stated in the hotel main area. Our biggest disappointment was coming back from shopping the first day at 4 and finding the room not made up or cleaned. Called the desk to be told "they would have someone up". No one came and when we went to dinner went to the desk again and was told "I will personally change the towels" and we had to ask to have trash emptied. Beds not made, room not cleaned .. but had clean towels. The room was never cleaned prior to 4 or 5 pm on a daily basis ... that is upsetting if you want to shower, etc., prior to going out to dinner. They really missed the boat there. Between the awful cold cereal and lousy coffee (which you had to make in your room) ... I'd only give them, at besst, 2 stars. Beware.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchess522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Thank you for choosing the The Independent on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Philadelphia.

I had a chance to review your post that you completed. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered. I apologize that housekeeping didn't make it to your room at an earlier time during your stay. The Independent truly is a home away from home as many guests have reviewed and posted, we do our best to reach all rooms in a timely manner. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it. Thank you also for your input regarding our breakfast style - after opening the hotel we did start with a "European Style" which after listening to our guests we went to a more personalized service delivered to their room. We are looking into any advertising that may reflect this older style as it can be misleading, so I do apologize for that.

Thank you again for your feedback. We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We spent two nights there. The room was very big, beautiful and with all amenities of a 5 stars hotel (bathrobes are provided) but some details needs to be improved like housekeeping (dust under the bed and on the floor, carpet not properly vacuumed). Breakfast in room service only (complimentary) but there was no table to lay on.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro_and_Lory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

This hotel is fabulous for the $$. The room was spacious and clean, the bathroom great, the service attentive, and the location was perfect; the business center was convenient and complimentary. Breakfast included and delivered to our room was something we have never experienced in the US. The only drawback was the nightclub located on the street level - the bass beat continued until after 2 a.m. and actually impacted our bed. If you plan to stay here, ask for a room on the 5th floor, as that is the top of the hotel; maybe the impact will be less. Otherwise, bring high-level ear plugs, maybe that would help. We'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meiertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I happen to stumble upon this place from one of the app on my iPhone. The place is phenomenal with a 2nd floor lobby and check in. The staff is very friendly and informative about the city. The room I had was on the 5th floor that wrapped around the building allowing views from both sides. The area of bustling with
Restaurants and shops. The interesting thing is that I was given the same price as the ad on my iPhone. Then there was parking in a lot down the block This was great. I would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonwabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I had the chance to stay at the Independent .. and what a wonderful hotel...
the staff was friendly and helpful... the room was sharp.. modern and extremely clean..
and we just loved our morning breakfast.. location was perfect to walk to everything the city had to offer... as well as the up and coming new cafes of midtown village..
I would completely recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing