We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and modern but comfortable. The view of the city is superb. Our rate was fantastic for a Holiday winter getaway. Not impressed with the option of paying $13/night for wifi or the fact that guest services wasn't accommodating as we arrived earlier than expected due to bad weather. Breakfast prices are on the expensive side also so be prepared or look for package deals to include when booking. Great hotel nonetheless and I highly recommend. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank iamdrucilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Our rooms are very spacious, warm and inviting. Beginning in the first quarter of 2014, we will begin offering complimentary in room Wi-Fi in addition to the lobby Wi-Fi. Thanks again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,034 - 4,040 of 5,393 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a birthday celebration. The location is perfect for exploring all of center city and is just a short walk/cab away from Old City. The lobby is obviously under renovation right now but they did the best they could to make it work. (It was to the left towards the valet parking). The front desk/concierge/doormen personnel were all very friendly and professional. Check-in was quick and easy. The room and bathroom were very clean. Overall, a great stay and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsfg5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. What a compliment about us doing our best to make the lobby work during enhancements. We are really located in a great place for tourism, restaurants, and shopping. Thanks again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel has a special story (1st skyscraper in the US, built 1932). Part of the hotel is currently going renovation: the bar and the restaurant are currently located at the 33rd floor: what a great view from there! the rooms are comfortable and nicely featured; the service is excellent. Weak points: the buffet breakfast is not the best you could expect from such a high class hotel (limited choice, pastries are not particularly good…). Another regret: when you pay so much for your room you would expect the wifi to be free; unfortunately it is very (too) expensive: $13 a day!

Room Tip: Away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascalfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. What are centrally proud of our history and heritage of being the first modern skyscraper in America. Beginning in early 2014, we will begin offering complimentary Wi-Fi in our sleeping rooms. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for one night for a large conference. We hadn't been there in about 10 years and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms had obviously been redone and were very modern and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location in center city and is very close to many hot spots and restaurants. The parking was easy and quick.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad you liked our newly renovated guest rooms. Our location is also very convenient for meetings, restaurants, and tourism. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in the Loews Philadelphie Hotel and were very pleased we chose it. The location is fab - just across the road is the Hard Rock Cafe which is worth a visit. The food was excellent and very friendly as you would expect. We needed to change a room after my son and his partner left and our daughters arrived and the staff were very helpful and nothing was a bother to them. They are very friendly and helpful. The rooms we had were large and very clean. The bathrobes are just fabulous and the toiletries are much better than the average supplied by hotels. We did not have any food in the hotel but nearby are so many pubs and restaurants, just too many to try them all. We recommended this hotel to friends who stayed for 2 nights and they were delighted with it too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayr2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are glad our team members were able to assist you with all of your needs. We certainly enjoy having the Hard Rock as our partners just across the street. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Loews for the Philadelphia marathon weekend. The hotel location can't be beat. I made more than one trip across the street to the Reading Terminal Market for lunch and snacks (4th Street cookies!) and it was less than ten blocks to the heart of Old City or Rittenhouse Square.
Our hotel room (deluxe/double) was much larger than I had expected. Lots of room to stretch out and unpack. The shelf attached to the full length mirror was a nice touch.
The hotel is undergoing some remodeling so there isn't a first floor lobby. There is plenty of room to stretch out on the 33rd floor lounge which isn't quite the same but offers great views.
Scoring 4 stars instead of 5, only because the valet scratched our car as we were departing (it happens, but Yikes!), and I had so much difficulty getting information about the menu available at the hotel restaurant (solution: just head upstairs to the 33rd floor).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Izzy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are happy you had ample room to stretch out and get comfortable before the marathon, congratulations for running it. My apologies about valet, please call us if we can assist with anything else. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here at a discounted rate for a conference, but if I had a choice I probably wouldn't stay here. The location is great and our view was breathtaking (we were on the 27th floor), but it's just not my cup of tea. First of all, it was around $12-$14 a day for internet, there wasn't free breakfast and the pool area wasn't 24/7. Also $40 a day for parking is too much. The rooms were nice and clean. It was a nice hotel, but I'd rather stay at a Holiday Inn or something to get the free wifi and breakfast. The staff was friendly though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pxm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room. We use an “al a carte” pricing system so guests only get charged for amenities they used; however, in early 2014, we will be offering complimentary in room Wi-Fi. Thank you again for your review and we hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,326 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £127 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing