We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great modern icon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great modern icon”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

have wanted to stay here for years, finally got the chance. The PSFS tower has been an icon on the Philadelphia skyline since the 30s when it was the first modern skyscraper built in the US. Loews did a phenomenal job restoring it and converting it to a first class hotel. The interiors of the main public spaces and elevator lobbies are beyond compare, stunning international style (think deco without the gaudiness). Service from valet to check in to housekeeping was perfect. Every single employee I encountered over three nights was friendly and welcoming.
Room was large with all the standard amenities. The custom desk was one of the most comfortable I've ever used in a hotel.
If you have any interest in modern architecture or cool adaptive repositioning of old buildings this is a must see place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are very proud to be the first modern sky scraper in the U.S. and take many measures to preserve the history of the building. We are delighted our team members helped make this building come alive via their friendly and welcoming service. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,920
    1,394
    427
    186
    130
See reviews for
1,092
1,186
230
1,951
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A conference in the Loews Philadelphia Hotel was the reason for my visit. This place is awesome and alot more upscale than the properties I usually stay in. Everyone I came in contact with was very kind and professional. My entire stay was a treat from arrival to checkout. Great view of the "City of Brotherly Love" from our room. Convieniently located within walking distance of area attractions. Check into this location if you want to be pampered!

Room Tip: higher rooms have a great view of the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 538SherryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We have a staff who enjoys making sure your stay is memorable and extra special. Our historic 33 floor building does offer great views for guest to enjoy. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

What an awesome property, from the amenities to the location, it was truly top notch. I was able to speak with two employees during my stay, I believe they were Adeline and Tashna. I was blown back by their professionalism and ability to accommodate my special requests. BUT, location is what really separates this location! Make sure to get a high floor for the view and DO NOT LEAVE until you go to Reading Terminal, Time, and Finn McCools. I didn't leave the two block radius all weekend. I would go back for sure!

Room Tip: don't leave without visiting reading terminal! make sure to say hello to Adeline or Tashna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We have a staff second to none who prides themselves on professionalism and service; ensuring your stay is “supremely comfortable” is important to us. Our partners in our “back yard” is definitely a plus for us. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is in Center City and has a great location. It is across the street from a mall and subway station. It is very close to the attractions - Liberty Bell, where the tour buses start, Visitor's Information areas. Beautiful, large rooms. Modern, clean, sleek décor. Nicely decorated. I felt the accommodations were more luxe here than at a 5 star hotel where I'd stayed a few days before. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. Great price, great room, great location. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: High floor. City view beats water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyannaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are elated that you enjoyed our newly renovated sleeping rooms and the hotel’s location. We do have a great “back yard” that highlights everything Philadelphia has to offer. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassflat, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have stayed at the Loews multiple times now and have never had a bad experience. The hotel is really nice. The location is also perfect in Center City. There is a Hard Rock Cafe directly across the road from the hotel. The Reading Terminal Market is a easy walk from the hotel. We stay at this hotel every time we go to Philadelphia and plan on staying here anytime we go to Philadelphia in the future!

Room Tip: Corner King Room. The view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your post and for being a loyal guest of Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Guest loyalty is paramount to Loews Hotels and we would love to enroll you into our frequent guest program YouFirst. Our program offers unique benefits to our repeat guests and we want you to be able to take advantage of them as soon as possible. Enrollment is very easy and you can do so online or by calling our Front Desk at (404) 745-5000. We cannot wait to welcome you back!


Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

...but UGH, the elevators! I really don't love fast elevators. We stayed on the 23rd floor -- the room was gorgeous and sparkling clean and very modern, and the view was incredible, but getting there was nervewracking (I'd be halfway down the hall before I'd lose that sick feeling each time I stepped off the elevator). We didn't have many dealings with the front desk other than check-in, but the valet service was exceptionally friendly. Overall a great stay; very convenient to the Convention Center, Reading Terminal Market (don't leave without a gyro from Olympia!), and other city sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are delighted that you found our valet staff to be exceptional and friendly and our hotel to be in a convenient location. I will be sure to share your comments concerning the elevator speed with our Director of Engineering. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back with us soon.

Sean Clany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I attended a cocktail wedding reception on July 20th. We were on the 33rd floor of the hotel and the views were nothing short of awesome. The "spread" that was put out by the hotel staff was wonderful as well - mini-crab cakes made to order, mussels, clams....and this was just one side of the room. On the opposite side were options for the non-seafood lovers....breads, meats and cheeses (probably other options as well but I stayed on the seafood side!) The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient and I found the bartender to be friendly. The mini-dessert cups were a delight as well. For a wedding, I think that I might prefer a cocktail type affair rather than a sit down dinner. We were able to mix and mingle with friends in a very comfortable atmosphere and we certainly didn't leave hungry! Great job Loews! You have our recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASF48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We love reading reviews such as yours and will be sure to pass your compliments along to our staff especially our chefs. Our Chefs chooses nothing but the freshest and best ingredients when preparing meals; and they just love adding their own special touches. Thank you for your recommendation and for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,273 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing